We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful home, beautiful location, wonderful...”
other travellers have booked this property
Captain Guptill House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Captain Guptill House
At the edge of the yard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
Captain Guptill House
At the edge of the yard
MBR king size bed
Twin beds
Full bed
Town dock and parking to the right of the property
View from the Grey Rd
A view from the Anvil Trail
Biking the park loop road
The first bike path as soon as you enter the park
Lobster doesn't get any cheaper or fresher
It is not as easy to run with a cod fish as you might think (-:
Frazer Creek bike path
Rent a kayak
Information
Location in red
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Winter Harbor, Maine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
roth259
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful home, beautiful location, wonderful owners”
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed at the Captain Guptill House for a family vacation. There were 6 of us, the youngest being 16. The owners, Pete and Sylvia, live in another house on the property and were very engaging and helpful. We really enjoyed talking with them. Sylvia welcomed us with a fresh wild Maine blueberry pie which was absolutely delicious! The location was perfect. The home overlooks the harbor and the lobster boats come and go. It was a great place to watch the amazing tides come in and out as well. We were an hour from Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park, and 10 minutes from Schoodic Point. There are several local restaurants in Winter Harbor which gave us plenty of opportunity to eat lobster in every form imaginable. The town of Winter Harbor is quaint...just what you would expect from the east coast. The house itself was perfect! The kitchen is well stocked, the beds are comfortable and the house is beautiful. Pete provided 6 bikes for us and 2 kayaks to use at our leisure. We would highly recommend and we would love to visit again some day!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tas50
ohio
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful "”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I stayed in other vacation rentals but this one by far is the best , very well stocked up you need nothing the view was so beautiful lobster boats going in and out we bought lobster from one of the boats and it was the best can't get no fresher then that. The owners live next door and they are the nicest Peaple , we got their and she had made a blueberry pie and it was so good, it was so quiet and peaceful there. We just loved it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The distance to anywhere
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linspear
Millville, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Vacation Home!”
Reviewed 3 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We arrived by a very welcoming greeting from Pete, the owner bearing a scrumptious blueberry pie baked by his wife, Sylvia. Sylvia and Pete were beyond kind and helpful with an abundance of knowledge of Winter Harbor, where to dine, where to visit, where to get the best lobsters, etc.

The home was immaculate and spacious and we immediately felt like we were in the comforts of our own home the second we stepped in the door. .

We were out and about every single day, visiting Bar Harbor a couple of times, Acadia National Park and Forest, drove up Cadillac Mountain to the top of the summit where we saw the most incredible views, dined out, visited my Father-in-Laws Cottage in Eddington. We saw several Porpoises, a seal and eagles along with other beautiful critters.

We loved the Harbor views and seeing the boats coming and going along the say.

In the evening we sat back with a beverage, played games, chatted, watched a couple of movies and finally had lobster the day before we left to head back home to Massachusetts.

There's not enough good things to say about this beautiful vacation home, the location, the people and the owners!. We strongly suggest anyone to rent this home for the perfect get away.

Thank you Wes, Sylvia and Pete. We truly enjoyed every minute of our stay and dreaded heading back to "reality" and plan to be back again, soon, if you would have us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful views of the ocean.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing