We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Craignair Inn at Clark Island
Ranked #1 of 2 Spruce Head B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

My husband really appreciated the good WiFi. The Inn was a cute place with a lot of charm. Mimi the Inn dog was adorable. The views are beautiful! There’s not much around the inn, but it was a short drive to some dining options.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

So glad you enjoyed your time here! This time of year our restaurant, along with most restaurants on our peninsula, is closed for the season. We're glad you mentioned that there are options--typically a restaurant in Port Clyde stays open and there are plenty of options in Rockland, just 15 minutes away. The off-season is a great time to find quiet relaxation and great walks on the beach! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2017

We spent one night at the Craignair over Columbus weekend (2017). We were a party of three, staying in two rooms on the 2nd floor, with en suite bathrooms.

We were greeted by one of the owners (Joanne) and her welcome was at best tepid. She was rather dismissive as she showed us around the inn and then to our rooms. Most importantly, she did not tell us that breakfast was only served between 8:00 a.m. and 9:00 a.m., nor was that information posted anywhere we could see. That sort of breakfast schedule does not meet the needs of guests - but perhaps it meets their needs. Regardless, we missed breakfast by 20 minutes and only received a half-hearted apology with no offer to provide toast, coffee, or even cold cereal.

We dined at the Craignair and dinner was mediocre. I had the scallops, which were slightly overcooked and resembled bay scallops, rather than sea scallops. My husband started with clam chowder, which he described as "bland." Our server was excellent; she was professional, friendly and attentive. Thankfully, the cocktails were spot-on.

Though our rooms were comfortable, there was no mini-fridge and no information regarding the inn, such as breakfast time etc.. Additionally, in the room of one of our party, the sheets were unclean, specifically there was eye make-up (i.e. mascara) on the top sheet.

I travel regularly (domestically and internationally) for my work and I have a wide experience over the past 30 years of hotels, inns and B&Bs. As such, perhaps my expectations were simply too high for the Craignair to meet. So, if you are looking for a professionally run, welcoming and guest-centered experience, I advise you look elsewhere than the Craignair. I simply cannot recommend it, nor will I obviously return.

Room Tip: Though I can't recommend this inn, if you do opt to stay here, choose a room with an en suite ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DPBMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for sharing your opinion. It's impossible to address the concerns of a disappointed guest when we have no indication that they are unhappy when they are in our presence.
We are very glad you enjoyed the cocktails and that you mention our server, Cassie. She is a true gem and it's a privilege to have her on our staff.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels and all the beauty Mid-Coast Maine has to offer. Kindest regards to all three of you. ~ Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

We wanted to spend the second half of our vacation further up (or down) the Mid-Coast region. I researched places to stay in the area and the Craignair Inn looked like a winner. Off the beaten path, on the water, great reviews. We were not disappointed. All B&B's have different amenities. The Craignair Inn is very comfortable. It wasn't crowded, but busy for October. We wanted a private bath. Our room was cozy and the bed was very comfortable. I slept like a rock each night. Joanne & Michael are really nice, fun hosts. Joanne really makes you feel comfortable and Michael does a great job in the kitchen providing nice, big, healthy breakfasts (even if he is a Bruins fan). MiMi is a great host as well. She just goes around visiting all the guests at breakfast. We spent two of our days traveling around the area (Camden, Rockland, Boothbay, Bath) and spend our last full day just chilling at the inn. The big living room area is great to just hang out and read. I took a nice hike onto Clark Island. Just about a 7-8 minute ride back to Rt.1 and Rockland. We were able to have dinner our last evening at the inn and it was really good as well. Parking is abundant. Everyone is friendly. It was easy to feel comfortable at the Craignair. We hope to visit this wonderful place again in our travels and I would recommend it to anyone who appreciates a good B&B experience.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Corum4547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thank you very much! Craignair is right in the middle of the mid-coast..great for exploring all the places you mention. We're so glad you enjoyed your time here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Like other reviews say, this is a historic building, with shared bathrooms, but only a few rooms share each one, so they're not crazy busy. Also being an historic building, soundproofing is less than ideal, but i get the feeling everyone understands the compromises in keeping it characterful and is respectful of the lack of "noise privacy". The location is gorgeous. The owners and staff are so friendly and pleasant. I didn't eat in the restaurant as I wanted to explore the area some more, but it is possible to buy drinks from the restaurant and take them out onto the deck, overlooking the sea and Clark Island - and doing that was a perfect wind down after driving around most of the afternoon. It is a charming and somewhat romantic place (but keep your romance quiet because of the neighbors in the adjacent rooms). It is certainly just great to switch off, enjoy the scenery, and relax on the deck or in the lounge, and take a walk around the bays and onto the island.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank offbeatopenhats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

So glad you enjoyed your time here and we look forward to seeing you again! Thank you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

We love to stay at the Craignair on our way to Monhegan. We’ve found the charming and relaxed inn a welcoming respite after a long day of travel. The hosts, Joanne and Michael, are always welcoming and friendly. In addition to the charming, comfortable room; the breakfast, included in the room rate, is always hearty and delicious. Because we were traveling on Monday we did not have dinner at the inn but if you are able to schedule a visit when they are serving dinner I would highly recommend it. The food is high quality, sourced locally and expertly prepared. Don’t miss that opportunity!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you very much! So glad you enjoy yourself here, and find the location easily accessible to the Monhegan Ferry--just 25 minutes down to the end of the peninsula! We look forward to your future stays, Joanne and Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spruce Head
13.5 km away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
135 reviews
18 km away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#3 of 10 in Rockport
1,392 reviews
16.1 km away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craignair Inn at Clark Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craignair Inn at Clark Island

Address: 5 3rd St, Spruce Head, ME 04859-4241
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Spruce Head
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Spruce Head
Price Range: €82 - €89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Craignair Inn at Clark Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craignair Inn and Restaurant is walking distance from beautiful Clark Island via the causeway. We're at the end of a peninsula with relaxing rooms, unmatched food and gorgeous views. Craignair is just minutes to Rockland, 40 minutes to Camden and about an hour to Portland. Come enjoy the peace and serenity of Craignair Inn at Clark Island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Craignair Inn at Clark Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craignair Inn At Clark Island Hotel Spruce Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing