We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Dollar Dining”
Review of The Prime Rib

The Prime Rib
Ranked #24 of 125 Restaurants in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Service, style, innovative cuisine and a finely curated wine list turn dining into a Live! experience at The Prime Rib®. The Baltimore region’s Zagat-rated #1 steakhouse has a classic look, but the energy and lights that spill out from the casino floor just steps away set the stage for a dining experience unlike any other Prime Rib location.
Reviewed 9 November 2017

The Prime Rib is located inside the Maryland Live casino. In the front of the restaurant is a lounge with live music being played on a piano. As we were shown to our table in the dining room, we passed a glass case with different types of cigars for you to enjoy later outside the casino. We were informed that all items were A la carte. (The meats and sides were separate). We both order the pork chop after our waiter informed us on different choices. My sister ordered the au gratin potatoes as her side. I ordered the lobster mac and cheese for my side. The pork chops were triple thick tomahawk style cut with a smokey sweet glaze on them. The lobster mac and cheese was absolutely delicious. There were chunks of lobster meat in this dish. The au gratin potatoes needed more cheese and flavor. We both had a glass of Moscato and a slice of cheesecake for dessert. All for $150 for two people. Yes I forgot to say that this place is very high end dining. A nice place to go for special occasions.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Slots44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarylandLive, General Manager at The Prime Rib, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you for the great review! We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2017

Great ambiance, very romantic. One of the best steaks around. A bit expensive, but with in treating your best partner, she will be impressed.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank pg03850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarylandLive, General Manager at The Prime Rib, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

We love hearing when guests enjoy our food and service! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Do not get the prime rib full cut. Ordered medium rare 25% was fat not the good marbled type. it was so rare you couldn't slice it. The waiter saw me trying to cut and asked if i would like another piece. He and i agreed it was fatty and not cooked properly. The next prime rib he brought out was over cooked and no pink or juice at all. Fat content better.
Wife smaller size was ok.
Will never go back for the Prime Rib will go back downtown to Baltimore. When you pay $100 for dinner and a drink they should be more selective on what they send to the customer and now they prepare.
Bar looked like a fun place appetizers were good.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank James Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarylandLive, Manager at The Prime Rib, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hello James,
Thank you for taking the time to send us your thoughts regarding your recent visit to The Prime Rib. While we are glad that the server was able to recognize your food was not up to our usual standards, it should have never left the kitchen unless it was properly prepared. We will review your comments with the team to ensure this is not an issue going forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

I review the Prime Rib occasionally. It is an experience worth having. Top of the line food , service and decor. It is a bit expensive, but if you love someone or want to celebrate a special occasion, it's worth every penny.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarylandLive, Manager at The Prime Rib, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you David! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

I have given this place a try on three occasions mainly because it's close to the Casino ,mall, or other attractions. Each time I've been it seems to slip further from what you would expect for the money. It is not on par with other Prime Rib locations and the management and servers are indifferent. It is clear there is a lack of oversight and the food and service suffer as a result.
I recommend that you look elsewhere for dinner becaus you will be dispiinted here

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stephanb692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarylandLive, Manager at The Prime Rib, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Stephan,

I am sorry to hear you have been dissatisfied with your recent visits to The Prime Rib. I would love to talk more with you so please feel free to contact me directly. I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Andreas Kranias
andreas.kranias@marylandlivecasino.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Prime Rib also viewed

 

Been to The Prime Rib? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing