We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
40
23
4
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
23
4
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gas fireplace the main house grand room the blue room parfait home fries breakfast was delicious quiet side street blueberry pancakes marginal way ceiling fan perkins cove granola hot coffee bed and breakfast living room a lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2017

We had a lovely stay at the Blue Shutters. Clean, comfortable bed and sitting area. Central air and fan were great for us, the staff were accommodating and very helpful. Breakfasts were fantastic. Nice access to the Marginal way, and to the center of town. All this and on a quiet side street. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Blue room had some ocean views in the distance.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracyOfOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueShutters B, Owner at The Blue Shutters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Thank you for your kind review about our "Nicely located B&B". We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

Ned

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

There appear to be several levels of accommodations at the Blue Shutters Inn. Ours was very spare and not too comfortable.
The main house, where breakfast is served, is attractive and charming. The breakfasts were quite good and the server was attentive and efficient. From the inn's location, you can walk to restaurants, the busy downtown shopping area, and the Marginal Way. Ogunquit has trolleys that you can take to the Ogunquit Museum of Art, Perkins Cove, etc.
We had chosen a main floor room which I believe is considered a cottage room. Frequently old houses have steep stairs which we prefer to avoid if possible.
Our room consisted of a double bed and dresser and a small stand. No night-tables with lamps, which we find essential for a comfortable stay. The bed was okay, although a bit soft in the middle. There were exactly 4 hangers in the closet, kind of locked in place and not easy to use. The amenities were few, the air conditioner was very noisy, and there was no desk for the laptop. One of the most annoying things was that when you entered, in order to reach the switch for the overhead light you had to walk to the other side of the room in the dark. The switch was over the bed. The one small lamp in the room was on the dresser had a very low wattage bulb.
There was no TV in our room, although I think they are provided in other rooms.
I would suggest asking for details before you book a room there. Also, the rose bush by the door was sorely in need of trimming. It reached halfway across the door and it was tricky to avoid being scratched when entering or exiting.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueShutters B, Owner at The Blue Shutters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. Yes, we do have different rooms, most bed and breakfasts do. The room you chose to stay in is clearly visible and descriptive on our web site, as well as other online travel sites. The details are very clear. It is the most economical room we offer. Hangers were added this room shortly after your departure, and the rose bush was trimmed right after you brought it to our attention. Our apologies. Were glad you enjoyed our breakfast, we certainly enjoyed preparing it especially for you. We do have a nice spot off the beaten path here in Ogunquit which is convenient for walking.

Thank you again for your review,
The Blue Shutters Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

On a 90 degree plus day in June we arrived at The Blue Shutters Inn for a one-night stay. Our second floor room was delightful, had central A/C, a view of the ocean, and we were able to park our car and walk to Marginal Way for dinner at Perkins Cove. A bountiful and delicious full breakfast was served in the morning. The innkeeper was gracious to allow us to keep our car parked at the inn while we walked Marginal Way after breakfast in the opposite direction to explore the many shops in Ogunquit. A wonderful experience and should we find ourselves in Ogunquit in the future, we will definitely contact The Blue Shutters Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseDew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueShutters B, Owner at The Blue Shutters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Thank you for the very nice review. We do appreciate it as we strive to provide a relaxing and carefree stay for all our guest. It's a beautiful location and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back again!

Ned

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We stayed at the Blue Shutters Inn because we had a rather last minute impulse to go to Ogunquit for the 4th of July and they were willing to accept a holiday weekend reservation that didn't include a Friday night. The owner hosts and all staff were warm, friendly and eager to please. The breakfasts were generous in portion and delicious, served in a cheery sunny space. You can't beat the location, direct access to the beautiful Marginal Way sea walk, and minutes walk from all main street village shops, restaurants, and the beach. Our complaints are minor given the price value: no ice machine or in-room refrigerator though staff was happy to give us a cup of ice whenever we asked. Like many a hotel, terrible lighting for reading - a lamp on only one side of the bed with a low wattage bulb. Lastly, the bright hallway lights that stayed on all night and showed under the substantial space benath our door creating unwanted night light. But overall a good value.

Room Tip: Loud floor squeaks in the old house -you may hear neighbors exiting their rooms in the morning before you wish to be awake.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ccarolynneshinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueShutters B, Owner at The Blue Shutters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Thank you both for staying with us. We enjoyed having you. On your next visit you might consider staying in our Carriage House Studios. These are newer studios and have a full kitchen complete with a refrigerator freezer and ice cube trays to make an unlimited amount of ice. We are glad you liked our location and as you pointed out, the friendliness of our staff. Thanks, again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

My family stayed at The Blue Shutters Inn last week for two nights. We traveled from Virginia to Maine and then Vermont and stayed in 5 different bed an breakfast for the week and this one was our favorite by far for so many reasons. It is all about the details. Ned has a beautiful Inn and the rooms were pristine. We stayed in the Grand Room and my parents stayed in the Blue Room. The view from the Blue Room on the second floor is great! The Grand Room on the first floor was very spacious for the two of us and our daughter. We also hade a private deck off from it which made it great for unloading the car. Ned made us a delicious breakfast both mornings. We enjoyed the sweet treats that Ned put out for us each day. My daughter looked forward to seeing what sweets he had made. We were a walk away from the beach which was really nice. We would stay here again and would recommend this Inn to all of our family and friends that would be in the area. I cannot say enough about Ned's eagerness to make sure everything was perfect for us. Thanks so much Ned!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank sbalderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueShutters B, Owner at The Blue Shutters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2017

You are welcome, and thank you so much for the great review! I'm really glad you enjoyed your time here, and it was a pleasure getting to know your family. We try hard to make sure everyone is comfortable here and feel they can relax. The Blue room and Grand room are favorites inside the Inn, I'm glad you liked them. I hope the rest of your vacation was enjoyable. Thanks again, Ned

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews