We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Maine”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deer Isle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Ferry Landing
Ranked #3 of 6 Deer Isle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a wonderful place. Deer Isle is a special area, with beautiful scenery, interesting history, and many galleries displaying a variety of different art. The Inn is situated just south of Little Deer Isle and the bridge that connects Sedgwick, Maine to Deer Isle. The Inn building had various functions when the ferry operated, and after the bridge was completed in 1939, the building was turned into an Inn. The proprietors, Jean and Gerald Wheeler, are very interesting people--who have operated the Inn for nearly twenty years--and make guests feel at home and part of their extended family. Gerald Wheeler was a harpsichordist and pianist with the Montreal Orchestra, and Jean Wheeler is a photographer (and ski instructor in the winter months), and their home is filled with many books and other treasures. The breakfasts are delicious, and there are often lively conversations with other guests. Gerald often practices the piano (and sometimes the harpsichord), and guests can enjoy this special treat more than once. We have stayed at the Inn a number of times, and as a consequence, feel part of the Wheeler family. It is a very remarkable place. The Inn has a number of very comfortable rooms, from a commodious loft to other quarters with great views of the bridge spanning Eggemoggin Reach. There are a number of good restaurants on Deer Isle for dinner, and the old landmark Opera House in Stonington often has a movie or play, and there are concerts and lectures there as well and in other venues.

Room Tip: It depends how many people are in the party. Jean Wheeler is very helpful in directing guests to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

Beautiful spot where you will be hosted by two lovely people. Very much an experience of being their houseguests rather than lodgers... BUT they manage to do this without being intrusive. Don't look for nearby night life, or dining less than 30 minutes away, but this is an essential part of the experience of Deer Isle itself, and the Inn at Ferry Landing in particular. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BobnBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Wonderful and quaint! The keepers are both like your best friends. The breakfasts were unique and well worth the wait. Very unique and surprising inn. Gerald will sooth you with music and Jean will charm you with food.

Room Tip: The loft room is spacious--very different and comfortable looking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tobacalero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBWUsa, Owner at The Inn at Ferry Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your kind words ! We enjoy sharing this special place and the lives that have led us here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I can't say enough good things about The Inn At Ferry Landing. It is filled with room after room of collected treasures and each one has a story which Jean and Gerald were happy to share with us. The setting of the inn is unbelievably beautiful. We were treated like favorite family members. Jeans's food was fabulous and Gerald shared his beautiful piano music with us. We were treated to a peek into the boathouse where Jean was painting her boat to get ready for the season. This place and these Innkeepers were a pleasure from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. Five relaxing days in heaven on earth. Thank you Jean And Gerald.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBWUsa, Owner at The Inn at Ferry Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you, Carolyn, for your kind words. We feel it is heavenly here on the Eggemoggin Reach, and were so pleased to share it with you and Larry and your delightful friends all !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

What lodging for exploring Deer Isle. Jean welcomed us as a comfortable old friend as we meandered to the beach on Eggemoggin Reach and she was pulling in her dinghy. Inn at Ferry Landing is unpretentious and welcoming with the hosts available but unobtrusive. Their home is a treasure trove of family memorabilia awaiting the telling of a related story. Our suite was spacious and clean with a water view, especially appealing during the times we lingered there with weather rather uncooperative. Sumptuous breakfasts came with lively conversations with compatible guests, Jean chiming in as she could while serving us and Gerald at the table on his available mornings. As is noted on the website and in other reviews, Gerald is a very accomplished musician and on Sunday evening we were treated to a recital with our host on the harpsichord and piano, a flutist from Julliard and soprano soloist. Both hosts were ready to share their extensive knowledge of the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SallyWilmingtonDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Inn at Ferry Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Ferry Landing

Address: 77 Old Ferry Rd, Deer Isle, ME 04627-3330
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Deer Isle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Deer Isle
Price Range: €110 - €212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast by the Sea, in a lovingly restored 1840 farmhouse on the Eggemoggin Reach. Four unique guest rooms in the main house and a well-furnished, attached family cottage The Mooring. Professional musician and sailor/photographer owner-innkeepers. Peaceful setting, inspiring area, fishermen and artists in a 'real' Maine island community found in the writings of Robert McCloskey and John Steinbeck.... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing