We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveller rating
290
12
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
290
12
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south twin lake boat ride great hosts the eagle's nest jacuzzi tub baxter state park breakfast was delicious rocking chairs bald eagles lake view provided maps mt katahdin golden road stayed longer incredible views sweet dog natural beauty
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 307 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed 3 night stay with rustic chic accommodations and incredible views of Katahdin from every suite. A great place to stay if visiting Baxter State Park.
- spacious suites with double jetted tub in private bath
- bountiful breakfast prepared and served by the owner
- owners very knowledgeable of the area and very hospitable in sharing their experiences, expertise and maps
- would highly recommend

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

This was our first visit to the Katahdin region for snowmobiling and our choice of 5Lakes could not have been a better one. Rick and Debbie are fabulous hosts. Rick invited us to join him and Debbie on a group ride the following day which was fabulous. No one knows the trails better than Rick does. And the following day when my snowmobile broke down , Rick hooked us up with Mike the local mechanic who got us up and running so we could ride the next day with no time lost. They both have a wealth of knowledge about the area and are more than happy to share it. The breakfasts were delicious and picture perfect and the rooms immaculate. And their dog Samantha was the icing on the cake. We will definitely be back.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

We just returned from a wonderful four night stay at 5 lakes lodge. The room was very clean and had a phenomenal view of Mt. Katahdin. Rick and Debbie were great hosts. The daily made-to-order breakfast was delicious and extremely filling (always more than I could eat). Rick shared his extensive snowmobiling trail knowledge with us to make sure our daily rides were as enjoyable as possible. Last but not least, Sammie the dog was very sweet and inviting. We are already looking forward to our next stay!

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

I think 5 Lakes Lodge is the best place to stay while exploring Baxter State Park. Granted it is a drive to get everywhere in the park, but this lodge on the water in Millinocket is great. We stayed for five nights and couldn't have been happier with the accommodations and the hosts and the amazing views of the lake and the sunsets. The rooms are beautifully furnished with amazing bathrooms and views. The breakfasts are wonderful and more than filling to start your days of hiking in and around Baxter. One night the hosts took us out on a party boat to explore the lake and see the eagles dive and catch fish. Perfect.

I really can't find anything to not like about 5 Lakes Lodge. There are no restaurants really convenient to the lodge, but everything in Baxter State Park is remote...which is part of the charm.

One thing to remember if you are planning to hike Katadhin or park anyplace in the park is that you need to get a parking pass in advance and you need to use it by 7 am or you forfeit it.

I look forward to staying there again and exploring Baxter State Park more...plus the hosts provide great advice on hiking trails.

Room tip: All rooms have great views.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Junebughiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

This was our third visit to 5 Lakes Lodge. We keep coming back because we are never disappointed. Debbie and Rick are great hosts - great breakfasts and an encyclopedic knowledge of the wilderness that is at their doorstep. The rooms are upscale and have a view of the Katahdin range that is simply awesome. If you want to enjoy modern amenities and take in some of the wildest terrain east of the Mississippi, this is the place to stay. My son calls the area "Little Alaska". Sit and take in the view, canoe, raft the rapids, hike, look for wildlife, or snowmobile, it is all just outside the door. I couldn't give a higher recommendation.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews