We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wholistic.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Vatout Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 6 Waldoboro B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 August 2013

A family gathering.....a wonderful weekend at Le Vatout that embraced us all! The food, delicious, local fare with fresh herbs from the garden...The rooms, clean and comfortable with a bevy books to read and fresh air breezes from open windows. The garden, paths through flowers and birds and herbs....quiet and peaceful. A river nearby where we sat on stones and lay in the water cooling down bodies and thoughts. We slept well, ate well and had wonderful visits with Dominque and Linda at the lovely welcoming table adorn with fresh flowers from the garden. So many interesting pieces of art and decor all about this wonderful homestead adds a layer of visual enhancement and intrigue. We will certainly be back and we highly recommend this special space and place of genuine and nurturing hospitality!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

When we arrived for our one night stay, we found that Dominika had upgraded us from the chickadee room to the nuthatch because no one was in the nuthatch and it was a little larger. This also meant that we were the only ones using the shared bathroom which we liked. This bathroom was quite large, clean and had a nice sized shower. The low ceiling by the sink made the mirror a little ackward, but other then that no problems. Dominika provided us with a large bowl in which we put some beer on ice and we went off to explore the town. We ate at the Narrows Tavern and found the food good and the atmosphere friendly, then enjoyed learning about Waldoboro's ship building history.

Breakfast the next morning was very good. After eating Linda took us across the street and showed us the tail of a large tuna their neighbor had caught, wow--wish we could have seen the whole fish.

The garden was wild, the house rustic and the visit interesting.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank muskrat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

At the end of June/2013 I went to Waldoboro for my 30th high school reunion. I went to school there as an exchange student and I hadn’t been in Waldoboro since then. Reading TRIPADVISOR reviews I selected Le Vatout as the place to stay. I made no mistake. The comments about the special care both Dominika and Linda took of their guests were short in their description. They both provided me a wonderful stay and made my 4 days trip as nice and smooth as they could.
Delicious and original breakfasts, very nice coffee, delightful conversation, useful tips regarding where to visit, restaurants to go in the region, etc.
Le Vatout is located right next to Waldoboro downtown, although it is a very quiet place in a strategic sector. It is located a few blocks from a supermarket and from Deb’s dinner (nice lobster rolls).
The infrastructure is the best you could expect from a B&B. Clean room, nice and comfortable bed, clean and nice bathroom. The rest of the house is as it is shown in the pictures. Nice. Cozy and beautiful kitchen/dinner table. Beautiful gardens. In a sunny day, worth to spend time relaxing and contemplating its landscape. I am already planning another visit to Waldoboro to visit friends and Le Vatout is the place where I will stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed at Le Vatout for 6 nights on our trip to Maine two weeks ago on a quest for fresh lobster. We found the stay to be very comfortable and the innkeepers to be very interesting and the breakfasts were excellent. Our room was on the first floor which is important to the two of us and Dominique had many suggestions for places to eat and places to go to.
There is a garden behind the house which is a fascinating place to spend some time just relaxing. During the preparation of breakfast Dominique would go to the garden to cut herbs to enhance what ever she was preparing.
We shall return someday and recommend it to any who like good food, and good conversations at breakfast.

Room Tip: We really liked the first floor as we are not very mobile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank allen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

If you want a lot of R's - relax, retreat, restore, recharge, rejuvenate, renew - Le Vatout is the place for you. The beautiful gardens are constantly showing off their glory, not in a manicured way, but in a natural-looking style that keeps Linda busy all year round. In and out of the gardens are many little nooks where you can just disappear to enjoy the quiet. The breakfasts that Dominica prepares with fresh eggs, herbs, homemade jam or blueberries are absolutely delicious. Conversation is friendly, open and not imposing - just like the owners. I am looking forward to my next stay in 2013. It truly is a little bit of paradise. Betty Reed

Room Tip: The rooms are remind me of vacations spent at my cousins' summer house - simple, clean, comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Le Vatout Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vatout Bed and Breakfast

Address: 218 Kalers Corner St, Waldoboro, ME 04572-6003
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Waldoboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Waldoboro
Price Range: €96 - €115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Vatout Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy, low-key and completely relaxed, Le Vatout is just different enough to delight. A traditional New England farmhouse on the craggy shoreline of midcoast Maine, it has spectacular gardens and is filled with art and books by its owners, a writer and an artist. Life congregates in the kitchen where meals have substance, flavors have a twist, and old-fashioned conversation reigns. What matters here is not appearance, what matters here is soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Le Vatout Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing