We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the rough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Blue Shutters Inn
Ranked #18 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

This was our first trip to OGT and we were pleasantly surprised by this Inn. Ned and other staff were always helpful. Good size room. Close to downtown. On site parking. Only complaint was the kitchenette refrigerator was a tad bit loud. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay and would return to this Inn. Thank you!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rggyouknowme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueShutters B, Owner at The Blue Shutters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again sometime soon. We appreciate the comment about the refrigerator and hope to have resolved that problem.

Thanks again,
Ned
The Blue shutters Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2017

We had a lovely stay at the Blue Shutters. Clean, comfortable bed and sitting area. Central air and fan were great for us, the staff were accommodating and very helpful. Breakfasts were fantastic. Nice access to the Marginal way, and to the center of town. All this and on a quiet side street. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Blue room had some ocean views in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracyOfOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueShutters B, Owner at The Blue Shutters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Thank you for your kind review about our "Nicely located B&B". We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

Ned

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

There appear to be several levels of accommodations at the Blue Shutters Inn. Ours was very spare and not too comfortable.
The main house, where breakfast is served, is attractive and charming. The breakfasts were quite good and the server was attentive and efficient. From the inn's location, you can walk to restaurants, the busy downtown shopping area, and the Marginal Way. Ogunquit has trolleys that you can take to the Ogunquit Museum of Art, Perkins Cove, etc.
We had chosen a main floor room which I believe is considered a cottage room. Frequently old houses have steep stairs which we prefer to avoid if possible.
Our room consisted of a double bed and dresser and a small stand. No night-tables with lamps, which we find essential for a comfortable stay. The bed was okay, although a bit soft in the middle. There were exactly 4 hangers in the closet, kind of locked in place and not easy to use. The amenities were few, the air conditioner was very noisy, and there was no desk for the laptop. One of the most annoying things was that when you entered, in order to reach the switch for the overhead light you had to walk to the other side of the room in the dark. The switch was over the bed. The one small lamp in the room was on the dresser had a very low wattage bulb.
There was no TV in our room, although I think they are provided in other rooms.
I would suggest asking for details before you book a room there. Also, the rose bush by the door was sorely in need of trimming. It reached halfway across the door and it was tricky to avoid being scratched when entering or exiting.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueShutters B, Owner at The Blue Shutters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. Yes, we do have different rooms, most bed and breakfasts do. The room you chose to stay in is clearly visible and descriptive on our web site, as well as other online travel sites. The details are very clear. It is the most economical room we offer. Hangers were added this room shortly after your departure, and the rose bush was trimmed right after you brought it to our attention. Our apologies. Were glad you enjoyed our breakfast, we certainly enjoyed preparing it especially for you. We do have a nice spot off the beaten path here in Ogunquit which is convenient for walking.

Thank you again for your review,
The Blue Shutters Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

On a 90 degree plus day in June we arrived at The Blue Shutters Inn for a one-night stay. Our second floor room was delightful, had central A/C, a view of the ocean, and we were able to park our car and walk to Marginal Way for dinner at Perkins Cove. A bountiful and delicious full breakfast was served in the morning. The innkeeper was gracious to allow us to keep our car parked at the inn while we walked Marginal Way after breakfast in the opposite direction to explore the many shops in Ogunquit. A wonderful experience and should we find ourselves in Ogunquit in the future, we will definitely contact The Blue Shutters Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseDew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueShutters B, Owner at The Blue Shutters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Thank you for the very nice review. We do appreciate it as we strive to provide a relaxing and carefree stay for all our guest. It's a beautiful location and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back again!

Ned

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We stayed at the Blue Shutters Inn because we had a rather last minute impulse to go to Ogunquit for the 4th of July and they were willing to accept a holiday weekend reservation that didn't include a Friday night. The owner hosts and all staff were warm, friendly and eager to please. The breakfasts were generous in portion and delicious, served in a cheery sunny space. You can't beat the location, direct access to the beautiful Marginal Way sea walk, and minutes walk from all main street village shops, restaurants, and the beach. Our complaints are minor given the price value: no ice machine or in-room refrigerator though staff was happy to give us a cup of ice whenever we asked. Like many a hotel, terrible lighting for reading - a lamp on only one side of the bed with a low wattage bulb. Lastly, the bright hallway lights that stayed on all night and showed under the substantial space benath our door creating unwanted night light. But overall a good value.

Room Tip: Loud floor squeaks in the old house -you may hear neighbors exiting their rooms in the morning bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ccarolynneshinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueShutters B, Owner at The Blue Shutters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Thank you both for staying with us. We enjoyed having you. On your next visit you might consider staying in our Carriage House Studios. These are newer studios and have a full kitchen complete with a refrigerator freezer and ice cube trays to make an unlimited amount of ice. We are glad you liked our location and as you pointed out, the friendliness of our staff. Thanks, again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.2 km away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,067 reviews
0.5 km away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
305 reviews
0.3 km away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#1 of 36 in Ogunquit
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
602 reviews
0.8 km away
Studio East Motel
Studio East Motel
#20 of 36 in Ogunquit
188 reviews
0.9 km away
The Black Boar Inn
The Black Boar Inn
#9 of 26 in Ogunquit
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Shutters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Shutters Inn

Address: 36 Beachmere Ln, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range: €82 - €190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blue Shutters Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful Bed and Breakfast is under new ownership! We are excited for your next visit to Ogunquit! Steps from the famous Marginal Way in Ogunquit's lively downtown, the Blue Shutters Inn is just minutes from the beach, boutiques, art galleries and world class restaurants. In our bed & breakfast, we offer 7 spacious rooms each complete with an en-suite bathroom and a romantic fireplace. If you're looking for a bit more space, we have 6 studio apartments-each with a kitchenette. Also,if you are traveling with your furry loved one, we can meet that need too. Located in the heart of Ogunquit with on-site parking, the Blue Shutters Inn is walking distance from all that Ogunquit has to offer. Whether its lounging on the beach, strolling the Marginal Way, lunching at one of our many renowned eateries or exploring quaint Perkin's Cove-we'll ensure you have a comfy bed and a tranquil retreat! Our goal is to provide our guests with their own special experience. We can't wait for you to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Blue Shutters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing