We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in Time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Herbert Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Herbert Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kingfield
Danvers, MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Back in Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

My preference for lodging is a historical inn or bed and breakfast but rarely can I afford to stay in one but no worry about the pocketbook here at the Herbert. I was a guest at a wedding at a farm located in Kingsfield, Maine where the Herbert Grand is located. This venue was chosen for out of town guest for the proximity to the farm plus a welcome reception of held at the hotel on Friday night. Traditionally the Herbert does host a happy hour for guest on Friday nights; the wedding's after rehersal dinner was held in the lobby and a function room directly off the lobby.


The hotel is located in the center of Kingfield which is a small Maine town but you will find an affordable restaurant, Longfellow's across the street and so lovely stores all around. If you want luxury, this hotel is definite not for you but a trip back in time and an extremely friendly staff makes this hotel a great value

Room Tip: request a suite when travelling with a family or for a girls weekend...they were the best decorated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingersnap000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    54
    18
    23
    23
See reviews for
35
76
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, VT
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

The Herbert Grand is a wonderful old building. The veranda is a great spot to sit and relax. Our stay was very comfortable. This is not a luxurious hotel, but if you appreciate historical buildings, you will love it here. Note that there is no elevator.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank realvtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, B.C.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Never having been to Kingfileld before, we came upon this hotel on Main Street and for some reason we were drawn to the characteristics of this particular hotel from the outside. Upon entering, we realized the history in this building and how inviting it looked. Our front desk clerk was exceptionally friendly and helpful and soon we realized that she had a personal attachment with this hotel as it was her son that owned it. We felt very much at home and enjoyed talking about the history of this place. I would recommend this place in a heartbeat as being business/hotel owners ourselves, we realize the pride and joy that radiates in this hotel as it was evident from the moment we walked through the front doors. We wish the propriators much success in their venture!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weezie04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

An affordable historic hotel just 15 miles from Sugarloaf USA, the Herbert Grand is a very cozy way to rest up before for your day of skiing and riding on the mountain. Ms. Dawn, the proprietor's mother is wonderful and welcoming. She she's often on staff to greet and check in guests. The hotel has a roomy yet cozy lobby with a well lit fire during the winter months where guests can sit and have a drink. The hotel also has serves a limited selection of bottled beers. The rooms are quaint and cozy with jacuzzi tubs in most rooms. A continental breakfast (bagels, cream cheese, oatmeal, juice, coffee, and whole fruit) is served in the mornings which is excellent for skiers and riders. My favorite part of the hotel by far is the an antique feel and the old inside telephone booths the owner has converted into a kind of art installation pieces containing memorabilia.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalyxaMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Maine
Level Contributor
88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

We stayed at the Herbert as a last minute overnight trip to the mountain for skiing & riding. The Herbert is only a short 15 minute straight shot to Sugarloaf making it quite convenient if your not staying mountain side. Dawn was extremely helpful with our arrangements and getting us the best possible deal/rate.

Although the Herbert is outdated (renovations/updates are moving forward), it has a charm that can not be replaced by today's standards. They just don't build them like this anymore.

The staff is friendly and the complementary breakfast has fresh home made breads which we just loved! We will stay again on our next trek north and can not wait to see how the new owners progress with renovations. This is a family owned hotel, not a chain so these things take time.

Room Tip: Speak to the hotel directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingfield
16.1 km away
Sugarloaf Mountain Hotel
Sugarloaf Mountain Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carrabassett Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
38.3 km away
The Rangeley Inn
The Rangeley Inn
#1 of 3 in Rangeley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
37.7 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Wilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 km away
Bingham Motor Inn & Sports Complex
29.3 km away
Spillover Motel
Spillover Motel
#1 of 3 in Stratton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
18.0 km away
Nestlewood Inn
Nestlewood Inn
#1 of 1 in Carrabassett Valley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herbert Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herbert Grand Hotel

Property: Herbert Grand Hotel
Address: 246 Main St, PO Box 67, Kingfield, ME 04947-4243
Region: United States > Maine > Kingfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kingfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Herbert Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the ambience of this 1918 hotel,with the original fumed oak woodwork in the lobby , terrazo floors and the veranda. Enjoy the Western Mountains of Maine in all seasons. Although 89 years have seen many changes, "The Herbert" has not lost the feel and appearance of "Grand Hotel". So take the time to stop and smell the roses as you step back in time in this 1918 hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Herbert Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Herbert Grand
Herbert Grand Kingfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing