We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Make yourself at home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scotch Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scotch Hill Inn
Ranked #12 of 27 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Make yourself at home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

The owner's and chef were so welcoming, accommodating and warm! Their B&B is clearly a labor of love from the amazing baked goodies to the 24/7 available coffee, fridge full of beverages and wine to the delicious breakfasts...not to mention the most comfortable beds of all time! Kudos Mike, Mike and Anthony! Thank you for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: We called the Inn to help us pick the right accommodations for our needs. The owners were so helpfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
158
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

My husband and I just returned from an amazing weekend away at the Scotch Hill Inn. We had a baby shower to go to in Wells and were looking for a reasonably priced B&B in the surrounding areas. A lot of hotels/B&Bs in southern Maine close during the off season but we really lucked out with the Scotch Hill Inn.

We arrived on Friday night at 9:30pm and our late arrival was not a problem. Michael is a fabulous host and he had even warmed up the electric tea kettle for us in case we wanted tea upon our arrival. There was always some sort of scrumptious baked good waiting for us in the dining room, as well as the fridge stocked with wine, beer, soda, and bottled water. The electric tea kettle was a real plus as we are not coffee drinkers and it was nice to have a cup of tea whenever we wanted. For coffee drinkers, there is a Keurig machine and also they will brew coffee.

Michael is really friendly and always concerned about his guests. We feel we connected with him more than other owners of B&Bs that we've been to. We stayed in room 3 which has a gigantic king size bed with the most comfortable mattress. The rooms are all updated but maintain a historic look to them, and we liked that our bathroom was done in a black and white vintage tiled flair.

Breakfasts with Anthony are amazing. The starter course is a yummy yogurt/fruit/granola parfait and then you have a choice of sweet or savory for your main course. Our first morning we both had an asparagus/potato/bacon/cheese/onion frittata which was to DIE for. Our second morning I had eggs, bacon, and ginormous yummy potato pancakes and my husband had blueberry pancakes (which were very yummy as I stole some off his plate). Anthony is also incredibly friendly and we really enjoyed talking to him.

The Inn itself is situated in a perfect location, walking distance from town and the shops and even the beach. I imagine that during the summer months when Ogunquit is up and in its high season that this Inn would be a perfect place to go to. We'd love to come back at some point and can't say enough how much we loved our stay. We were sorry to leave to come back to Connecticut!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hibiscusgirl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

The Innkeepers are genuinely warm and exceptional people. Michael provided us with insight on the town and options for dining. Ogunquit is a quaint seaside community and the Scotch Hill Inn exudes charm. We love to plan our travels to visit a variety of B & B’s along our path. Our experience was so fantastic and welcoming that we didn’t want to leave! We are already planning our return to the Scotch Hill Inn.
The B & B was immaculate. Our room was clean and comfortable. The fireplace was inviting and cozy. The aroma of cookies filled the air and we immediately relaxed and began enjoying the ambiance. This was by far our most amazing B & B experience in all our travels on both east and west coasts.
Michael and Michael are incredible hosts and Chef Anthony creates a breakfast that is delightful and enticing. This truly is an outstanding experience…thank you!

Marshall and Edye

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taebydesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoneham, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Just returned from a fantastic and relaxing weekend in Ogunquit. Michael and Michael, owners of Scotch Hill Inn, were amazingly hospitable, showing us around the Inn, offering suggestions of things to do in and around Ogunquit, and making sure we were as comfortable as possible. The Inn was beautiful, our room was warm, comfortable, and clean, and the breakfasts prepared by Anthony were absolutely delicious. Would highly recommend this Inn to others.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

My husband John and I recently spent a weekend at the Inn with friends. It was lovely. It was only the second time we stayed at a bed & breakfast and we would highly recommend the experience. The inn has old work charm. The place was spotless and the bed extremely comfortable. Michael and Michael, our hosts, were truly the nicest guys we have ever met and went out of their way to answer any questions we had about the area. They took the time to get to know you. Anthony, the cook, makes a really different and mouthwatering breakfast and each day it was different. We will definately stay there again. John & Kathy Fornaro

Room Tip: All the rooms looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 km away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
0.7 km away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.2 km away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.0 km away
The Black Boar Inn
The Black Boar Inn
#8 of 27 in Ogunquit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.4 km away
Hartwell House Inn
Hartwell House Inn
#4 of 27 in Ogunquit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotch Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotch Hill Inn

Property: Scotch Hill Inn
Address: 287 Main St, PO Box 1479, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3216
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotch Hill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heart of Ogunquit, Maine stands the Scotch Hill Inn Bed and Breakfast. One of the oldest in Ogunquit, the hotel was established in 1908 by the original owners, the Perkins family. The Scotch Hill Inn offers unparalleled accommodations and amenities and is just a five minute walk from Maine's pristine beaches. The Scotch Hill inn is also just minutes away from Ogunquit's world famous Marginal Way and Perkins Cove. Shopping in Kittery, Maine and a variety of restaurants from fine dining to local cafes and pubs are nearby. We Serve a three course gourmet breakfast daily on our porch. Please come by and visit us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Scotch Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing