We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
106
93
22
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
93
22
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bar harbor cookies acadia national park iced coffee front desk staff hot breakfast choice hotels blueberry waffles ll bean outlet convenient location breakfast was included short drive would stay again two nights pleasant stay many choices very nice hotel
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017

A pleasure to stay. I reserved it ahead of time and walked in before we checked in to get directions to the park. The receptionist gave us maps and everything we needed to know. Later, he advised us on where to find the best deli. Very happy w/service. The usual breakfast in a comfortable space. Corned beef hash browns were served the day we were there. It is a crockpot offering that rotates daily and is addition to the regular breakfast. Like the varigation on the metal rod by bathtub, which is easy to hold. Beautiful décor inside and out. Fireplace has a sitting area with chess on table and mints in bowl. Recommend this highly.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RetiredSecretary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eve Y, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Thank you for this very detailed and wonderful review! It gives us all great pleasure to read these nice comments and we truly appreciate you sharing your experience on trip advisor for so many of our future guests to see. Thanks again and we hope to see you next time you travel to our beautiful area.
Eve Young, owner and GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel. Very welcoming and very comfortable. Our dog Annie, gave it two paws up! Dog treats, potty bags, and a letter of welcome from resident mountain dog Izzy, are gifted at check in. Us human companions also found it very comfortable and clean. Excellent breakfast, fast WiFi, heat lamp in bathroom, fridge and microwave, supply all the comforts of home. It's so great to have a dog friendly hotel in Ellsworth. Thank you for a pleasant stay. We will be back.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank snog89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eve Y, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

This review brought a big smile to my face! Thank you very much for taking the time for reviewing us with such nice comments. I'm happy that you shared your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in town.
Eve Young, owner/GM and Izzy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

A very nice, clean, large room. Good location near many stores and restaurants. LL Bean Outlet right next store...you can walk there!
Complimentary breakfast available but the same as every other hotel in the chain.
We did not partake. Room was very comfortable. The reason I didn't give 5 stars was the bathroom design. Nice bathroom but be sure to close the door before you sit on the toilet (if you're going to sit). The toilet paper is hidden behind the door so if you didn't close the door you will have a hard time finding it. Also if sat without closing the door...too late. The door will hit your knees if you try to close it. It isn't really a small bathroom, just designed poorly. Jodi, at the front desk, was very courteous and helpful...especially with our wi-fi problems.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 2964mq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eve Y, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you for your very nice and detailed review! We certainly appreciate the feedback. Thank you also for mentioning Jodi, she is a true asset to our team. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for sharing your experience.
Eve Young, owner and GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

In the 10 years of travel Jody the receptionist at the Ellsworth Maine location is amongst the top 3. So naturally helpful and friendly. Choice Hotels should seriously consider retaining her services to model quality reception. Thanks Jody for making our stay so good.

Room tip: Write your message when you reserve or state it when you register. These people take the time to read and listen to your requests!
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GLT-LCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eve Y, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Thank you so much for such a nice review! Jody is a very valued member of our team and it pleases me to ready your words "naturally helpful and friendly". That is exactly what we want for customer service at the Ellsworth-Bar Harbor Comfort Inn. We are all very happy to hear that you are a regular guest and we certainly appreciate your review. Thank you again.
Eve Young, GM/owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

This was a very comfortable hotel to stay in. We came primarily to visit Bar Harbor and Acadia. The hotel was clean, though dated. Breakfast was very good. We had our two small dogs with us and it was a decent location with a small walking path behind the hotel for the dogs. One negative is that, with the repaving of Rt 3 going into Bar Harbor, you have to take the alternate route, and it takes like 40 minutes to get into Acadia and Bar Harbor. So I think if we came again, we'd check to see if the main route was still cut off, and if it was we might try to stay closer, maybe on MDI.

Room tip: Don't get a room at the end of the hall-- exterior doors are loud!
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lkuta13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eve Y, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a nice and detailed review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We completed our new renovations for the breakfast, lobby and public space just this spring and will be moving into our guest rooms beginning this fall. I can understand your frustration with the Rt 3 construction. I will just mention that Ellsworth rates are much better than those in Bar Harbor and you don't have a lot of choices for Pet Friendly hotels either. I hope you will take that into consideration and return to see us again and our new room renovations.
Eve Young, GM and owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews