We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay in a lovely town and are.”
Review of Rhumb Line Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rhumb Line Resort
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Reviewed 17 November 2017

Rooms were a good size and we had a balcony overlooking the pool. We went in October and the outdoor pool and hot tub were still open - the latter lovely to sit in and relax after a day of travel and walking.The indoor pool and hot tub also good. there is a gym but we didn't use this. Room had a good en suite facilities and there was a fridge.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was continental style and plenty of it. Kennebunkport is a lovely stop off when touring New England and this hotel was reasonably priced and well located.

Room Tip: Upper floors seemed to have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBull, Manager at Rhumb Line Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post this positive comment. We appreciate your kind words and hope we see you again on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2017

We stayed there because we needed teo rooms and had not planned our trip. This was the only place that had two rooms available. Old, musty, and gross!!!
The rooms are old, I didn't take my socks off as the carpet looked gross. The bathroom ceiling was falling apart. And their free breakfast was a joke. Still pretty pricey and I wish we had planned our trip so we would have stayed somewhere more enjoyable. This was an old school motel 6.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank OC2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

After 2 weeks in Boothbay Harbor we decided to see Kennebunkport for 3 days on the way home. Picked this place based mostly on price. The room was adequate, the wifi was poor to nonexistent in our room, bathroom was small, maid service was less than expected and free continental breakfast was so forgettable that we ate breakfast out. The tables weren't even wiped for crumbs. Because our wifi in the room was nonexistent most of the time I often sat in the lobby for wifi access, I witnessed remarkable differences in the way arriving guests were treated by the same desk personne'

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank leccvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBull, Manager at Rhumb Line Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay, or at least that's what it sounds like. I truly believe our rooms are comfortable, not your spa-type bathroom like the newer hotels, but how much time does one spend in the bathroom??? We did add an additional antenna to help with the scope of area for wi-fi as our buildings are spread out. I don't understand your comment about maid service. That one puzzles me. A continental style breakfast usually consists of a baked offering, muffin, bagel, toast, with coffee or tea. Our offering includes cereals, fruit cocktail, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, danish, juices, oatmeal, a variety of breads, and French sticks and more. We always give suggestions should someone prefer a hot breakfast which happens as well. Because it's buffet style, our guests generally take care of cleaning up after themselves which is standard at most places that offer this type of meal. Because we have so many guests who return each year, the check in may sound different but its's because they already know our procedure. I hope this helps.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

I stayed here with my husband for a couple of nights on our honeymoon. We were on a road trip around New England and as soon as we arrived here we were glad that we had booked. The reception staff were very friendly and welcoming and told us a few helpful tips about the area as well as all we needed to know about the facilities at the motel.

Our room was delightful. Slightly quirky and kitsch but perfectly up-to-date, with a fridge and coffee maker as well as all the other things you'd expect. We were also really delighted to discover that we had a private balcony (all rooms on the upper floor do) which overlooked the wonderful outdoor pool, hot tub and pool bar (although the bar was closed during our stay)

There is also a great indoor pool and hot-tub, an ice machine and a large dining hall that serves up a simple but very satisfying continental style breakfast in the mornings (pastries, cereal, muffins, coffee, juice etc)

The motel is set back from the road and surrounded by woods so feels like a proper escape and is very reasonably priced. We would definitely recommend this motel to our friends and would certainly book again the next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the upper floor for a private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBull, Manager at Rhumb Line Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to comment. We are so grateful for your positive write-up. We serve thousands of people all year long who love our place but never mention it. Your kind words are very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed the weekend and did not expect the Ritz but this was not a place we would return to. Rugs were all stained and gross. Beds were hard a a rock and people smoking out side there room and it comes right in your room. We love Kennebunkport but next time we will find something nicer.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBull, Manager at Rhumb Line Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. I'm sure the "outside smokers" were staying close to their decks with all the rain we had on Sunday. We have been close to or nearly full all summer with many return guests who love coming to the Rhumb Line. If we're not your cup of tea, that's fine. We wish you pleasant travels and fun vacations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
2.1 km away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
675 reviews
10.7 km away
Hampton Inn Kennebunk Kennebunkport
1.9 km away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
5.8 km away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
262 reviews
2.2 km away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhumb Line Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhumb Line Resort

Address: 41 Turbats Creek Rd, Ocean Avenue, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6502
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range: €83 - €178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rhumb Line Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennebunkport's Affordable Resort and only resort with indoor & outdoor heated pools, hot tubs and fitness center. Deluxe accommodations in a quiet wooded setting, short walk to ocean. On Ocean Ave, 1 mile to Walker's Point. Rooms with 2 queens or 1 king, AC/Heat, CCTV, mini fridge, coffee maker, deck or patio. Rooms include Continental Breakfast. On the Trolley Route. Kids 16 & Under Stay Free. Groups Welcome. Open Year Round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Rhumb Line Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhumb Line Hotel Kennebunkport
Rhumb Line Resort Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing