We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Airport(South Portland)(Great Value!)
US$163
US$142
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$174
US$156
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Portland Airport(South Portland)(Great Value!)
US$162
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge Maine Mall(South Portland)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Merry Manor Inn(South Portland)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$169
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Portland Airport(South Portland)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Motel(South Portland)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,066)
Filter reviews
1,066 results
Traveller rating
224
394
271
107
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
224
394
271
107
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanindoor pooltwo sinkscontinental breakfastwafflesconvenient locationwould stay here againone night stayold porthojoportlandrachelcereallighthouseshuttlerateschannels
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 1,066 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2017

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CDoris M, sales manager at Howard Johnson Hotel by Wyndham South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 August 2017

We spent a night at HoJo on our way to Mount Desert Island. It was a convenient location with a clean, comfortable room including a fridge/microwave. The wifi signal was weak and the breakfast room was quite a walk to access & very crowded with typical breakfast selection. Parking was easy and accessible. Bathroom had sink & mirror outside from the tub/toilet with one in the toilet section, as well, which was nice.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Upstatefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CDoris M, sales at Howard Johnson Hotel by Wyndham South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Upstatefamily,

Thank you for taking the time to review us!

Our location is ideal for visiting the Old Port or hop on 295 for the outlets in Freeport which are only 20 minutes!

Our hotel is quite large and yes, we have long hallways. Next time, please request a room near the breakfast area and we will be happy to do that!

Regards,
Chiara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CDoris M, sales at Howard Johnson Hotel by Wyndham South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 August 2017

your breakfast room was too small not enough room. the evening desk clerk was so nice and helpful. we did loose internet for 2 days. but otherwise it was a very nice hotel. great location.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank M1323OOrichardn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

We were looking for a place to stay in Portland on the Wyndham website. I saw the picture of the HoJo hotel and was surprised. I always thought HoJos were places where you entered your room from the outside instead of going inside through a lobby, etc. When I checked the other photos I was satisfied with what I saw and made the reservation.

When we got there we were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. The room was very comfortable and clean. I even talked to the desk clerk how pleased we were as I always thought that HoJos was a lower class hotel. It was also located on US #1 and close to the interstate.

They had a very nice breakfast that included ham and sausage in addition to the usual waffles, cereal, bagels, fruit and juices. The eggs were powdered or something and tasted OK

The only somewhat negative thing was the wifi. At times it worked well and others, not so good. The also had a nice indoor pool and a small workout room.

There is a restaurant connected to this place called Chicago Dogs. We didn't eat there however. gs when I am by the ocean I want seafood plus we had already eaten dinner before we went there. We did meet the owner and he was a great guy. They had trivia night at the time but it was almost over so we got a beer, a coke and a snack for a little over $6 and watched the end of the trivia night. I helped some ladies with the bonus question, it gave them the victory as they wagered all their points on my answer. Incidentally, I had the only correct answer. the question was: when Alan Shepherd was on the moon, what golf club did he take there to hit a ball? You'll have to scroll down for the answer. Also, the had karaoke the next night. Great attendance at both events.













it was a modified 6 iron

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Bernard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews