We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,565)
Filter reviews
1,565 results
Traveller rating
1,060
330
110
39
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,060
330
110
39
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course la bella health club the general manager pebble beach time share the wait staff kids club hot tub tennis courts indoor and outdoor pools gift shop fitness center rockland breakwater lighthouse light house lobster this past weekend
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 1,565 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Upon calling the hotel directly for room reservations, I was transferred to Marilyn for assistance. During the course of our conversation, I mentioned that it had been several years since having visited the resort with my husband and that we were especially looking forward to our return to celebrate our 42nd wedding anniversary. Upon our arrival and our registering, we were warmly greeted by Samantha who not only wished us a happy anniversary but also informed us of our complimentary upgrade to a suite! After having unpacked we were just getting ready to enjoy sitting on our spacious balcony with its breathtaking views of the golf course and ocean when there was a knock on our door. It was a room service attendant with yet another surprise...a bottle of champagne and a beautiful tray of hand dipped chocolate covered strawberries! Our "dream experience" is one we'll always treasure and what a remarkable story to share with others.Over the past ten years my husband and I have had several mini vacations at the Samoset. Being their guests has consistently been a real treat for us in respect to its gorgeous location, comfort and cleanliness of the rooms, outstanding cuisine but most especially the genuine warmth, friendliness and personal attention from the hotel staff. Mr. Russell, the general manager of almost two decades truly helps to set the overall tone for the hotel's unique ambiance. In conclusion i want to acknowledge the individuals who seemed to go that extra step for us: Marilyn, room reservations associate, Samantha, front desk assistant, Michael, bellhop, Hannah and Kelley, waitresses and Bill, LaBella Vita supervisor. Thank you Samoset and staff for everything. We're already dreaming about our next return!

Stayed: May 2018
Thank jjtay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear jjtay2,

Thank you for choosing the Samoset for your 42nd Anniversary celebration and sharing your “dream experience” with us! It’s always a pleasure to recognize our guests celebrating special occasions. We’re so pleased you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade to an ocean view suite as well as champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. It was especially nice of you to take the time to
complement our resort in person. We look forward to welcoming you back for your 11th year with us!

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

We stayed at the Samoset in May before the summer season began. Weather wasn't perfect but it's a roll of the dice if not summer if you're looking for warmer, outdoor activity weather. The location on the ocean with the jetty walk to the Break Point Lighthouse is beautiful. It's a nice walk - 1 mile each way! Grounds are very nice. Pool and other outdoor areas were not open yet. We used the spa; very nice, treatments and staff all wonderful; just not a lot of relaxing space like other resort spas. On-site restaurant very good. Had breakfast there all three days. My one complaint is that we paid for a 1-bedroom that can sleep up to 6. We had three of us and yet the room + breakfast deal only came with 2 breakfast vouchers. Found that very disappointing; if you're paying for a larger room that sleeps more and includes breakfast, include the breakfast for all registered guests. Had dinner at the on-site restaurant. Good food and service. Cute little gift shop. Rooms are clean but fairly dark due to the large, inset balconies. If return to the resort later in the evening, you'll need to park a small distance away. Used the gym; it was very impressive for the # of machines. It looked like they also offered classes to guests and local visitors. Short drive to Rockland and Camden.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DLCote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Dear DLCote,

Thank you for taking the time to post to TripAdvisor. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your May stay with us and had the opportunity to walk the 2 mile round trip down the jetty to the Breakwater Lighthouse (a guest favorite) as well as enjoy our Opal Spa, dining experience in La Bella Vita and fitness facility at The Club. In regards to your reservation, our Spring Fling Savings promotional package includes breakfast for two, however our Opal Breakfast package includes breakfast for each adult. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

We visited Samoset Resort some time ago and it was one of the best resorts my wife and I have vacationed. The restaurant was terrific and the rooms we stayed in were top notch! The staff was very attentive and helped us arrange a swimming session where we had a family member use the lift to get her into and out of the pool. The town is nicely located where we could visit Maine attractions within a reasonable drive. My only regret is not having played on their beautiful golf course because none of my golf buddies were along on this trip.

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean view.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 45tipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear 45tipster,

Thank you for your incredibly kind compliments. We are honored to be one of your favorite destinations! Our team is trained to accommodate all requests and I was pleased to read they succeeded in this instance. We look forward to welcoming you both back soon and to enjoy 18 holes this season!

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018

This time share exchange was one of the best we have ever done. The location is outstanding and the facilities are likewise. The golf was both scenic and a very good test on a fine course which anyone who plays the game should enjoy. The gym and other resort facilities are among the best we have ever experienced. We would highly recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
1  Thank dhfrost13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear dhfrost13,

Thank you for your review of one of our 72 RCI Gold Crown timeshare condominiums. I am most pleased you enjoyed our location and amenities including our 18-hole Championship golf-course and fitness facilities at The Club. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another weeklong getaway full of wonderful memories.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018 via mobile

We visited the resort just before the tourist season began, we did this through our time share. It was smaller than we had expected and initially thought we were not going to have enough space. However, after putting everything away it actually had the space of a small apartment. The bedroom was separate from the kitchen and dining/living room area. It also had a private balcony that looked over the bay (and golf course). The kitchen was fully stocked, included a microwave, dishwasher, refrigerator and a toaster oven. A picnic area with grills was close by the units. The main resort had a gift shop, a spa, and restaurants. We only went to a restaurant once for breakfast, Enoteca. Food and service were fair but I would recommend going outside of the resort (or making your own) for breakfast. The Breakwater trail can be accessed quickly from the resort, it’s an easy walk across large stones that lead to the lighthouse. All in all, we were very pleased with the resort, it was in a great location to go to several towns around it. Rockland was the closest and had a great art district and several good restaurants. We would recommend visiting the puffin project in downtown Rockland while you’re there. Camden was also very close and is full of restaurants, boutiques and bookstores. Many boating excursions leave from Camden Harbor.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cmyberns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie R, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Dear cmyberns,

Your review provided many wonderful details of our resort. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in one of our 72 RCI Gold-Crown condominiums all of which have ocean views. Downtown Camden and The Project Puffin Audubon Center in Rockland are great local area recommendations for travelers and locals alike. We look forward to hosting you for another lovely week in midcoast Maine.

With Warm Hospitality,

Cornelius J. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews