We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We stayed at Howard Johnsons 8-6 after our flight was suddenly cancelled. The $200 room featured wi-fi internet, clean rooms, hot breakfast on the website. Room was old, all furnishings were stained, an hour on the phone got no wi-fi service, and the breakfast was a cold egg paddy and artificial mixed juice. We used the luggage cart to get to the 2nd floor room and were stopped by stairs in the hall, had to drag bags. Never again.

Room Tip: Try something else, we switched to Hampton
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miltonflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CDoris M, sales manager at Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear miltonflorida,

We are very sorry we didn't meet your expectations.

Kindest regards,
Chiara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,001)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 73 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2017

We had two bus loads staying at this hotel. The staff was very efficient and friendly. Our rooms were all cleaned promptly and you can imagine the chaos if we were not given proper attention. The young man in the breakfast room was most helpful - and the lobby staff was always there to offer us bottles of water. I highly recommend your considering staying here.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Bea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CDoris M, sales manager at Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Bea P,

Thank you so much - we so appreciate you choosing the Howard Johnson Hotel in South Portland!

We love our bus tours and even more creating great memories for them!

We look forward to welcoming you back once again!

Chiara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank dotties180
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CDoris M, sales manager at Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 July 2017

I arrived at the hotel and was checked into room 101. I turned down the sheets and there was pink goo of some sort all over the sheets. I went to the desk and told the lady at the desk. She was very nice and moved me to room 107. This room was cleaner but dated. At approximately 11:00 PM, there was much commotion, doors slamming and people yelling. They were yelling "help me" The desk was not concerned. I did not feel safe there and left by midnight.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank doreenw360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CDoris M, sales manager at Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear doreenw360,

Thank you for your review.

After investigation, I can confirm that the yelling was from young guests playing around. They were told to keep quiet right after so I am very sorry you felt unsafe.

Thank you,
Chiara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Our stay at Howard Johnson's was pleasant. We were mainly there to be near our daughter as she was interning in the Portland area for the summer. The highlight of our stay at the hotel was the full hot breakfast, which was convenient and helped us save on eating out.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank dinod871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CDoris M, sales manager at Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you dinod871,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to review the Howard Johnson Hotel in South Portland!

I love our free hot breakfast, too. Especially the fresh Belgian waffles!!

Did you have time to take a dip in our indoor heated pool?

Thank you and look forward to welcoming you back!
Chiara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in South Portland
165 reviews
3.3 km away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 13 in South Portland
463 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
851 reviews
4.2 km away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#18 of 21 in Portland
610 reviews
7.1 km away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#14 of 21 in Portland
1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Address: 675 Main St, US Highway 1, South Portland, ME 04106-5422
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in South Portland
#7 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range: €55 - €458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson South Portland Hotel South Portland
South Portland Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing