We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of our New England road trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bufflehead Cove Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“The best of our New England road trip”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Not much to add to the reviews to be honest. We stayed at the Bufflehead Cove Inn at the same time as many of the recent reviewers (I can tell because they all mention the terrible weather!) and can only go along with their comments.
My wife and I did a 2 week roadtrip around New England and can honestly say that this was the best B&B we stayed at (close runner up Captain Farris Inn at South Yarmouth if you're interested).
You feel so at home as soon as you enter the wonderful house which is fully of antiques and curios, the garden is beautiful it's just a shame the weather was so bad as we didn't have a chance to experience it, or even the small balcony we had.
Breakfast was great (in an American sort of way!) and plenty of it, plus by all being seated around a large table it's a great way to get to meet your fellow guests and pick up tips and advice about where to visit.
We stayed in the River Room which is small but other reviews have already stated it so I knew what we were in for - it's not a problem as it's laid out very well and is extremely cosy but the bathroom is very small, it was a case of one in, one out so if you're a little on the large size do not consider this room!
Harriet and Erin make you feel right at home without being obtrusive, hopefully we will return one day when the sun is shining!

Room Tip: River Room is beautiful and a great view of the river but a definitely on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pressure_Drop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Thanks so much for your positive review of your visit with us. I loved the comment..." in an American sort of way..." about our breakfast. I have been to England so know that your breakfasts are minus the sweet stuff we do here. I love the English breakfast!
I hope you found some sunshine along the way on your trip. Harriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
389
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Wonderful place. Wondrful rooms. Wonderful staff. We will go back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guidford, England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

There's not a lot more to say. All the excellent reviews below are right. Stayed in the River Cottage for 5 days at the beginning of October and although it rained hard for several days, it didn't seem to matter. The lovely Cottage was in a beautiful location to spend time just relaxing waiting for the rain to stop. The Inn's website is one of the best we've seen and totally accurate. Lots of good restaurants in the area inc Cape Arundel Hotel for an upmarket meal and where George Bush Snr and Barbara were dining when we were there.

Room Tip: River Cottage is 100 yards from Inn and also has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAYJAYDEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

My wife and I recently spent three nights at Bufflehead Cove during a recent vacation in the USA. Wonderful Inn and hospitality provided by Harriet, Erin, Rochelle and all the entire staff. We could not have asked for more despite two days of rain. We arrived to a warm welcome and delicious Apple Cider and cheese :-). We stayed in the Cove Room. Comfortable, quiet room, great for those chilly evenings in the Fall. Very comfortable bed, large bathroom and a separate sitting area where we could enjoy the gas fire. On our second night, we arrived back from a day in the rain to chocolate dipped strawberries on our bed; a lovely touch.

We arrived on our wedding anniversary and Harriet had earlier recommended dinner at Joshua's in Wells and had kindly organised a taxi for us. Wow, we couldn't have asked for a better recommendation, fantastic evening and wonderful food.

Breakfasts were scrumcious each morning, especially the blueberry pancakes and poached pears; both of which were to die for. It was just a shame that the weather wasn't better to allow us to enjoy breakfast on the Porch, enjoying the views of the river.

All in all a fabulous few days and a lovely family! Definitely on our to stay again list.....

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Just a short getaway at Bufflehead Cove Inn, but one we plan on repeating. While quite close to busy Kennebunkport, the location is quiet and relaxing. Both the public rooms and the guest rooms are tastefully decorated -- comfortable without the fussiness often found in B&Bs. Super breadfast and hosts that couldn't have been more accommodating. We especially appreciated their recommendation of Joshua's Restaurant in Wells, which was outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Covesiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
0.7 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
292 reviews
1.2 km away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
2.5 km away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 14 in Kennebunk
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,689 reviews
0.9 km away
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
#4 of 26 in Kennebunkport
820 reviews
0.5 km away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bufflehead Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bufflehead Cove Inn

Property: Bufflehead Cove Inn
Address: 20 Bufflehead Cove Ln, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7762
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bufflehead Cove Inn is Kennebunkport Maine lodging at its best. Visit this intimate Bed and Breakfast in Kennebunkport Maine today to experience the serenity and seclusion of waterfront lodging. Secluded and private, the Bufflehead Cove Inn is the perfect destination for summer vacations, rejuvenating weekend getaways, or simply a trip to get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bufflehead Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bufflehead Cove Hotel Kennebunk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing