We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
58
38
16
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
38
16
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mom pop great pool slept like babies yogurt pet friendly room coffee pot excellent place to stay bit dated nova scotia front desk clerk off season hard boiled eggs fridge and microwave nice stay beds were comfortable maine furniture
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2008

My husband and I spent two nights at this motel in mid-September. It is well located on Route 201 north, out of the heavy auto and truck traffic through the small streets at the center of town. Although the road is busy (it's the main route to Jackman and Quebec), most of the rooms are set back from the road and we were not bothered by street noise. Our room was good-sized, clean and comfortable. The motel office doubles as a breakfast room. The free breakfast was standard but good and more than adequate. Staff was pleasant and helpful. There are a few family style restaurants near the motel on Route 201 but we chose the Heritage House, which is walking distance just two doors down from the motel, and were very pleased with the food and service. All in all, a very good alternative in a town where there are few choices.

Date of stay: August 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntiqueFarmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2008

We stayed at the Towne Motel for one night during "Fair Week." While the outside of the motel looked great, as soon as I opened the door to our room I felt like I'd stepped into the 1970's.

Dark paneling, old fashioned bedspreads, rusty brass lamps, and tired old furniture.

I had to actually get up and unplug the television to make it stop humming so we could sleep.

The room was sparkling clean, but there was an odor - almost like cat urine, but most likely from the old rug that had probably been wet many times.

We awoke in the morning to water pipes squealing (someone in the next room must have been showering) and people walking by our paper thin door to go to the continental breakfast.

The motel did have a nice pool that looked clean. The continental breakfast was perfectly fine with a nice selection and great coffee. The staff was friendly enough.

Overall, I would probably not stay at the Towne Motel again. I feel that $81.00 per night (even during Fair Week) is a bit much for the tiny, outdated room that we got.

Date of stay: August 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank mphmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborahdp, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2011

We are sorry this guest feels they did not receive a good value during his or her stay. In August, Skowhegan hosts on of the largest fairs in the region, a 10 day state fair. Guests coming without a reservation or guests asking for our least expensive rooms during that time may be referred to one our our 4 small and non standard rooms. These rooms are described to guests and priced accordingly, July and August being our high season. The Towne Motel is a 30 room motel with most rooms newly renovated or renovated within the last 8 years with high quality furnishings. It appears this guest was in a non-standard room for one reason or another. Two of those 4 rooms do have dark paneling but all rooms have the same amenities and the same cleanliness standards. The bottom line, reservations in July and August on weekends is highly recommended.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2008

We stay at the Towne Motel almost every year to visit family in the area. The accomodations have always been comfortable and spotless. The complimentary breakfast is more than enough . The motel is a favorate for my boys because of the large, well kept outdoor pool. I have never had a problem that the staff was not able or cheerfully willing to remedy. Rates are competitive and cost much less than staying in Waterville. Would recommend to anyone.

Date of stay: August 2007
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mom_3boysWalpole_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2007

Towne Motel in Skowhegan, Maine is a decent place with a good rate. My wife and I stayed there in late September 2007. The breakfast offered in the morning that comes with the room met our expectations. The problem was that our room was over the boiler room and it was like a suana. WIndows open, a/c blasting, and we were still on fire. I wish I could remember the room number, so sorry. However, it was the room next to the stairs in the corner down the long outdoor corridor of rooms where the building goes left (like a big "L"). Just make sure when you make reservations that it's not the room over the boiler and you'll be fine, as that was the only major negative.

2  Thank jdd1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews