We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great winter getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ledges By the Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ledges By the Bay
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Scarborough, Maine
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great winter getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

My girlfriend and I were looking for a quiet place to get away for a couple of nights. The mid-coast region of Maine is spectacular, and The Ledges offered a great king-size room with a beautiful ocean view at a very reasonable price. The room was warm and comfy, and offered a computer (with free Internet), as well as a DVD player with several movies, a Keurig coffee maker, and an electric fireplace. The property was very quiet and the staff friendly. There are several places to eat in Rockport, and both Rockland and Camden are just minutes away, each offering many outstanding places to dine. Oh, and for you guys - if you're looking for a great place to propose, the Vesper Hill Children's Chapel works wonders - she said yes!!

Room Tip: The website has photos of each room type.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    355
    55
    11
    6
See reviews for
242
674
76
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockport, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Rooms and beds are excellent: clean & comfortable. Friendly, helpful staff. Gorgeous view from the ocean side rooms.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEtraveller199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Great motel very pleasant visit. I work in the area and have to stay locally. This is the best place no matter what the price. My wife and I have stayed in this motel at least 6 times and will again.

Room Tip: Have stayed in almost all of the upstair rooms and they are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PenBayBangor_Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

I have been enjoying a 2nd Christmas celebration at the Ledges- with my sons- for several years. Each time, I am impressed by the courtesy of the staff and the wonderful accommodations. It is clear that The Ledges philosophy is to remain on the cutting edge with regard to amenities and accommodations- but still remain a real Maine bargain in terms of price.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Glen Cove ( Penobscot Bay) are by far the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinth
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

My husband and I have stayed at The Ledges twice. Very nice, quiet, and reasonably priced. Wonderful sunrise view!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.3 km away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
0.2 km away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#4 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
4.0 km away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
8.1 km away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
4.6 km away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ledges By the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ledges By the Bay

Property: Ledges By the Bay
Address: 930 Commercial St, Rockport, ME 04856-3800
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rockport
#2 Business Hotel in Rockport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rockport
#3 Family Hotel in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ledges By the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 miles south of Camden and set a top a small ledge overlooking Penobscot Bay, the Ledges is a classic Maine motel with panoramic ocean views. The property is nestled at the foot of a cove on 9 oceanfront acres with 900 feet of shoreline. Our hillside location overlooking the bay offers guests the perfect vantage point to spot tall-masted schooners, sleek yachts cruising the bay, and lobster boats hauling traps right off our shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Ledges By the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ledges By The Bay Hotel Rockport
Ledges By The Bay Rockport
Ledges By The Bay Maine/Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing