We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveller rating
287
130
56
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
287
130
56
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main lodge popham beach the pilot house meal plan candlepin bowling golf course lobster bake dirty dancing salt water pool rehearsal dinner end of the season pro shop the early bird planned activities some tlc new england family vacation
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 507 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

We had occasion to visit Sebasco Harbor for a wedding and it was a very positive experience. We were fortunate to have picked staying in the lighthouse - the quaint building has awesome views and was the perfect location for us to settle in and enjoy our visit. Be sure to visit the third floor to take in the panoramic view!

We enjoyed the golf course even though it is only nine holes, it is still a trying course and it is kept in wonderful condition.

Most enjoyable stay - we will be back!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank 867ChristineM867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LighthouseKeeperBob, Owner at Sebasco Harbor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Hi Christine,

We're so happy you enjoyed your Lighthouse stay. It was a wonderful wedding crowd and I think everyone was pleased with the great weekend that all enjoyed. I was so pleased that so many of the group were golfers and enjoyed the hard work of Max and his crew. It may only be nine holes but it is one of the most beautiful and well maintained nine hole tracks in Maine. Hurry back!

With Appreciation,

Bob Smith
Lighthouse Keeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

Overall we had a good time at the Sebasco Harbor Resort. The food at the business conference (breakfast, lunch & dinners) was very good. We had a nice lobster and steamed clams & mussels in the Clipper building and that had a nice outdoor fire pit also.

It was a little cool for a swim in the saltwater pool but we did hang out there and enjoyed the sunshine, no crowds and next to the ocean atmosphere.

The nine-hole golf course was okay, nothing special but in good shape.

We stayed in the Harbor West on the second floor with comfortable accommodations including the king bed, microwave, small refrigerator & freezer and sink. Plenty of dishes, glasses and utensils for the two of us.

We had planned on going for the ride on "The Ruth", a small tour boat but the weather that morning was cold and rainy...so next time!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WilsonP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LighthouseKeeperBob, Owner at Sebasco Harbor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

I'm glad you had a productive conference and I appreciate the kind words about your experience. We're proud of the golf course but we had just plugged and top dressed the greens before your group arrived so they were a little bumpy. Sorry about that.

I'm glad you're coming back and I'm sure you'll find the Ruth experience very special. It is the longest continuously operating tour boat on the coast of Maine. This mornings group enjoyed a great whale sighting during their trip.

We look forward to your next visit.

Bob Smith
Lighthouse keeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

For the fourth year in a row I attended a retreat here and for yet another time it was wonderful. We take over almost, if not all, of the retreat and the facilities work well for our event. As others have pointed out, this is a family oriented property in rural Maine. It is not boutique or high end. You will not find a variety of evening entertainment. You will find a lovely spot that offers plenty of good food, pleasant surroundings and friendly people.

The facilities are a little dated and as it was almost the end of their season, a few things needed some work, but they did not detract from the experience. The scenery is awesome, everyone is friendly and the room was great.
A few cautions to the newcomers: the resort is at the end of a peninsula with narrow and winding roads. Other than a small convenience store you need to go back to Bath (about 20 miles away) to shop. Be sure you pay attention to the accommodations that you choose as they vary across the buildings. Not everything is handicap accessible and few offer air conditioning. The resort will work to insure you book the right rooms. Internet and cell coverage are limited.

Room Tip: Accommodations vary dramatically across the many buildings. Handicap accessibility is limited and few rooms have air conditioning.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eeepee98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LighthouseKeeperBob, Owner at Sebasco Harbor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Thank you for coming again to the Make Wear Love retreat here at Sebasco. It's a wonderful group.

We certainly appreciate your loyalty and the kind words you expressed. We don't pretend to be a high end, boutique hotel but we're very proud of the unique and authentic Maine coast experience we offer. We certainly take pride in the great food we offer and the friendly staff the serves it. Thank you for recognizing that and I hope to see you again next year.

Bob Smith
Lighthouse Keeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

I first want to set the stage for my review. The common clientele at this resort are families staying for weeklong stays or longer. From this perspective, I'm almost certain I would have given 5 stars. My husband and I were on a short vacation away from our kids and were driving along the Maine seashore. We had spent the day at Popham Beach (amazing) and were tired and looking for a place to stay nearby. We went to the Sebasco Harbor Resort, where we had called ahead and found they had rooms for about $250 per night. This seemed expensive for the area, but we tend to believe "you get what you pay for", so went with it.

The check-in process was honestly the only part that was a negative experience, but it really set a negative tone for the entire stay. We were sat at a desk, the feeling was not unlike applying for a mortgage. We were given many room options, at different prices, never clear exactly what was extra and what was not. The gentleman came across with an arrogant tone and we felt talked down to. He condescendingly mentioned the non-smoking policy twice (We are not smokers, so it wasn't like we smelled of it or anything).

We were taken to see the accommodations in the main hotel property, and the rooms were not even close to the decor and cleanliness standards of hotels we had been staying in for the same price in Boston, Portsmouth and Portland. However, the property was beautiful, and this was what we were paying for.

We did enjoy the unbelievably beautiful setting, and the restaurant was great. Our waitress and the bar staff were amazing and so appreciated!

I know we weren't the kind of guest that would follow a lengthy sales and checkout process, but we were clear about that up front. My recommendation is to take a cue from hotels in this situation -- fast, easy, uncomplicated check-in that makes guests feel welcome. We couldn't quite shake the icky feeling from check-in.

Room Tip: Best for week-long stays with families or special events.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bailey715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LighthouseKeeperBob, Owner at Sebasco Harbor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Thank you so much for the review. I'm sorry the check in process here was not positive. We've got a wide variety of accommodations and sometimes we might be try to hard to make sure we're giving our customers the best fit. And we are usually very proud of the housekeeping crew but it looks like we weren't at our best when you arrived. We'll work on both.

I'm glad you found so many other things here that you enjoyed. Popham Beach is spectacular. Our setting is beautiful and I'm so happy your dining experience at the Pilot House was first rate. If you have any other feedback or suggestions I would certainly welcome them. I hope you can come back with your children and enjoy everything Sebasco has to offer.

Bob Smith
Lighthouse Keeper
bsmith@Sebasco.com
207-371-5101

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

This was our third vacation at Sebasco, this time in mid August to take advantage of good weather. We stayed in Fairwinds #5 and our adult children took over Harborview. Everyone had a good time. The facilities are excellent without being too fancy. The food in their two restaurants was very good and the wait staff was excellent. The service was excellent throughout except for housekeeping where young women from Eastern Europe (we were told) failed to clean up rooms and kitchenettes on several occasions until we complained. We are signed up to return next year.

Room Tip: Fair Winds suite #5 could not have been better
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LighthouseKeeperBob, Owner at Sebasco Harbor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Hi Sandy,

We certainly appreciate your continued loyalty and thanks for sharing your housekeeping issues with us while you were here. We are not flawless and always want to fix something that is not right and it certainly helps us when guests are willing to communicate problems when they are still here. Thank you for that.

I'm glad you enjoyed the beautiful view from the Fairwinds Spa Suite and we look forward to seeing you and your family again next year.

Bob Smith
Lighthouse Keeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews