We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Anniversary Getaway”
Review of Waldo Emerson Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waldo Emerson Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My husband and I just returned from our trip to Maine, where we celebrated our first year wedding anniversary. We spent the first night of our trip at the Waldo Emerson Inn in the Ralph's Library room. The room itself was cozy and was nicely decorated, fitting in nicely with the rest of the inn. Although, it was located on the first floor, and right next to the kitchen, so it was a bit noisy. We could hear the squeaky floorboards from the rooms above (although, this is to be expected in an inn as old as this one!), and could hear commotion taking place in the kitchen. We could also hear people out on the lawn, as our window looked right out to the lawn chairs. Although, this will probably not be a problem from here on out, as it was only an issue for us as we had our windows open since the AC units had not yet been installed. The noise was not an issue for us and does not change my opinion of this inn. I just note it as it may be an issue for some people. I think that we will probably try to stay in a second floor room next time anyway, as the rooms there are a bit more spacious. Besides that, the food was fantastic, the innkeepers were very helpful and friendly, and the inn itself was lovely and full of history.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JNDoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 106 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2012

This B&B is a gem! My husband and I stayed at the inn for a weekend getaway in April 2012 and we could not have asked for a better experience. The innkeepers were knowledgeable (they gave excellent restaurant suggestions), kind, and told some great stories over breakfast! We loved our new friend, Waldo the dog, too! The inn itself is in a quiet area, but is just minutes from downtown Kennebunkport - a perfect location for a romantic weekend. We will definitely stay here again if we get the chance!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We love staying at bed and breakfasts! Each has it's own personality and history, as do it's innkeepers. The Waldo Emerson Inn is romantic and cozy with it's fireplaced rooms and comfortable beds with lovely quilts and engaging innkeepers. We LOVE an escape from TV where we can enjoy each other and the quaint, antique decor and beautiful coastal Maine sights. John and Kathy are warm, interesting hosts and a wealth of information about the surrounding area. How can you not enjoy Waldo, who sweetly greets you with his toy, then goes back to his little bed? The breakfasts are sumptuous and fill you up until dinner time. You won't have to take time away from your shopping and sight seeing for lunch! We love to explore the coastline of Maine - the beaches, the rocks and ocean - and this is a perfect home base. We've been staying at B&B's for years, and this is the only place we've stayed more than once. We have stayed at another B&B in Kennebunk, but chose to return to this inn for it's warmth and quintessential New England charm. (Who needs or wants "chic" Soho in Kennebunk, Maine??!!) We have stayed in the Blue Room and Yellow Room and would definitely go back to the larger Blue Room because the bathroom in the Yellow Room is pretty tight. But, both bathrooms are well maintained with up to date facilities. If you want all modern amenities, you shouldn't be staying in an historic New England Inn! All in all, we choose B&B's for the history, relaxing comfort & ambience of the inn and innkeepers and, of course location! The Waldo Emerson Inn has it all!

Room Tip: This is a busy street, so rooms in the back of the inn are quieter, though this isn't an issue i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluemoon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

What a lovely place to spend Christmas weekend 2011. We were in town to visit with family over the holiday and were looking for a romantic get-a-way in the town where we were married this past summer. This is it. The hosts are knowledgable about the special piece of history they own and operate. We loved the initial historic tour-when we checked in --Ralph Waldo Emerson summered here. The owners are helpful, hospitable, and the B and B atmosphere they have created is romantic, authentic New England styled, and a unique place for rest and relaxation. We loved the fireplace in our room and the books (even Emerson's work). This is a special place, we are already trying to think about when we can go back, perhaps in February for my birthday!

Room Tip: We stayed in Blue Room; we loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sailboatbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

My wife and I had the privilege of staying at the Waldo Emerson Inn during the 2011 Christmas Prelude weekend, and we had such a wonderful experience that we have already reserved our room for the 2012 Prelude weekend! John and Kathy are such gracious hosts, and they are truly interesting to talk with. Breakfast was wonderful each day...homemade granola, Dutch pancakes, Belgian toast, fresh fruit...Maine blueberry juice, sausage, amazing! John and Kathy are great navigators as well, as they provided plenty of information to guide us seamlessly on our day trips to Portland, Kittery, York Beach, Freeport, Portsmouth, and Boston. Waldo is the third host of the Inn, their four-legged host! There were beautiful hardwoods, comfortable beds with amazingly soft linens and pillows, logs for the fireplace in our room, chocolates left on our dresser, and amazing Christmas decorations and the creature comforts of home! 5 STARS! Kennbunk and Kennbunkport have intriguing histories, and the homes are magnificent, especially the Waldo Emerson Inn! Please disregard Hawkeyemother's rant about not having a TV and not wanting to meet Waldo...a TV is available upon request for your room, and do you come to a New England inn to watch television anyway? The Inn's namesake and resident poodle is highly intelligent, friendly, and pure fun to play with! To negatively review a truly unique and historical inn, along with it's gracious, beaming hosts, who pull out all stops to ensure that your stay is memorable, for me as a Southerner, represents the epitome of rudeness. LONG LIVE THE WALDO EMERSON INN...5 STARS!

We will always stay here when in Maine, our newest annual Christmas tradition. God blessed us with new friends in Kathy and John, and your stay will be just as memorable. Thanks for providing the perfect, four-day weekend and a special memory to this Alabama couple.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hodgepodge1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
3.7 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
311 reviews
3.8 km away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
674 reviews
4.9 km away
Hampton Inn Kennebunk Kennebunkport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
3.1 km away
The Inn at English Meadows Bed and Breakfast
4.4 km away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#6 of 14 in Kennebunk
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldo Emerson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldo Emerson Inn

Address: 108 Summer St, Kennebunk, ME 04043-6620
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range: €128 - €207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waldo Emerson Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldo Emerson Inn is a colonial style inn listed on the National Register of Historic Places. A restored shipbuilder's manse located next to the Kennebunk river with all the latest amenities including working fireplaces for a relaxing romantic getaway. Let us pamper you with our terrific Dutch breakfast and afternoon tea in the Inn's historic parlor or in the shade of our large oak trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Waldo Emerson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldo Emerson Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing