We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$202
View deal
Official Hotel
US$202
US$108
View deal
SAVE US$94
Hotels.com
US$202
View deal
PricelineUS$202
Expedia.comUS$202
TravelocityUS$202
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveller rating
255
51
8
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
255
51
8
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages low tide ogunquit river screened porch the grounds are beautifully maintained working fireplace a special place love this place main street cabin row croquet property ocean town tides fall
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 319 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2020 via mobile

We have been coming here with our children since the year our eldest was born (2007), and used to stay here when I was a child, all the way from Montreal. This really is a special place - the cabins are rustic but well-appointed, the grounds are beautifully maintained, and the views of the river, dunes and ocean beyond are first-rate. The cabin we stayed in this year had a recently renovated kitchen and bathroom too. All in all, our favorite place to stay in our favorite vacation destination!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jcohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2020

Our family of 4. (2 adults, 2 teens) had an amazing 3 days at The Dunes on the Waterfront! Our room was immaculate, staff was friendly, and the cottages are spaced apart enough to socially distance. There are water views everywhere. We brought our own kayaks and paddleboards and had a great time on the river. You have to be aware of the tides if you want to cross at low tide and make a day at the beach - management is very clear on the tide times. This property is not "in town" but town is a close 15 minute walk and there are plenty of restaurants near the property. Having stayed in town three times, this was a welcome quite change away from Main Street and Shore Road where it can get a bit loud.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SKiLikeaGirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2020 via mobile

We stayed at the Dunes July 12-14 and had such an awesome visit. Cottage was immaculate and had it all from dishes to AC! It was fun to walk across the river at low tide to get to dune and then the Atlantic Ocean. Katie the GM and her staff are first class ! Love this place !

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Trip789929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2020

Came here for a quick getaway with my two adult children and our retired service dog. Checked in no one explained the dog rules just handed us a paper which I didn’t read right away. We went for a walk on the beach and apparently dogs are not allowed on the beach from June 15-sept 9th. The owner was so unprofessional and rude! Came up to me yelling with no mask on and didn’t maintain the 6 ft distance. I honestly had no idea as there is no signs in site (went back the next day to look). It goes back to the old saying it’s not what you say but how you say it. Rooms are way over priced and musty. With so many places to stay NO REASON to stay here. In all that’s going on the world today being kind is so important especially if you are in the customer service business.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank mariefJ7565EV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron Perkins, Owner at The Dunes on the Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2020

Dear mariefJ7565EV,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take the experience of each guest very seriously and I apologize that your experience at The Dunes did not meet your expectations. I'm glad that you took advantage of our Doggie Stay program where our guests can bring along their favorite four legged family member. As you mention, when a guest checks in with a dog, we explain and provide information regarding the simple rules that pet owners are asked to follow. We are very fortunate that our Hotel borders the Ogunquit Tidal River which is a beautiful salt water estuary that is protected by strict Federal and State guidelines for it's use. Ogunquit Beach has similar guidelines as well. We try and emphasize for our dog owners that while we love their dogs, they can't be in the estuary or the beach. This is explained at check in and in the one page information sheet provided. Unfortunately, as a result of your dog running off leash in the estuary several complaints were received by the Ogunquit police department which prompted a visit to us by an officer.
We also take current safety precautions very seriously. We require the use of a mask in our indoor public spaces and outdoor spaces when physical distance cannot be maintained. We also follow the extensive sanitization guidelines developed by the Federal and State CDC.
We take pride in our guest rooms and cottages here at The Dunes and wish that you had brought to our attention during your stay that you felt that the room was not meeting your expectations. We would have happily remedied the situation in the room or would have switched you to a different room.
Again, I apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations and if there is anything that I can do to make this right please feel free to contact me directly.

Aaron Perkins, Owner
The Dunes on the Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2019

Great location, set back from the ever busy route 1 enough to offer peace and tranquility. Cottages were spaced well, with each appointed with an outdoor table w/umbrella and chairs and a designated parking space. Cottage were spotless and beds were comfortable. Mini split ac/heating unit that kept us cozy, as we were there the last weekend in October. The campus has an outdoor pool, kayaks, row boats, bocce and croquet. Did I mention the view? Spectacular sunrise and view of the Ogunquit river and ocean beyond. We were staying 2 nights so we had a cottage with two connecting bedrooms that shared a foyer with a large counter/sink in front of a full bathroom with a door. Perfect for the 3 of us as we all had our own bed. We will go for a cottage with screened porch and fireplace next year. Loved it!

Date of stay: October 2019
1  Thank PastelPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews