We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful vacation spot for a couple or a large...”
other travellers have booked this property
Thoroughfare House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Thoroughfare House
Dock/Boat Landing in back yard Back of Home
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Thoroughfare House
Dock/Boat Landing in back yard
Back of Home
large private area around lakeside property
One of two upstairs bedrooms
Boat landing 'down back'
view of property from lake
Boat landing at International Bridge
From East Grand, at the mouth of the Thoroughfare
Flagstaff Mtn. from near Bear Island fishing
Ample outdoor spaces to relax
Our Thoroughfare House sits between East Grand Lake and North Lake
Picnic area with fire pit, chimera stove by dock in back yard
Queen sized sofa bed and 3 recliners ready for lounging
Comforable 20x24ft livingroom
16x24ft Kitchen with full size appliances and lots of cooking utensils
Knotty pine bedroom on 1st floor with 2 full size beds
Casual outdoor cookout area on porch
Picnic table and umbrella next to charcoal grill and horseshoe pit for some added fun
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 9
Orient, Maine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Wonderful vacation spot for a couple or a large family”
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A true Maine location in a fully equipped summer home. Everything but food is provided and I mean everything for playing, relaxing and cooking both indoors and out. We enjoyed the peacefulness of the property and water. The evening fires on the shore listening to the loons were very special to us.
Florence was very helpful with information about the property, amenities and history of the Thoroughfare house.
A definite 5 stars!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma T
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 6 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Beautiful vacation home by the lake, Florence and her husband were such a great hosts, who went beyond their way to help us feel welcome. It's a peaceful location perfect for boating, fishing or just (like we did) enjoy the summer breeze from the porch. We had a nice long weekend and would like to go back very soon. I'm already telling my relatives and friends about this wonderful place. Thank you Mr. and Mrs. Boney for sharing your beautiful vacation home with us!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2017
Thanks for your visit and your kind review....the Bonneys
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rejburke
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
2 reviews
“Perfectly equipped and comfortable home base for our fishing trip & much more.”
Reviewed 21 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The photo above is taken from across the road on the north shore of 37-mile-long East Grand Lake. The well-furnished and fully provisioned home is located on the end of a peninsula. As suggested by the owner, all we brought was food and fishing gear. A hundred yards to the right of the photo is a very low traffic bridge connecting Maine and Canada, with Customs offices on each side. The dock (for the owners' or your own boat) is on the far (north) side of the house on a waterway leading to North Lake and under the bridge to E. Grand Lake. It could not be better placed for fishing, nor better sheltered from the big lake.

The house has a second floor with additional bedrooms, but I and my son only used the large first floor bedroom with two comfortable queen beds, covered with plush blankets. Although we arrived in a 92-degree heatwave, we opened the huge screened windows and the breeze kept us so comfortable that we did not use the air conditioner. In the evening of the 2nd day, a thunderstorm broke the heat wave and temperatures dropped overnight into the 50's, which made the plush bedding precisely what we needed. With the low temperatures, we turned on all three ground floor heaters which warmed the place in five minutes.

We stored food and ice cream in the refrigerator, but we were two guys and Chili-Mac was our supper staple, while fried and scrambled eggs, bacon, ham and cereal were our breakfast. We didn't get a chance to use the BBQ, for which charcoal was provided. The kitchen and fridge would easily have served a dozen people. We did drive south on Rte. 1(10 miles) twice to Danforth to the very-well-stocked grocery store, and hamburger lunches at the Gulf station. And, on our last night, we drove up to Houlton for fine suppers at the Vault restaurant.

Mosquitos in Maine are a staple, but we brought 100% DEET (bought on Amazon) which kept them off our bodies incredibly well, both outside and for the few that entered with us through the exterior doors.

I hope to return someday with enough family to fill the house.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2017
We enjoyed your visit.....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lil D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, great for everybody!”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

There is so much to love about this place. It is a cozy home away from home that is fun and enjoyable. There are games, such as horseshoes, chess, darts, checkers, and more. It is a very comfortable place, and there is plenty of seating as well. It has a boat dock where you can go for a ride, whether it is in a canoe or boat. It has beautiful views, such as trees, wildlife, and the sky. You'll never regret having gone there. There is so much to do, see, and enjoy. On the inside, it is very nice, with three bedrooms, a living room, kitchen, bathroom, game room, and more. You are able to have a wonderful time without having to bring chairs and such... it is already set up to be perfect. I think everyone deserves to have been there and have a great time. When I visited it, I noticed that it is great for kids, adults, teenagers... good for everybody. There is something for everybody to love.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing