We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed 16 November 2017

Thomas was very nice at check in and we enjoyed the whoopie pies upon arrival. Room and bathroom were clean, very important. Nice to have a Keurig, microwave and fridge in the room. Only gave four stars as we didn't have face cloths with our towels. Also, the heater was quite noisy and sounded like a small hemi each time it turned on throughout the night. Didn't find the maids friendly, wouldn't even acknowledge us in the hallways each time we passed. All and all, would stay here again, good price.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polly317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

We appreciate your review. I have brought your concerns to the Engineering/Houskeeping Managers and the item has been addressed. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

I stayed here because Portland
Is so expensive and this was
Very reasonable. This turned
Out to be better than expected. It was clean and had a nice fitness
Ctr. With whirl pool and even
A sauna which was a surprise as
I ENJOY A SAUNA!
Free breakfast is a bonus. It
Was not great but was ok.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank mjl4147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you for your review. We are glad we could accommodate your travels to the Greater Portland area. We appreciate you review and value your business. Thank you again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

Hotel was clean, non smoking which is important to us with children, breakfast was good. The staff was very helpful with all the other people like us checking in with no power. I would stay here again if too, I live in the next town so probably wont need to but its nice knowing we could if needed. Nice big indoor pool too.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Glad our hotel could help out so many locals during the power outage. It was nice to help the community we are proud to be apart off. Thank you for the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

We stayed here last weekend for a friend' wedding's .It was smelly and we had a non smoking room supposedly and it smelled of cigarettes so badly that we went out and bought air freshener.
It was dirty..esp the floors .We wore our shoes all the time in there because of how dirty it felt.Walls were stained ,gross looking.The bed was surprisingly ok.Comfortable enough and looked clean. Everything else was gross.Very old decor..couldn't have been much to look at when it was new. We definitely would not recommend staying here.
Very noisy as it's on several busy roads. Near a mall and some places like Panera, Ruby Tuesdays, in the mall,etc.

Room Tip: Check it out before you decide to stay there,seriously, ask to see the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bellaluna64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Property is under new management and upgrades are scheduled for this winter. Thanks for letting us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here because we are budget travelers and the hotel rates in Portland were double or triple the cost of Fireside Inn & Suites. Room was very clean. Comfortable bed. It definitely is older and beat up looking in hallways, bathroom. Quiet. The tour groups staying here go to bed early. Lol. We were 15 min drive from downtown Portland. Stayed 5 nights and did day trips from this location. Breakfast was included but to our taste very lacking. We tried it twice and gave up. Scrambled eggs from a box, mystery yogurt in large trays. Purchased a few items from nice grocery store across the street.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Public Relations Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We value your review. I have passed on your concerns to the new management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 km away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#14 of 20 in Portland
1,761 reviews
4 km away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#18 of 20 in Portland
615 reviews
4.6 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
6.2 km away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
5.9 km away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Portland

Address: 81 Riverside St, Portland, ME 04103-1045 (Formerly Holiday Inn Portland West)
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: €68 - €142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer today’s features with yesterday’s charm. Just minutes from the Portland Jetport and situated directly off I-95 Exit 48, our travel-friendly location is easily accessible. With its comfortable rooms, courtyard views and hospitality, the Fireside Inn & Suites Portland is the ideal choice for you and your family while visiting the Greater Portland Area.While staying with us, we invite you to enjoy Zackery’s Fireside Restaurant for dinner and evening entertainment. Our menus appeal to a wide set of tastes and we are extremely proud of our Staff. Please browse them at your leisure. We serve breakfast, dinner and wonderful desserts! We also have a full bar in Zack’s Club Lounge and offer drink specials for Happy Hour. We are pretty creative with martinis too! Whether you are joining us for business or pleasure, we are waiting for you! While you are here, why not relax by our Lobby Fireplace. Enjoy our late afternoon complimentary fresh coffee right here! Stay with us and each guest will receive a FREE Isamax Snacks Wicked Whoopie Pie! The Whoopie Pie is Maine’s Official State Treat (officially becoming law on September 28, 2011)! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
Fireside Inn And Suites Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing