We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Time at Rockmere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rockmere Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rockmere Lodge
Ranked #14 of 27 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Woodstock, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Time at Rockmere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

You feel welcome the second you walk in the door. You will be treated like family, we thoroughly enjoyed our host's and our daily visitor Uncle Phil. It was hard to leave breakfast every morning (awesome breakfast- thanks Doug) because the company was so wonderful.

Lots of great places to see in Maine - this is great spot to start..

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    62
    13
    8
    22
See reviews for
39
467
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

I can't say enough good things about our recent visit to Rockmere Lodge. We chose the first weekend of Christmas by the Sea. Besides enjoying daily meals of clam chowder and 'lobstah', we browsed the shops and strolled the marginal way by day and relaxed in the charming living room at the inn each evening....with Christmas music and a warm welcoming fire. Andy and Doug were the perfect hosts, providing us with entertaining stories about the inn to go along with the amazing breakfasts served each morning. Every room had a Christmas tree....ours tree was decorated to match our pink room on the 3rd floor where we could watch the sunrise over the ocean...spectacular! We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Third floor has 2 rooms with ocean views and a neat room between to just sit to read or watch the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SOX44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

We've come to the Rockmere every December for the past 5 years to enjoy the Christmas Preludes in the area. We love that the owners always keep an eye out for us and save our favorite room for us each year. We take time each year to enjoy the tree that is decorated in our room and listen to the ocean waves...nothing more relaxing! We have plenty of laughs with Andy and Doug and their "kids" and look forward to our escape to Rockmere every year. I'm already wishing we were back there, and we just got home!

Room Tip: Our favorite room is the "Judy Lind" - #8 - private entrance and beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Local_traveller917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

We discovered this wonderful bed and breakfast several years ago while walking along the Marginal Way and wished we had found it sooner. It has the perfect location, only steps from the ocean and in walking distance to Perkins Cove, the Village and great restaurants. We've always stayed in the same room,the Annamarie, where you can see and hear the waves crashing on the rocks as well as experience the sunrise over the water. And every morning you get to enjoy a delicious breakfast prepared by Doug- homemade omlets, pancakes, and french toast in either the cozy dining area with its fireplace or on the porch during warmer months. Not to mention the hospitality and engaging conversation by the innkeepers, Andy, Doug and Bob who will pull up a chair and chat with you. Each room is individually decorated with love and care. The room is clean, the bed comfortable and the sheets and towels match the decor. We stayed there last week to celebrate our anniversary and can't wait to go back again in the spring. We feel like we're visiting old friends.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms face the ocean. Good descriptions available online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MERL984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

We are first-time visitors to Ogunquit, a quaint coastal town in southern Maine, where "off-season" means "too cold to swim." Our stay at Rockmere exceeded our expectations (which were high to begin with after reading so many wonderful reviews)!

Our hosts, Andy and Doug (we missed Bob, who was in Florida), were warm and welcoming, knowledgeable about Ogunquit and its surrounds, delightful story-tellers, well-versed in Ogunquit's history, lore, and cast of "colorful characters." The inn is a historic house, elegant and fabulously situated only steps away from the Marginal Way, a scenic, paved footpath beginning in Perkin's Cove near the harbor, and running for 1-¼ miles to the marvellous expanse of Ogunquit Beach.

Every room is clean, beautifully appointed, and affording a generous view of the landscape. We stayed in the "Drudy" on the third floor, which provided a spectacular view of the sea, moonrise and sunrise.

The house, built in 1899, exudes graceful Victorian charm from every corner.

Surely this inn attracts good cheer and good folk, for we stayed late into the evenings in the living room by the fire in merry cheer and laughter, trading stories with the other guests, and the rapport continued right through breakfast...
and breakfast was presented in a lovely fireplaced dining room (complete with roaring fire) and the food was creative, delicious and top-notch. The gardens and interior curios and bric-a-brac reflect the innkeepers' love of nature and animals, as well as remaining in keeping with the inn's Victorian character.

We loved every moment of our stay and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CherylMavrikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.6 km away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#13 of 37 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
1.8 km away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#5 of 37 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.5 km away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#6 of 37 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Puffin Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.6 km away
Hartwell House Inn
Hartwell House Inn
#5 of 27 in Ogunquit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.5 km away
The Trellis House
The Trellis House
#1 of 27 in Ogunquit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockmere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockmere Lodge

Property: Rockmere Lodge
Address: 150 Stearns Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-4007
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian shingle-style B&B, midpoint on the Marginal Way, built in 1899 and restored to its formal glory with antiques and all the comforts you expect. From our Full Breakfast served on our front-porch over-looking the ocean or in our formal dining room, to the panoramic view from our third floor "lookout room," relax, make new friends, read, nap or whatever you choose. Easy walk to town and Perkins Cove via the Marginal Way. Come see how they used to live in Ogunquit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rockmere Hotel Ogunquit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing