We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful people make the difference.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Craignair Inn at Clark Island
Ranked #1 of 2 Spruce Head B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Joanne and Mike are such caring hosts, I cannot imagine you not being happy here.
We chose Craignair, because we wanted something that would give us that real Maine, feel, and it did.
Although the building is getting close to 100, the rooms are all extremely clean and the plumbing is up to date and works perfectly.
Also, even though the place was full up, our room was quiet and sleeping was easy.
To our surprise, the restaurant was superb, first night we were not all that hungry, thought we'd just get a light meal of fresh mussels, and a salad. With fresh homemade crusty bread and a sauce that is as good as any in San Frrancisco, the food was so good we ate all our evening meals right there.
Tha location of the Inn is as relaxing as a place can be, great views of land and sea, sail boats and sea birds.
I'll end this with my original thought, wonderful people make all the difference, even their young son scurrying about with the confidence of an adult in making sure you have everything you want.
Mike cooks great breakfast dishes, far beyond the average B&B quality.
Joanne arranges special requests like trips to Monhegan Island for you, and makes sure everything is done to make you comfortable and ready for the pleasures of the day.
We loved it, and loved them.
Carl and Laurie Wiglesworth

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CTWFreedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 114 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

AWESOME FOOD, SERVICE, AND THE ROOMS WERE ADORABLE!!! The staff was gracious and polite, and the food was amazing...pretty sure they make the pasta noodles in house. I def didnt expect that type of cuisine from a B & B in Spruce Head, Me.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that has its own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jermaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We got free plane tickets to Maine and I more or less threw a dart and found Craignair. I do not think that I could have done better. What a wonderful stay and Joanne and Mike were so attentive. I got up early and walked the island and now have some of the greatest memories of my life. Thanks

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_Spence58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Craignair Inn is a lovely place built in 1930 and located right at the water's edge. It is a comfortable and charming place to stay in a serene and quiet environment. Yet in less than an hour, you are a short drive to Campden which was recently named one of the most beautiful villages in Maine. There you will find shops, great restaurants and lots to do. There are other nice spots and a state park nearby to visit as well. Then at night, you return to the solitude of the Inn and have gourmet dinners such as crab stuffed haddock or steak filet with shrimp in a lemon buerre blanc. On one morning, the breakfast (included with the stay), featured one of the best omelets we have ever had. (I think it was Julie Child who said the test of a true chef is the making of an omelet!). We throughly enjoyed our stay and the gracious hospitality of Michael and Joanne.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue3388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We made this reservation through the internet and relied on the website and B&B searches. We were very disappointed. There were only 4-6 guests and they put us on the third floor with no elevator. I am 73 w/arthritic knees and the stairs were steep. At no time was a lower floor offered.
We had planned on enjoying a glass of OUR wine in OUR glasses and were told by the innkeeper that we could only drink OUR wine in our room due to the type of license the Inn holds. I find that highly suspect as they sell wine there. The walk to an adjacent island was nice but, with the tide out, your view is a mud flat.
The restaurant at the Inn was very nice and the food was excellent. The seafood chowder and the haddock chowder were mouthwatering and the crab cakes and crab stuffed haddock very tasty. The included breakfast was very adequate-fresh blueberry pancakes and scrambled eggs. The food experience was great, the inn experience less so.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19mikath39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spruce Head
13.5 km away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
135 reviews
18 km away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#2 of 10 in Rockport
1,393 reviews
16.1 km away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craignair Inn at Clark Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craignair Inn at Clark Island

Address: 5 3rd St, Spruce Head, ME 04859-4241
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Spruce Head
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Spruce Head
Price Range: €83 - €89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Craignair Inn at Clark Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craignair Inn and Restaurant is walking distance from beautiful Clark Island via the causeway. We're at the end of a peninsula with relaxing rooms, unmatched food and gorgeous views. Craignair is just minutes to Rockland, 40 minutes to Camden and about an hour to Portland. Come enjoy the peace and serenity of Craignair Inn at Clark Island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Craignair Inn at Clark Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craignair Inn At Clark Island Hotel Spruce Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing