We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am here again...unfortunately.”
Review of Brookside Inn

Brookside Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Smyrna Mills
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brookside Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Smyrna Mills
Reviewed 4 March 2015

Working in Oakfield this week, so I didn't have a choice where to stay. The company I work for books my hotels. I just wanted to take a nap after work. Last time I brought my sleeping bag, this time I didn't...wish I had. Pulled down the blankets on the first bed and there were hairs on the sheets and pillow cases, and almost as bad on the second bed. I laid one of my shirts over the pillow so I could sleep. I don't expect perfection, but seriously...are clean sheets too much to ask for???

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2014

My wife and I stayed here in mid-November, 2014 - I thought it would be an okay choice, considering they took $75 of my hard-earned money. Boy, was I mistaken.

For starters, we arrived at about 8:30pm on a Friday night. I parked in front of the "office" door, where there are two signs, one indicating to visit the on-site restaurant during business hours to check in, and one indicating to ring the doorbell for service. The restaurant was dark inside and out, so I decided to ring the doorbell. THREE TIMES I rang the doorbell, and there was absolutely no response. Seeing as the restaurant was closed, I decided to call the hotel's phone number from my cell phone (thank goodness I had a cell phone and there was decent cell service!), and what sounded like a grumpy man answered the phone. When I inquired on how to check in, I was told someone would be at the restaurant momentarily to get us our key. We went over to the restaurant and stood outside in the dark and cold for several minutes, waiting for some kind of sign that someone was there. Finally someone turned on the lights inside the restaurant and unlocked the door so that I could go in, pay for the hotel room, and get the key.

We get inside our room, and I would swear I've seen bigger Motel 6 rooms. There were two double beds, a combination desk/bureau, a mini-fridge and microwave, and the TV service was through Dish Network with lots of channel choices. Overall the room seemed fairly clean, but the shower head leaked profusely and had some sort of "gunk" on it. There was some of the tile missing from the bathroom floor. The bed was fair in terms of comfort.

Like some previous reviews, I would recommend spending a little more money and staying 10 miles away in Houlton. This hotel is sub-par at best and not worth your money, unfortunately.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank figment79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2014

Not the worst I've ever stayed in, but close. Had to work in next town over, so not really any other choices. At first glance room didn't seem horrible, but the longer we were there, the more we noticed. A blood stain on my co-worker's sheet....GROSS! The shower curtain was musty and the top of the shower was filthy. (I notice things like that...6'2") Some sort of stain on one of the bath towels. The first two nights there, no one made the bed or cleaned in the morning, only gave us new towels. After the third night, they made the beds in the morning and gave us towels, but did not clean. The water temp while taking a shower goes from hot to cold to scalding. The walls are paper thin, you can hear your neighbor snore. I brought my sleeping bag and was glad I did, this is the type of place that leaves the same bedspread on for infinity.

Room Tip: I recommend driving another 10 miles north to Houlton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ccdseiatco, Owner at Brookside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2015

I am sorry to hear of your displeasure. This party as well as many other guests at this time are charged cut rates with the understanding with the company that there would not be room service everyday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

family stayed for 3 nights not bad basic but right price didn't need 5 star had clean beds hot shower and clean towels no room was dingy but good for our needs mini fridge and micro wave a plus with baby overall will stay again if needed

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jeanneb66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The room had an odd smell, once the window was open for a while it wasn't too bad. There was food in the fridge, a full take out container, and a juice bottle beside the bed. Doesn't give me much confidence that it is clean. We had a bottle of wine but there was no corkscrew in the restaurant!! I won't stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank NBKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Brookside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Inn

Address: County Rd, Smyrna Mills, ME 04780
Region: United States > Maine > Smyrna Mills
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Smyrna Mills
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing