We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Something for everyone!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Southwest Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Something for everyone!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

What a great place! Multiple buildings with numerous room styles to fit everyone's price needs/abilities. We stayed in one of their efficiencies that had ample room for a family to enjoy for a lengthy time-frame without tripping over one another. The one common denominator no matter where you stay on property; location, location, location! Steps away from the beach (literally). Thanks to a fabulous indoor pool this was still a great fall destination too. The staff are super helpful and friendly. And what a nice surprise the water pressure and consistent temperature in the shower were to enjoy (it's the little things when you are away from home). I totally plan on returning to Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort.

Room Tip: they do offer rooms both with and without views so if a view is important to you...specify so
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islandfoodie04679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    107
    24
    8
    10
See reviews for
135
122
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

We traveled with four generations so we had multiple needs. The Lafaette Oceanfront Resort provided easy access to the rooms, (just two steps), a fabulous view of the beach and ocean, and one of the rooms had a large area for gathering that was big enough to let the baby toddle around. I especially enjoyed the double shower heads in the shower.

Room Tip: Some rooms have Tempur-Pedic mattresses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mainesilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed at this "resort" because we were in Maine for a party. Here are the pros and cons of the evening:
Pros:
-The location can not be beat. Right on the water.
- The staff is wonderful. Helpful, polite, accommodating. Every single person we encountered was a delight.
- The cost was reasonable for off season ocean front.

Cons:
- The room was in the oldest section of the resort, so keep in mind that other (newer) sections may be better. But the room was small, cramped, old, and had the feel of a Salvation Army Store. Clean, but old. Really really old.
- The bathroom was roughly the size of an Airstream bathroom. If you're there alone, it's not a big deal, but if you are sharing the room with someone, it may take a bit of coordination for the two of you to get ready at the same time.
- The fella that stayed in the room above us walked around quite a bit which we heard all night long. When I say we, I mean my husband. I slept through it, but he heard every footfall. On the plus side, that meant he was awake at 6am so we went out to see the sun rise.

All in all, I thought the resort (I really have a hard time thinking of this place as a resort) was fine for what we needed. I think that a weekend in the summer here would drive me nuts. Too small, too old, too noisy. But one night in the off season - it's fine.

My husband is still peeved with me for picking this place. He hated it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ski_n_Tee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

My mom and I came here for a weekend getaway for some bonding and I couldn't believe how beautiful this place is. We stayed in the beach front lodge the room was so nice and VERY clean the beds are amazing and what a view!!! The staff is very friendly and helpful this will be my new Maine getaway hotel

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristen1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Oxford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

This was the last stop on a long trip across Canada and into Maine and down the east coast to home. I wish we could have stayed another night here! There is so much to see and do! The hotel was clean and the view was amazing!!! The sunrise was breath taking!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edw165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
2.0 km away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#4 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
1.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
6.8 km away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#13 of 37 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 km away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.8 km away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#6 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
19.6 km away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort

Property: Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort
Address: 393 Mile Rd, PO Box 639, Wells, ME 04090-4140
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wells
#4 Family Hotel in Wells
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort is directly on Wells Beach, one of the largest sandy beaches in Maine. We have a complex of nine different buildings, five of which sit right on the beach. Many of our rooms have private balconies with panoramic views of the ocean. We are open year round so you do not need to miss any season. Although summer is certainly the most popular season in Maine, the beauty of this coastal area is enchanting throughout the year. Wells Beach is fun for families. Walk from your room onto the sand to swim, build sand castles, stroll in the surf looking for shells and rocks or just relax and enjoy the feel of the sun on your face while you enjoy the view. The indoor pool and the hot tub with a waterfall are very relaxing after a hot day in the sun. The playground and the arcade will entertain the children after the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lafayette`s Oceanfront Hotel Wells
Lafayettes Oceanfront Hotel
Lafayettes Oceanfront Wells
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing