We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveller rating
204
123
65
36
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
204
123
65
36
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolfree breakfastnext yearoff seasonview of the oceancoffee makerwe've stayedfull kitchenamusement parkfredwindsongkennedybeachsunriseoobkitchenettemaine
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 487 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2017

My husband and I stayed here on a last min decision to stay in Maine overnight. The Alouette staff was very nice and accommodated us for the 1 night on a busy holiday weekend. They went above and beyond to do this for us. For not having to much availability, they worked it out to accommodate my husband who is disabled and could not go up to a second floor and myself. We both appreciated the staff immensely. We have stayed here before, and will continue to in the future. Great place, clean,and always a friendly staff!!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank eileeng62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Alouette Memorial Day weekend. Our room wasn't ocean view but we could see it as soon as we stepped outside and it was short walk to beach or indoor pool. The heated pool was greatly appreciated since it was too cool to swim at the beach during our say. Our room was very small but seemed like it had been recently updated and was sufficient for just the two of us.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms seem like they would be quieter and have better views.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kauriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

I had a great trip! the only problem I had, was that there seemed to be a problem with the hot water and as long as you didn't mind a cold shower all else was good. I enjoyed the free breakfast and thought the staff was very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Nice clean room right on the beach,with a free hot breakfast.Wonderful owners were there in the morning to greet all that were there.Picked a great time to go with the temps in the mid 70's.All in all i will be back.

Stayed: October 2016
1  Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

When my family first arrived at Alouette we were psyched: the room looked as pictured in the photos - complete with ocean view even though we had booked a mid-lower priced room in the older part of the motel - and in a few steps we were on the beach. We tried out the beds and they were very comfortable. There was a working little refrigerator. Although we were there in late October, without even the heat on the room was so insulated it was warm (not uncomfortably so) ... we opened the screen door to the balcony occasionally if we wanted it cooler. If you're looking for a lower-priced place to stay on the beach and don't care about much else, this is the place for you!

I read reviews that said that rooms in the newer part of the motel are better, and according to other reviews and to people at the front desk, some turnoffs we experienced even in our part were not necessarily typical...but I'll tell you what they were so you know there's a chance these things could happen to you. (Rather than list them in chronological order, I'll do it in order of importance. Also note that there are some saving graces mixed in):

1) Washing up in the bathroom just after 11pm the night we arrived, we noticed that the water in the sink never seemed to get warm. We left the sink water on for a total of about 10 minutes with little change. Worried about our morning showers, we then turned the water on in the shower (Those with small children should note there is no bathtub, at least in this level room) for an additional 20 minutes. After the last 10 minutes there was no change, and it seemed the maximum temperature would be about room temperature, which would be okay for a person who is coming in hot on a summer day, but which would feel cool to the skin and unwelcome in the fall. We were too tired to complain about it then so just went to bed and hoped for better in the morning. In the morning, happily, the water got as warm as we wanted without a wait. (When we mentioned this to man #2 at the front desk, he said that when the water has not been used for a long time it takes a while to warm up. In our home we're used to this and often have to wait a minute or two for the water to warm, but never 20 or 30 minutes or more, and it always does get hot eventually.)

2) Also before bed, we turned on our computer and encountered good internet service. We wanted to check out some nearby attractions and, most importantly, be assured that our son could do homework. (The only reason he could come was because of the guarantee of internet service so he could get his homework done.) The next day, however, when we'd scheduled time so he could do this, there was no service at all...not even slow service. We waited and waited and tried different things. Went to the front desk. Man #2 assured us the internet service was working. We said it was not. He said it was. That was obviously going nowhere. He did say our son could try using the internet in the "lobby," where the signal would be stronger. There really is no lobby to speak of... just a few square feet of space with room to sit just in front of the checkin counter. It was not well lit, not inviting, and not the same as relaxing in ones own room. We never found out if it worked there because we did not try. Instead, we left early Sunday to get home earlier. (Normally the existence of internet wouldn't matter that much to us, and might not matter much to many vacationers, because we're there to have fun...but if you need to count on having internet while on vacation, apparently you can't count on it here. This is not the fault of the motel owner but of the service available to him, but is still something prospective vacationers there need to take into consideration.)

3) When we checked in, we remarked to the young lady at the front desk that we saw the sign outside advertising free breakfast and were happy about that. She said that since we had not signed up for free breakfast when we reserved we were not entitled to it, but she'd check. Asked about it, man #1 asked her if the sign in fact said it, and when she said it did, he said in a begrudging tone, "Then I guess we have to give it to them" and walked away without looking at us. If he was going to give it to us anyway, it would have made us feel much more welcome if he'd said, "Sure!" and gave us a smile.

4) As it turned out, when we did show up for breakfast the next morning, we were told there would be a 15-minute wait for a table. (It is not buffet-style but restaurant-style.) When we saw that most of the people at the tables looked like they were waiting for their food we figured the wait would be very long so asked for food to take out. We were told the kitchen was backed up so it would still take a really long time. We ate elsewhere. I do have to say, though, that when we tried the little restaurant the second day it was less crowded and we were served promptly. There was a larger menu if you were paying, but what was offered on the free menu was impressive - especially when the waitress explained, for example, that the "two small pancakes" were actually large, and that you could put chocolate chips or blueberries in them at no extra charge. (Whether or not the boss knew about these things or this was just the whim of the cook of the day I don't know, so could not assure you you'd experience the same, but the way the waitress said it so surely leaves me guessing it's the usual practice.) There were a generous amount of blueberries in the pancakes, although the batter itself was bland. The eggs and sausage, coffee and juice were all delicious. Also, when we reminded them about the day before, they took $3 apiece off anything we wanted from the non-free menu.

(Getting into really trivial things now):

5) The light switch at the entrance to the room did not work. However, the individual lamps in the room did work.

6) One of the room outlets did not work. However, others did.

7) We were there for two nights. When we arrived my bed was made fine. The second day I had to pull it apart and remake it because the blanket was very long on one side and barely reaching over the side on the other. In the maid's favor was that we had laid out delicate sea shells and a sand dollar on a towel in the bathroom, and although she cleaned the bathroom well and replaced all the towels and washcloths, the seashells were undisturbed.

8) For various reasons we feel it's important to have access to a second bathroom if needed. Once during our stay we did want to use the one extra bathroom available to guests, which is available in the indoor pool area. I can understand there being pool water on the seat, but it was covered with both water and urine. Also, surprisingly for a place to be used when people are dripping wet, it was not heated and was chilly. (The pool area was heated. And, though we did not try the pool, it felt slightly warm to the touch.)

All in all, the place wasn't so bad. I would not say not to go here. The rooms are comfortable, the beach is beautiful and clean, the inconveniences we experienced may not be the norm. If your concentration is simply on being near the beach and not paying a lot, this is a decent place. (Or, as other reviews have noted, newer rooms which cost more may be perfect.)

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paulette999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews