We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
262
7
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
262
7
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront porchpotato pancakesgranolahomemade cookiesreal maple syrupmarginal waybrownieeach morningwalking distance to shopscoffee and teaother guestslocation is greatmini fridgefire pitbreakfast was amazingmain streetwonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My husband and I just returned from an amazing weekend away at the Scotch Hill Inn. We had a baby shower to go to in Wells and were looking for a reasonably priced B&B in the surrounding areas. A lot of hotels/B&Bs in southern Maine close during the off season but we really lucked out with the Scotch Hill Inn.

We arrived on Friday night at 9:30pm and our late arrival was not a problem. Michael is a fabulous host and he had even warmed up the electric tea kettle for us in case we wanted tea upon our arrival. There was always some sort of scrumptious baked good waiting for us in the dining room, as well as the fridge stocked with wine, beer, soda, and bottled water. The electric tea kettle was a real plus as we are not coffee drinkers and it was nice to have a cup of tea whenever we wanted. For coffee drinkers, there is a Keurig machine and also they will brew coffee.

Michael is really friendly and always concerned about his guests. We feel we connected with him more than other owners of B&Bs that we've been to. We stayed in room 3 which has a gigantic king size bed with the most comfortable mattress. The rooms are all updated but maintain a historic look to them, and we liked that our bathroom was done in a black and white vintage tiled flair.

Breakfasts with Anthony are amazing. The starter course is a yummy yogurt/fruit/granola parfait and then you have a choice of sweet or savory for your main course. Our first morning we both had an asparagus/potato/bacon/cheese/onion frittata which was to DIE for. Our second morning I had eggs, bacon, and ginormous yummy potato pancakes and my husband had blueberry pancakes (which were very yummy as I stole some off his plate). Anthony is also incredibly friendly and we really enjoyed talking to him.

The Inn itself is situated in a perfect location, walking distance from town and the shops and even the beach. I imagine that during the summer months when Ogunquit is up and in its high season that this Inn would be a perfect place to go to. We'd love to come back at some point and can't say enough how much we loved our stay. We were sorry to leave to come back to Connecticut!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hibiscusgirl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

The Innkeepers are genuinely warm and exceptional people. Michael provided us with insight on the town and options for dining. Ogunquit is a quaint seaside community and the Scotch Hill Inn exudes charm. We love to plan our travels to visit a variety of B & B’s along our path. Our experience was so fantastic and welcoming that we didn’t want to leave! We are already planning our return to the Scotch Hill Inn.
The B & B was immaculate. Our room was clean and comfortable. The fireplace was inviting and cozy. The aroma of cookies filled the air and we immediately relaxed and began enjoying the ambiance. This was by far our most amazing B & B experience in all our travels on both east and west coasts.
Michael and Michael are incredible hosts and Chef Anthony creates a breakfast that is delightful and enticing. This truly is an outstanding experience…thank you!

Marshall and Edye

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taebydesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Just returned from a fantastic and relaxing weekend in Ogunquit. Michael and Michael, owners of Scotch Hill Inn, were amazingly hospitable, showing us around the Inn, offering suggestions of things to do in and around Ogunquit, and making sure we were as comfortable as possible. The Inn was beautiful, our room was warm, comfortable, and clean, and the breakfasts prepared by Anthony were absolutely delicious. Would highly recommend this Inn to others.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

My husband John and I recently spent a weekend at the Inn with friends. It was lovely. It was only the second time we stayed at a bed & breakfast and we would highly recommend the experience. The inn has old work charm. The place was spotless and the bed extremely comfortable. Michael and Michael, our hosts, were truly the nicest guys we have ever met and went out of their way to answer any questions we had about the area. They took the time to get to know you. Anthony, the cook, makes a really different and mouthwatering breakfast and each day it was different. We will definately stay there again. John & Kathy Fornaro

Room Tip: All the rooms looked great.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

My husband and I travelled for a weekend get-away with friends. We had the greatest fortune of staying at the Scotch Hill Inn in Ogunquit, Maine. The Scotch Hill Inn is wonderfully charming, the hosts, Michael and Michael are outstanding in their roles as hosts and Anthony is the perfect gourmet chef. So much attention to detail is given, not only with the clean, comfortable and cozy Inn, but also to your own sights, senses and needs. Each time we returned from one of our excursions the coffee, tea and fresh cookies awaited us; the fireplace was lit and the dining/sitting area was waiting for us for wine and conversation.

On arrival at the Inn you are personally greeted, there is an array of coffees, teas and freshly baked cookies, elegantly displayed and waiting for you. Instantly, you know that you are in for a wonderful treat having chosen here to stay. The two course breakfast creations are positively delectable and will fill you for the entire day, holding you until dinner. Michael and Michael are engaging and informative and make you feel like you have arrived at “your home away from home.” Michael, Michael, Anthony and The Scotch Hill Inn are just the right combination of charm, warmth, style and grace.

If you are looking for the perfect place, to rejuvenate, recapture or just relax, this is the “Perfect Inn” for you. I hope you have the opportunity to stay and see just how wonderful everything and everyone is.

Room Tip: Every room is inviting, beautifully furnished and decorated.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaryFrazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews