We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good art museum tucked in a fishing port”

Farnsworth Art Museum
Ranked #1 of 37 things to do in Rockland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Celebrating Maine's Role in American Art, the Farnsworth Art Museum offers a nationally recognized collection of works from many of America's greatest artists. With 20,000 square feet of gallery space and over 15,000 works in the collection, there is always something new on view at the Farnsworth. The museum has one of the largest collections of works by sculptor Louise Nevelson. Its Wyeth Center features works of Andrew, N.C. and Jamie Wyeth. The Farnsworth's library is also housed in its Rockland, ME, campus. Two historic buildings, the Farnsworth Homestead and the Olson House, and Julia's Gallery for Young Artists complete the museum complex.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A good art museum tucked in a fishing port”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Can fill up a whole day for your first visit, and has a lot of Maine related exhibits, of course. Also sculpture, which you might not expect. Helps you understand how the place influences the creative process - light, weather, geography, etc.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    135
    26
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hallowell, Maine
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Hard to believe that such a great collection is housed in Rockland. Bell Ringer.

Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level Contributor
465 reviews
153 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

A small museum with limited exposure. Part of the museum was closed for renovation which we knew going in. However there was another part which was open, not marked as such, and only discovered after leaving even though we had specifically asked. I believe if able to see all during the season it may have been more appreciated. Many stores and offerings are closed until late April-May.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank bstdflsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnsworthmuseum, Communications Officer at Farnsworth Art Museum, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Hi Bstdflsh,

I'm very sorry that your trip was not what you expected. As communications officer for the museum, it is my responsibility to ensure that proper signage is in place, and if there was a part of the museum that was open, but not marked as such, I am truly sorry.

Until May 12, only the main museum building is open, as the Wyeth Center and the Olson House are both closed for the winter and early spring. The Homestead, as you noted in your review, is ongoing renovations in 2012 and will reopen in May of 2013. I don't know what other part of the museum might have been open that was not marked as such, but please accept my apologies. You may contact me at the museum, and I will do my best to make sure your next trip to the Farnsworth is more enjoyable.

Sincerely,
David Troup
Communications Officer, Farnsworth Art Museum
207-596-6457 ext 128
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dedham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Great Museum with everything from the worthless to the priceless.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

The Farnsworth Museum features the work of famed artist Andrew Wyeth who spent many summers in the nearby vicinity and whose work is well known and well worth time spent in viewing. Other beautiful 19th century work is on display as well as work apparently given to the museum by wealthy donors. (Can't figure out how they would otherwise have made along side such truly wonderful displays. Oh well.) All in all the museum is definitely worth a few hours of your time.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A jewel of a museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

If you haven't visited the Farnsworth Art Musuem, treat yourself. The quality is amazing.

Helpful?
Thank frequenttraveler53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Farnsworth Art Museum also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Farnsworth Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing