We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yearly Visit”

Holly and Doug's Country Diner
Cuisines: American
Description: Opened July 2010
Restaurant details
Description: Opened July 2010
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Great old fashioned diner food. Only been for breakfast, my crew and I have two meals here each August since My Cousin's Place closed(sad day indeed).
The muffins in thirds are the grill are perfect and so is the hash. Everything is fresh and cooked to order except the oatmeal that could be used to caulk a canoe. The staff never changes and that is part of the beauty. If you are passing through, grab a bite, you'll be pleased.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank PaoloStatiUniti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2016

Can't say I was impressed with the food. I ordered baked fish with corn on the cob. The corn was soggy; the fish was a little dry but the rice pilaf was very good. One friend had a breakfast meal & was satisfied & the portion was generous another had the lobster roll which was also quite good. Pricing was very reasonable; room was spacious & I was offered another vegetable. If I were to go again, I'd stick to the breakfast menu

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016

The hours they are open are early Wednesday through Sunday and close around 2:00 PM. The food is good, honest food with no delusions of grandeur. A steak is as steak. Mushrooms and onions in a reduction sauce will not be found here. Breakfast plates are loaded with fresh fare. Choice is plentiful.locally made pastries are a must to try. The staff is very friendly.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank mystuffpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

I had the "seafood " chowder and chicken-fried steak. The only seafood in the chowder was that fake crab stuff you buy in the grocery store and it was room temp. The "cubed steak" wasn't too bad but it wasn't cubed - more like lightly pounded. Seemed to be round steak. Good flavor but not very tender as you would expect for this dish. The mashed potatoes were great and my wife's open-face turkey was wonderful. Beware - the "squash" is butternut and not yellow squash. Yuck (unless you like butternut squash). Great service and very reasonable prices. I would go again.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Maine-e-yak_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

This is an excellent out of the way find, open 6-3 Wednesday to Sunday. Of the " Mom and Pop" variety. Lots of home made items and generous portions, a local favorite. Home made bread and an excellent chowder.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank JamesR5435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holly and Doug's Country Diner also viewed

 
Norridgewock, ME

Been to Holly and Doug's Country Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing