We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Dining for Anniversary Dinner”
Review of Clay Hill Farm

Clay Hill Farm
Reserve with OpenTable
Clay Hill Farm is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Cape Neddick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$36
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Clay Hill Farm is the first restaurant in the country to be certified as a wildlife habitat and bird sanctuary. Nature trails, colorful garden paths, waterfalls and a picture-perfect pond accentuate the eleven private acres just two miles from Ogunquit Village. Voted #1 for weddings and romantic dining. With a passion for backyard growing and locally-sourced fare, Clay Hill Farm is committed to offering the true Maine experience, yer 'round. Clay Hill Farm is also a proud corporate sponsor of the Ogunquit Playhouse, and offers it's own blend of experiential, theatrical dining in the off-season- rounding out a commitment to arts in the community. Theatrical Dining performances include; POE: Tales of Fear & Suspense (Oct/Nov), Dinner with Dickens: A Christmas Carol-A New Musical Tale (Dec) and Robert Frost: Fire & Ice (Jan).
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

We had a delightful dining experience at Clay Hill Farm last night. A varied menu, my husband and I each tried the beef. I ordered the smaller portion Prime Rib while he ordered the Strip steak with Chimichiurri sauce. The Prime Rib was delicious, especially with the accompanying horseradish sauce, garlic potatoes and string beans. The meat was extremely tender. My husband’s Strip steak was also delicious, cooked well as he requested, black and blue, but he felt the Chimichurri lacked a little consistency. We started with Oysters on the half shell, which were mouth watering! Quite possibly the best I’ve ever tasted! We also ordered the fried pickles as an app, which were a bit chunky for our taste. We prefer the thinner sliced pickle chips we’ve ordered elsewhere. The setting here is gorgeous, and we will definitely return. Our waiter, Kelly, was a pro and guided us in our cocktail selections. We were not disappointed!
The menu suggests a wine pairing with each entree, of which we took advantage and enjoyed very much. All in all, this was a top notch dining experience from start to finish. Bon appetit!

Thank Patricia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Old school place. Food is very good. Nice cocktails to start. Staff is friendly. Good place for a steak. Consistently good. Have gone once a year for 3 years. Always good.

Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

We went for our 30th anniversary dinner and were disappointed. We had made reservations and told them it was our 30th and asked for a table near a window. They wouldn't promise anything. Fine.
The grounds are fairly nice, but the restaurant needs an overhaul. Old carpets that smell, the chairs were like office chairs. They had a singer out front, but it was too loud in the dining room.
The food was just ok. They really could have more imaginative offerings. I ordered some sparkling water and they brought out the Poland Springs Plastic bottle and put that on the table. The service was pretty good.

The kicker was at the end of the meal, a couple nearby was brought a nice dessert with a candle in it for their anniversary. We got nothing.

It just was not a nice enough place unfortunately....

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jkenney88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

We decided to try this restaurant because we value quality and fresh ingredients. However, we feel that this restaurant did not offer the quality expected for the price paid. Experience can be summarized as: lobster bisque was outstanding, cheesecake was excellent, duck, prime rib were good and the service was great, while the mashed potatoes and green beans were disappointing. Price paid was definitely too much for what was eaten and decor was dated (felt like the 80's).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank greensboro71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clayhillfarm, Owner at Clay Hill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Greensboro71- Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about a recent experience at Clay Hill Farm. When we read, "Lobster bisque was outstanding, cheesecake was excellent, duck, prime rib were good and the service was great"- we were pleased. However, we are sorry you found our mashed potatoes from scratch and green beans disappointing. Our decor has been updated repeatedly since the 80's- in fact, too many times to count- but with our history as a working farm built in 1780, and our hospitality style, we do keep the interior simple and reminiscent compared to places recently built. Thank you for your feedback. We do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

Delicious food and wonderful service! Lovely view of the garden from our table. We had the zucchini sticks as an appetizer- superb. Best Caesar salad I’ve ever had and Stuffed haddock for dinner that was scrumptious!

Thank Camper735162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clayhillfarm, Owner at Clay Hill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Oh, Julie L- Thank you, thank you, thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Clay Hill Farm with us. We couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your evening! We are so proud of our team, and your kind words mean the world to us all. We look forward to your return, and the chance to be at your service again soon. Much Gratitude!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clay Hill Farm also viewed

 
Cape Neddick, York
York Harbor, York
 

Been to Clay Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing