We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large, nice facility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2017

I was here for a very large conference and stayed on site as well as attended the conference at the hotel. The room was nice, clean and accommodated all of my needs. The lobby is very large and bright with nice seating. The conference rooms are nice but some were a little odd shaped for the needs of the event I was attending. The food was lack-luster. Nothing special but they did put out lot's of snacks.

The location is great. Close to lot's of shops, restaurants and the water front. Nice exercise room and pool.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian m, Director of Food and Beverage at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Hi Sarah C,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Holiday Inn By The Bay. I see you were here attending a conference, which is great, we are a destination for many conferences through out the year. I have noted your feedback regarding the food and meeting space. I would love to hear any further feedback you may have directly. Please feel free to email or call me should you wish to provide further feedback. I can assure you that feedback assist us in maintaining a great experience for all guests.

Respectfully,
Ian Miller
imiller@innbythebay.com
Director of Food and Beverage.
207-775-2311 x2154

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed for just one night at this hotel in a king room with view over the bay. We arrived just in time to catch the beautiful sunset from the room. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and spacious and well equipped. We had a glorious sleep as the bed and pillows were the most comfortable ever and I wish I could have brought it home! The only downside was the breakfast experience as there was not enough staff. The food and selection was good but the waitress was asked for stirrers for our tea by us which were not delivered and the neighbouring couple asked for ketchup which again was forgotten and had to be fetched from the kitchen by them. Apart from that we had a pleasant stay and the hotel was in a good location.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian m, Director Of Food and Beverage at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Hello Rachflower,

We would like to thank you for your recent patronage and time to submit a review based on your recent stay. We are sorry to see that you experience in the restaurant was not as should have been. We have addressed these issues and thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope that you with give our hotel another visit the next time you are in the area.

Regards,

Ian Miller
imiller@innbythebay.com
Director of Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Hotel in a great location, walking distance to good restaurants, bars etc.
Rooms were a good size and clean. We had a bay view room.. Reception staff very helpful despite dealing with issues from the storm the night before

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank trade25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

I have a medical condition requiring me too take several hot soaking baths a day. I was shocked to note that while the bathroom was very sanitary in appearance, along the silicone caulking in the crevices of the tub, between it and it's wall, black mold was growing. I took photos and hope you can see what I mean. This is just one corner of my tub area. I counted five spots of flourishing mold. I am highly allergic to black mold of any kind. I wondered if perhaps the mold was already there and someone had resealed the silicone caulking over it, being a bit lazy and not removing the mold first. So I used a toothpick to scratch at it in all the places I saw it. It easily scraped away. Keeping in mind, these are black spots on a white background, in a tub which is supposed to be cleaned daily, these had to have been growing in that tub for weeks maybe even months!

I noted two other issues on my floor, in the vending/ice machine room. 1. The ice machine never had ice in the four days I was at the hotel. 2. Also, a single $2 bottle of soda would not roll out into the vending machine tray to be accessed. I went through this 3 times, all three times with correct change. One night, being desperate for a soda, I put in another $2. I had already put in the first $2 with no results. Probably not the smartest thing I've ever done but I was actually rewarded when the machine gave me both of the sodas I had paid for! I do not know if it was this one particular flavor of soda or if every flavor had this issue in that machine.

Every employee was fantastic except for the night time front desk person named Phyllis. I had talked to her twice by phone and at least four times in person. Only once out of those six times was she even a little courteous. She had no issues interrupting me if she felt she could finish my sentences. She would give the hotel information so quickly to each guest checking in we actually would look at each other in awe. She also would get very testy if we did not receive the information correctly the first time and she had to repeat anything. I learned quickly to be extra cautious around her and always be as nice as I could or I would possibly face her negative mood while I was trying to enjoy my first trip I had so looked forward to in Portland Maine.

I was in room 225 on the second floor if anyone managing the hotel would like to look into these issues.

Everything else? Location? The staff? The restaurant and bar area? And the venue I attended there? I honestly would have given this hotel a 5-star rating had it not been for the many spots of black mold, Phyllis, the ice machine and the vending machines. Granted, I could have contacted someone at the front desk at any time about any of these concerns. I knew this. But just my luck, the only available time I ever had was when Phyllis was at the front desk. And having already had her get angry at me for no reason, I was certainly not going to voice these problems with her.

Even after all of these issues, if I had the opportunity I would probably stay at this accommodation again. But next time I would make my complaints known. I definitely would not talk to Phyllis however.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Cattaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBAYPortland, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Greetings Cattaps,

I'm sorry to read that you did not experience the high level of hospitality that we expect for each stay. We pride ourselves on our ability to meet guests' needs as they arise, and it is regretful that we were not able to exhibit that for you.

We would love to hear from you directly at your convenience. Please call 207-775-2311 to speak with our Assistant General Manager about your stay. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

Checked in by very friendly staff at front desk, I was given a large room on high floor with a bay view. Comfortable bed, clean room, with refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. Good location near center of town, and just a short walk to most places of interest. One great service provided by the hotel is a shuttle pick up on request from anywhere on the peninsula. Very helpful, and saved me from what would have been a very wet walk back in pouring down rain storm!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidm59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
1 km away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.3 km away
The Westin Portland Harborview
1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,523 reviews
0.5 km away
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
4 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Address: 88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101-3924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#8 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: €81 - €246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit the historic, exciting and alluring waterfront City of Portland, why not stay in the midst of it? Award-winning hotel with elegant decor and spectacular views. Just steps away, the Old Port thrives with unique shops, diverse restaurants and a working waterfront. Turn the corner and Portland's new Arts District surrounds the Hotel with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. The L.L. Bean Factory Outlet Store and Civic Center are only a block away! Jetport is 10 minutes away; courtesy vans are available. Choose from Executive Rooms, Suites and Double/Double Rooms. For your meetings and conventions, let us show you our 14,510 sq. ft. of meeting space and our 12,500 sq. ft. exhibit hall. Our convention coordinators will handle all of your meeting details, including spouse tours and island lobster bakes! Let us show you the pleasure of business in Maine, BY THE BAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Hotel Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing