We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,099)
Filter reviews
1,099 results
Traveller rating
231
412
273
112
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
412
273
112
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast roomindoor pooltwo sinkswafflesconvenient locationfree breakfastroom was clean and comfortablewould stay here againpark and flyold porthojoportlandrachelcereallighthouserateschannels
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 1,099 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2017

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CDoris M, sales manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by Wyndham South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 September 2017

I was in Room 133. It has a big bed, desk, chair, armchair, armoire, TV, small microwave, fridge, and lots of power sockets near the bed. The bathroom has both a bath and shower, and there are basins inside and outside the bathroom. A hairdryer is supplied. The front desk is very helpful. It's out of the center of town, so if you don't have your own car, you will need to rely on Uber or the like to get around.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank ElizabethJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CDoris M, sales manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by Wyndham South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you, ElizabethJK!

The Howard Johnson in South Portland really has it all!

Did you have time to take a dip in our indoor and heated pool?

Come again!
Chiara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Great location, rooms are vast and clean. Rates were pretty high, but everything was pretty much booked in the area so obviously it comes to demand vs supply. The breakfast room was small and packed. Your typical average hotel, with a pretty high price tag.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hugues B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CDoris M, sales manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by Wyndham South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear Hugues B,

Thank you for your honest review.

Summer is high season in Maine and thankfully, all hotels sell out whether in town or in South Portland, like us. We try our best to stay competitive within our market and I hope you understand that.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Chiara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CDoris M, sales manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by Wyndham South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Plenty of parking, breakfast was standard, the pool and the fitness room were smaller than what I had expected, but those weren't the reasons why I chose this hotel. About 5-10 minutes from Portland. Even ate at the restaurant on the first floor of the hotel - Chicago dogs! Not too bad at all.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank raymondt712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CDoris M, sales manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by Wyndham South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Hello raymondt712,

Thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson in South Portland!!

I so appreciate you taking the time and I couldn't agree more - we are very close to downtown Portland yet without the downtown prices!

Do come again!

Chiara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews