We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Francis(Portland)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,180)
Filter reviews
1,180 results
Traveller rating
390
503
193
61
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
390
503
193
61
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbay viewold portcivic centerwithin walking distancefree shuttleparking garageshuttle servicekeurig coffee makerart museumcasco bayfront desk staffrooms are cleanhotel restaurantindoor poolhotel shuttlefew blockscongress street
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 1,180 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Hotel in a great location, walking distance to good restaurants, bars etc.
Rooms were a good size and clean. We had a bay view room.. Reception staff very helpful despite dealing with issues from the storm the night before

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank trade25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

Checked in by very friendly staff at front desk, I was given a large room on high floor with a bay view. Comfortable bed, clean room, with refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. Good location near center of town, and just a short walk to most places of interest. One great service provided by the hotel is a shuttle pick up on request from anywhere on the peninsula. Very helpful, and saved me from what would have been a very wet walk back in pouring down rain storm!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidm59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

We had one night stay here and had booked a king room with bay view. Really disappointed with the dirty carpet which was as soon as we walked into the room. We did mention at the desk and were offered a new room but it wasn't much better. We found the hotel lacked atmosphere in bat and restaurant and breakfast was quite expensive. Parking was $10, it advertised sauna and pool but the sauna is in each changing room so one for men and one for women buy it wasn't even on. I wouldn't go back to this hotel I'm sure there is nicer but it did have a good location to main shops and restaurants.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GEW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear GEW5,

I would like to thank you for taking your precious time to write a review regarding your stay with us. Our goal is to deliver exceptional service and comfortable accommodation to all of our guests and we appreciate your feedback. However, we apologize the quality of the room received and the condition of the facility fell far below of your expectations. Thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention as this is our best resource to know how our hotels are being managed to a high standard and to evaluate what can be given additional attention. I have this information documented and it will be forwarded to the hotel management for review and will be a basis for future upgrade.

Once again, thank you for staying with us. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to pamper you with exceptional service and accommodation on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Grace P.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

Upon check in we were greeted with a very kind and friendly front desk employee. She quickly got us checked in and explained where to park. The room was great! It was located on the bay side at the end of the hall which I would recommend, the room was huge and felt very roomy. Everyone we encountered at the hotel was kind and helpful. I was a bit disappointed that there is no hot tub here and that the sauna is gender segregated as it is located in the locker room of each gender assigned locker room. It was weird that the sauna is located next to the toilet and I couldn't enjoy it with my husband. In addition, the parking was a bit funky. The sign outside the hotel parking lot always stated full although it hardly was actually full. The first night we had to park in the structure down the block and carry our bags down the block which was a bit of a pain. Overall a good hotel for a stay in Portland!

Room Tip: Ask for bay side at the end of the hall.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel was perfect for exploring Portland during our one night stay. It’s a 10 min walk to the waterfront and it was only $10 for parking overnight. We paid a bit extra for a room with a view of the bay which was worth it. It was really comfortable, spacious and quiet, just what we wanted. They had a free shuttle available but we preferred to walk everywhere.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LMaia88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews