We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A New England Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of White Barn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Barn Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A New England Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

I can't say enough about the exceptional service, accommodations, spa and dining at the White Barn Inn. My boyfriend and I visited for the first time in February 2012 and our expectations were surpassed in every regard. Chef Jonathan Cartwright's restaurant at the Inn could easily rival NYC's finest (I would highly recommend the lobster bisque and the flourless chocolate cake). Though nestled in what feels like a cozy New England home, the spa is also outstanding...a state of the art facility where you can really feel pampered. I have already recommended the WBI to friends and hope to visit again this summer!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    52
    34
    16
    19
See reviews for
21
207
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Ann, MA
Level Contributor
129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

The White Barn Inn is just about perfect and well-deserving of it ratings and membership in Relais & Chateau. Even the lowest priced rooms are comfortable and beautifully appointed. The service is excellent without being obtrusive. The dinners are truly remarkable and perfect for a special occasion. The location is also perfect for meandering around Kennebunkport and environs. And no, we did not see George and Barbara. :)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulZCapeAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

My girlfriend and I spent a weekend this May (2011) at the White Barn Inn and were lucky enough to stay in their waterfront cottages. We stayed in Gull Cottage and it was fantastic, tucked away down a private road overlooking the Kennebunk River. The view was unbelievable and although the weather was amazing when we visited, the wood burning fireplace in the room must be truly decadent in the Winter or Autumn months. There is a small bathroom and kitchenette in the cottage which is ideal and doesn't detract away from the rustic elegance of the cottage. The cottages are just down the hill from the White Barn Inn itself, which is perfect for privacy and also puts us closer to the charming town of Kennebunkport. The restaurant was unbelievable, as was the delightful afternoon tea selection. After the weekend all we could say was how nice all the staff were and how much we want to go back next summer.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sterling_Lobsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Excellent service and accommodations. We asked for dining advice since the barns restaurant was closed during our stay. The advice we received was not accurate and consequently we were very out of place at dinner. Other than that it was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ntraveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hahnstätten
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Stayed in a Junior Suite in the main Inn. The room is very luxurious and has everything you can wish for. The bed is very comfortable. The bathroom is beautifully designed and has a Jacuzzi for two and a large seperate walk in rain shower. The room features a doublesided gas fireplace which allows you to enjoy the fire in the room as well as the bathroom. Dinner at the restaurant is "must". It is a 4 course prix fixed menu, but you are able to choose between different options on each course. Dinner is expensive but it is worth it. The Inn is the perfect setting for romantic days at the beautiful coast of Maine.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 20Dream12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
0.5 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
7.4 km away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.5 km away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.6 km away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.9 km away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#13 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Barn Inn

Property: White Barn Inn
Address: 37 Beach Ave, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:4 star — White Barn Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennebunkport--jewel in the crown of the Maine Coastline, perfect for your own ideal stay. The White Barn Inn (a member of the prestigious Relais et Chateaux) offers sumptuous guestrooms that boast true luxury and comfort. Surrender to our full spa experiences... energize and beautify as our Spa Director creates your personal revitalization. And experience the only AAA 5-Diamond, Forbes 5-Star restaurant north of New York City. The setting is unique, encompassing two restored barns from the 1820's. Here savor the rich flavors of New England and coastal Maine. Your White Barn Inn experience will bring everlasting, fine memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your White Barn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Barn Hotel Kennebunk
Maine White Barn Inn
The White Barn Inn Kennebunkport Me

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing