We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay on a visit to Portland!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bethel, Maine
1 review
“Best place to stay on a visit to Portland!”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I loved the proximity to everything that Portland has to offer, but especially the extremely friendly staff! They were absolutely wonderful and helpful, a real delight to do business with. I also enjoyed the lovely breakfast and the bed was the most comfortable that I have ever experienced while on vacation. If you are looking for a beautiful place to stay in the heart of Portland, look no further!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    41
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
424
20
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Amazing! The Chadwick folks made me feel as if I were home. I had just flown in from Alabama and was attending an annual Tour of Portland with new friends and I was greeted by Scot, love those slippers! The home was so stylisted decorated and welcoming for a home away from home. Scot toured the home and welcomed me since I was alone on my trip he made me feel safe and secure. The weather this winter was really cold for me in New England, so he had the fireplace roaring in my room, nice and toasty! The wine selection was wonderful and the breakfast Laura made was fit for a KING/QUEEN. Special care was given toward my dieting needs and the coffee was welcomed at 0700. I'm hoping for another trip and an invitation for the 3rd annual Tour of Portland for next year, I will be staying at the Chadwick again!

Room Tip: Call and book ahead there is only four rooms available..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I love the Bed and Breakfast atmosphere. Hotels are so cold and impersonal. Scot and Laura take it one step beyond. They are so warm and friendly, pleasing the guests is obviously their priority. I got to know Portland and they were so helpful in doing that too. Everything has that special touch and the place is immaculate. Be sure to make The Chadwick part of any visit to Portland! I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonesport, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2012

My wife and I used to live in Portland but several years ago retired to our home on the coast in Downeast Maine (four hours away). We had an event to attend in Portland and researched some B&B's on the West End of Portland (our old stomping grounds). The Chadwick seemed perfect online, and upon arrival it lived up to its Web descriptions and photos. Unfortunately, my wife came down with the flu and wasn't recovered enough to make the trip. I made the trip alone, but am looking foward to returning with her, and seeing her react as favorably as I did to the tastefully decorated rooms, the wonderful hospitality, and the delicious breakfasts! Thanks, Laura and Scott, for making my stay so pleasant!

Room Tip: All the rooms looked great and it's nice that there are just four guest rooms. I prefer staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The Chadwick was our temporary home in January while we explored Portland. Scott was a pleasure to work with and Laura's breakfasts were truly inspired for the very cold mornings. The availability of several wine choices for purchase by the glass or bottle was very nice and the complimentary snacks and cookies help keep the chill away. The weather was quite cold but the fireplace in our room kept us warm. We walked to most restaurants and all walks were cleared of ice and snow. We had the Abbot room which was a bit on the small size but there were plenty of space in the dresser and a good size closet for all the coats, scarfs, gloves,etc.

We are looking forward to staying at the Chadwick during our next stay in Portland.

Room Tip: Abbot room was cozy with lots of windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.6 km away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
1.7 km away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.9 km away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
2.1 km away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
1.5 km away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast
Address: 140 Chadwick St, Portland, ME 04102-3212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect getaway in Portland, Maine, The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast provides thoughtful touches that invite a sense of pampering and romance in unsurpassed comfort and elegance. With endless events and activities offered in the Greater Portland area, you can keep active or spend time relaxing in the comfort of this classically appointed home-away-from-home. Do as little or as much as you’d like. Whether you are visiting Maine for a long weekend, vacation, honeymoon, anniversary, wedding, or on business, The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast strives to provide a level of personal service that goes above and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chadwick Bed And Breakfast
The Chadwick Hotel Portland
The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing