We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Its OK ... but....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain's Galley Restaurant - CLOSED

Captain's Galley Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
southwest uss
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Its OK ... but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Our first time to the restaurant and it was ok but not worth the price

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gandl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    41
    16
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
139 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A nice family restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

The lobsters were good, so was the other items service good too. The singer and a very soothing voice.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ArtNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Michigan
Level Contributor
230 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“One of the few that is worthy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

On a return visit to Old Orchard Beach, we would make this a top choice, along with Chrys’s Restaurant (located in town). Yes, the service was a bit slow but it’s a big restaurant with lots of seating. We stopped for breakfast and the food and quality were good. It’s located just outside of the main town.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vacationers2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VT
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Slow Service but Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stopped by the Captain's Galley on our way back from the beach. The kids ordered off the Kids menu, and my wife ordered the grilled chicken, and I ordered the clams. It took a while for the food to come, and in the mean time we had all finished our drinks, but our waitress never even asked us if we needed a refill. Just before she brought us our food, she was given a large party to take care of, so when she brought our food, she pretty much passed it out and left, never asking if we needed anything else, for the next half hour she was busy with the large party and never came near us again. After sitting for about 10-15 minutes after we finished eating she came by to see how we were doing, and finally got us a refill. The food was excellent, but the service could be a little more speedy.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrksanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Absolute Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

The Captain's Galley in Old Orchard Beach Maine is probably the best restaurant I have ever been to.The food is absolutely superb,and the prices are extremely reasonable. My husband had the stuffed haddock, baked potato. I had the stuffed scallops with a baked potato. A very, very fresh tasty salad came with our meal along with bread and butter. We also had ice cream for dessert, which was included with our meal. Good thing it was ice cream, because we didn't have any room left after eating half of our meal!! All of this for $30.00!! total, with tip!!! Our server was wonderful, very attentive, helpful, friendly. We live 3 1/2 hours away, but I would certainly make the one day trip, just to eat here again!!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kelleyschultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain's Galley Restaurant also viewed

 
Old Orchard Beach, ME
 
Old Orchard Beach, ME
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing