We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ryan, Liam and Richard Bainbridge”
Review of Orwells

Orwells
Reserve with OpenTable
Orwells is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Shiplake
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$94
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located in Binfield Heath, near Henley on Thames, Orwells' Kitchen is headed up by Ryan and Liam Simpson-Trotman. The aim is to source the best produce available locally and prepare memorable dishes with no fuss to let the quality of the produce shine. Our Rural Cooking with a Modern Approach has established Orwells as a 4AA Rosette Restaurant, number 31 in the Waitrose Good Food Guide 2018 and Editors Restauarnt of the Year 2017. Orwells caters for everyone, offering an extensive choice from the A La carte menu, Lunch, Dinner menu and the Taste of Orwells menu. On Sundays Orwells is very popular for families and couples who enjoy the relaxed atmosphere and good food, in Summertime in the Garden overlooking the Oxfordshire countryside. We look forward to seeing you very soon
Reviewed 11 April 2018

What a great night. Our favourite chefs cooked with a Great British Menu (GBM) finalist and judge. We started with the GBM starter of "We All Stand For Jerusalem" a very tasty dish of Norfolk lamb with Jerusalem artichoke, truffle and sponge ( GBM 2015). Followed by Quail & Wild Garlic, delicious. Fish & Chips in curry sauce does not do this superb dish justice - its great. Hereford Beef was amazing. This was followed by GBM 2015 desert "Nanny Bush's Trifle" great Raspberry trifle. Great night, great food and great company. Thanks to the chefs and the front of house.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Brianheliman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018

We were warmly welcomed on arrival, and enjoyed our drinks in the comfortable chairs at the bar before our meal. As an accompaniment to our drinks, we were given a bowl of hot curried flavour popcorn, a most enjoyable appetiser. For our meal we chose the "Taster" menu, 6 courses giving a small portion of several of their specialities. There was such a variety of food, uniquely cooked and beautifully presented, it is difficult to describe. Among the delicacies we sampled was a selection of hot newly baked breads with honeyed butter, fresh Cornish crab, crispy chicken, curried fish with mini chips, marinaded, slow-cooked pork, melt in the mouth beef, and banoffee pudding with crisp glazed banana. To accompany the meal there is a huge selection of top quality wines, but as we had a drink beforehand and I was driving we just had a glass each. My wife had the Rose and I had Australian Shiraz, both very acceptable. I had mentioned it was my wife's birthday and she was presented with a plate with Happy Birthday elegantly written in chocolate, and pieces of Turkish Delight with a little birthday candle, a lovely and thoughtful gesture. Earlier we mentioned that many years ago when Orwells was a pub our daughter worked there as a student and our son-in-law was the sous-chef, and at the end of our meal Ryan, the chef, who is also one of the owners, very kindly came and spoke to us. All in all, this was a magnificent lunch and well worth the money. We are saving up for our next visit.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Adrian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orwrest, Manager at Orwells, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Adrian V

Thank you for taking the time out to write this glowing review.

Happy that you and your wife had an excellent time.

We can’t wait to welcome you back to Orwells.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Some years since last visit and it has definitely matured.
An early weekday lunch with choices from four different menus from£25 to £90. Our foursome stayed with the set lunch and whatever the choice it was beautifully presented and cooked.
Tip. The different menus arrive clipped together, make sure everyone knows what they are choosing from.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Homecountiex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orwrest, Owner at Orwells, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear bryan490

Thank you for the recent review.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Very friendly welcome, nice to have a settler at the bar without being rushed to the table.

Lovely warm bread and some very fresh radishes to dip into garlic mayo.

Starter of crab was delicious; our other starter of langoustines was very nice but a bit overpowered by the chicken stock accompaniment - no need for it; let the langoustines have all the glory.

Main course beef was very tasty but they didn't seem overly keen on cooking it past medium rare (my wife wanted medium well). Curried cod was excellent and very creative.

Dessert of panna cotta and rhubarb was fantastic.

Only gripe was the ridiculous mark up on the wine . I know all fine dining restaurants do it but £42 for a Beaujoulis was taking liberties.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cymro-in-Reading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orwrest, Owner at Orwells, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Cymro-in-Reading

Thank you for taking the time out to leave us a review. Sorry to hear that a few of the food combinations did not agree with your palate.

In regards to the Beaujoulis you mentioned in regards to the price, we are not a restaurant who takes liberties with our customers. This wine is a Morgon, which is a higher end in the Beaujoulis style and priced in accordance with the price we purchase it at. There are a lot of wines below the £42 price mark and we want to offer a wide choice for all guest with all budgets.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Orwells.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

My wife and I ate here this weekend, we have not been for at least four years. Well, all I can say is that I am booked to go back in April. It is not cheap but it is not overly expensive, there is a nice bar seating area for drinks before the meal, the staff are very knowledgeable and the food was Michelin quality. They had a special Celeriac soup to star with and it was out of this world. The King Scallops were very cleverly cooked (Secret of Marmite) and the Venison is the best Venison I have ever had. My wife had the Brill and it was so light and tasty. The combination and intensity of the flavours is fantastic. The bread to start is home baked and the butter is served with honey and black salt? The fresh radishes as a amuse-bouche served with a light wild garlic mayonnaise is so tasty and fresh. The other free offering of the day was a Orwells ploughmans? A delightful bowl of smoke and cheese custard with pickled onion chutney lurking at the base and lovely light crispy onion crumbs sprinkled on top.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kim628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orwrest, Owner at Orwells, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Kim628

Happy to hear that your recent experience with us met all your expectations.

We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orwells also viewed

Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Lower Shiplake, Henley-on-Thames
 
Peppard Common, Henley-on-Thames
Stoke Row, Henley-on-Thames
 
Reading, Berkshire
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Orwells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing