We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
30
6
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
6
2
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at La Vatout for four nights and could not have been happier! The hosts are delightful people, so interesting to talk to, and their B&B is warm and welcoming with a gorgeous garden in the back- a respite for weary travelers. The only thing that surpasses the wealth of knowledge about the area, and beyond, is the food. I have never had better food in a B&B EVER, breakfasts were fresh, using local ingredients prepared in a gourmet fashion. No pop tarts here! For example we have had eggs with local shrimp, buckwheat pancakes with blueberries and walnuts, eggs with fresh chanterelle mushrooms. Gourmet indeed. We asked for suggestions about activities, and we got such good advice we felt as if we were family getting the inside scoop! Our hosts really made our time here special and we did so many things that we would not have known about- an intangible benefit of staying at La Vatout. I highly recommend this B&B for the company, the food, the gardens, and the ambiance! La Vatout can be interpreted as "all in"- and we are all in about coming back! Do yourself a favor and stay here- we'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Warren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed 5 nights and had a wonderful time. The hospitality of the hosts was amazing. They took the time to explain the differrent activities in the area and help us plans our daily events. The breakfasts are amazing, with a different one served each day. From wild picked mushrooms, garden fresh herbs to home made sausages, everything was delicious. They are very green conscious and didn't change our sheets or towels, which would have been nice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed at Le Vatout a few nights ago and had a great experience. Close to Rockland, this B&B was very reasonably priced while still being close to lots of sights and restaurants.

When we arrived, we were provided with several dinner recommendations (and they were spot on!). That night, the room was clean, comfortable, and cozy. The only thing that would've been nicer was a quieter fan/AC. There was a fan in the room that made the room plenty cool, but it was pretty loud.

Otherwise, the fan was our only complaint. The hosts were both gracious ladies (and their dog is absolutely adorable). The breakfast consisted or orange juice, coffee/tea, a German sausage and potato crumble with garden fresh herbs, and a duck egg. It was like eating at a gourmet restaurant.

We would certainly stay here again if we were in the area. Staying at this B&B is like staying with friends in a charming home.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 34AnneK34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I have a house on the coast in Maine (in Waldoboro) and we had closed it up for the winter, meaning no heat etc, but a friend and I were coming up from the Boston area to do some garden work and some light Spring cleaning and we needed a place to stay. We stayed at Le Vatout and it was wonderful! Dominika and Linda were like old friends almost immediately and we were on the same wavelength about homeopatic medicine and a few other things, but all that aside, we had a fabulous stay. Our room was on the second floor with twin beds and we stayed up a bit late and had an old fashioned pajama party. We are in our late 50's and are both married, but we really had a blast. We stayed two nights, got a lot of work done, then walked to town and ate at the Narrows Tavern which was basic, but interesting and really good food, with friendly locals. Then after sharing a bottle of wine there, we toddled back to the B and B and had a wonderful sleep in our old fashioned, very comfortable beds after chatting to each other from our beds. "Good night ,John Boy" and such. What a fun time and a nice felling of going back in time. Just lovely. Great people, fabulous breakfast, comfy rooms and beds...what more do you want!

Room Tip: They will let you pick if they have open rooms. All are comfy and nice...you can't miss.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesco I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Great B&B !!!! Dominika and Linda are so welcoming and helpful. Truly wonderful hosts.
We stayed one night in the Robin Room. The bed is very comfortable. The room is quiet. I wish we could have stayed longer. It was so cozy and charming AND filled with an amazing collection of books. I would love to come back again and spend a couple of days just to explore the books !
The breakfast was definitely the very best breakfast i have EVER had at a Bed & Breakfast.
WOW ! I can't say enough about how great our experience was.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherie z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews