We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rockmere Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Gorges Grant Hotel(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Rose Suites(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
US$140
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Terrace by the Sea(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marginal Way House(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
US$158
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meadowmere Resort(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Motel(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dunes on the Waterfront(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
US$164
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (765)
Filter reviews
765 results
Traveller rating
653
65
13
10
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
653
65
13
10
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanna mariemarginal wayperkins covethird floorplace settingsother guestsgreat conversationold victorianocean viewget awayeach morningdelicious breakfastfront porchlook forwardgracious hostsbed and breakfastrelaxing weekend
Filter
Updating list...
360 - 365 of 765 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I can't say enough good things about our recent visit to Rockmere Lodge. We chose the first weekend of Christmas by the Sea. Besides enjoying daily meals of clam chowder and 'lobstah', we browsed the shops and strolled the marginal way by day and relaxed in the charming living room at the inn each evening....with Christmas music and a warm welcoming fire. Andy and Doug were the perfect hosts, providing us with entertaining stories about the inn to go along with the amazing breakfasts served each morning. Every room had a Christmas tree....ours tree was decorated to match our pink room on the 3rd floor where we could watch the sunrise over the ocean...spectacular! We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Third floor has 2 rooms with ocean views and a neat room between to just sit to read or watch the surfers who were there even in December
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SOX44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We've come to the Rockmere every December for the past 5 years to enjoy the Christmas Preludes in the area. We love that the owners always keep an eye out for us and save our favorite room for us each year. We take time each year to enjoy the tree that is decorated in our room and listen to the ocean waves...nothing more relaxing! We have plenty of laughs with Andy and Doug and their "kids" and look forward to our escape to Rockmere every year. I'm already wishing we were back there, and we just got home!

Room Tip: Our favorite room is the "Judy Lind" - #8 - private entrance and beautiful views!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Local_traveller917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We discovered this wonderful bed and breakfast several years ago while walking along the Marginal Way and wished we had found it sooner. It has the perfect location, only steps from the ocean and in walking distance to Perkins Cove, the Village and great restaurants. We've always stayed in the same room,the Annamarie, where you can see and hear the waves crashing on the rocks as well as experience the sunrise over the water. And every morning you get to enjoy a delicious breakfast prepared by Doug- homemade omlets, pancakes, and french toast in either the cozy dining area with its fireplace or on the porch during warmer months. Not to mention the hospitality and engaging conversation by the innkeepers, Andy, Doug and Bob who will pull up a chair and chat with you. Each room is individually decorated with love and care. The room is clean, the bed comfortable and the sheets and towels match the decor. We stayed there last week to celebrate our anniversary and can't wait to go back again in the spring. We feel like we're visiting old friends.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms face the ocean. Good descriptions available online.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MERL984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We are first-time visitors to Ogunquit, a quaint coastal town in southern Maine, where "off-season" means "too cold to swim." Our stay at Rockmere exceeded our expectations (which were high to begin with after reading so many wonderful reviews)!

Our hosts, Andy and Doug (we missed Bob, who was in Florida), were warm and welcoming, knowledgeable about Ogunquit and its surrounds, delightful story-tellers, well-versed in Ogunquit's history, lore, and cast of "colorful characters." The inn is a historic house, elegant and fabulously situated only steps away from the Marginal Way, a scenic, paved footpath beginning in Perkin's Cove near the harbor, and running for 1-¼ miles to the marvellous expanse of Ogunquit Beach.

Every room is clean, beautifully appointed, and affording a generous view of the landscape. We stayed in the "Drudy" on the third floor, which provided a spectacular view of the sea, moonrise and sunrise.

The house, built in 1899, exudes graceful Victorian charm from every corner.

Surely this inn attracts good cheer and good folk, for we stayed late into the evenings in the living room by the fire in merry cheer and laughter, trading stories with the other guests, and the rapport continued right through breakfast...
and breakfast was presented in a lovely fireplaced dining room (complete with roaring fire) and the food was creative, delicious and top-notch. The gardens and interior curios and bric-a-brac reflect the innkeepers' love of nature and animals, as well as remaining in keeping with the inn's Victorian character.

We loved every moment of our stay and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CherylMavrikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I hate to share this, since it was so sweet being nearly the only guests. But these guys are good, the house is beautiful, and Ogunquit in the off-season is a delight that you don't get to see during the high season. Sure, it's colder, the flowers are nearly gone from Marginal Way, but the waves and gulls are still there. Sure, a lot of shops are closed, but if you really want to shop you can go to the factory outlets on the way home. What's still there is peace and quiet.

We went up there Halloween weekend, escaping not just the everyday world but the Power Outage of October, 2011. We'd just had a harrowing outage experience, and it was beautiful to just NOT HAVE TO THINK ABOUT IT for a day.

Regarding the recent reviews... yes, the windows were dirty. Spotty, not terrific for photos as the view merited. We would have liked coffee available before breakfast, to sit up in the Lookout with -- that might have been available if we'd rung and asked. It'd be nice to have that offered as part of check-in. These are the only downsides I can speak of, and the only reason they didn't get a perfect 5. The host was delightful (only Doug was around, but of course it was only the two of us and a friend or sister? of his). Breakfast was fine, nicely cooked, and not too fancy but good (pancakes, sausage, yoghurt and fruit) and just the right size portions (I am not a fan of BnB food that is too exotic and I like savory non-sweet breakfasts, so this was great!). The bed was very comfortable. The rest of the room was also, with plenty of seating for the two of us.

We stayed in the Anna-Marie room. Off-season price for any room was $135. (IMO they should be a little lower for the smaller room, or if you go up as a single, or go mid-week during the off-season non-special weeks. That would get me to visit more and might get them some more off-season traffic, if they want that.) We looked at all the rooms on the second floor. We spent our pre-breakfast time up in the lookout area, which is a nice feature. We will go again.

Room Tip: I really liked our room. Of the others on our floor, one was smaller, and one had only a speck of view of the ocean. Depends what you want. Decoration varies greatly. Look at the photos/descriptions on the site; they're very accurate.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaWeezel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews