We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
201
87
19
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
87
19
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast yogurt screen door close to downtown away from the road pet friendly room wonderful homemade original house home baked ceiling fan few minutes walk would stay here again rooms were very clean comfortable bed night's sleep walking distance to town the location is perfect
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2018

Can walk to town, convenient! Room was clean and bed was comfortable. It is nothing fancy, a bit dated, but is a good value for the price. A continental breakfast was included with homemade muffins and banana bread and others, juices. I would suggest getting a room toward the end of the hotel and upstairs. I was on the ground floor and could here every step above, so noisy if you are in a middle to front room closer to the main street. Friendly staff as well!

Room Tip: upstairs toward the far end
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ColleenW797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katja H, Owner at The Towne Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your detailed feedback! We’re sorry to hear you had some noise issues in your room, but are happy that you enjoyed our location, cleanliness, the comfortable bed, and the overall value of your stay! You chose a single queen room, and all our single queens are on the ground floor, except for the cozy cottage style room, which is the same size and price as the single queens. We often tell our guests, when they choose a room, that our larger KIng rooms upstairs are only $15 more, and are newly remodeled. This coming spring we will get to renovate the smaller rooms, so check out the new photos sometime in late spring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

found this online and had a room for a saturday night and sunday night. This town is a popular place so the weekends are busy.
Location is close to town but it's on a slight hill and vehicles tend to accelerate up the hil creating a bit of road noise. this is on the main street of town (hiway 1)......we had the last room on bottom floor away from the street and it was still a bit noisy. room was nice enough bathroom was basic. this room is right next to the stairs for the upper rooms so there was quite a bit of noise on the busy saturday night, sundy was better. Staff is very nice and helpful. pricing was fair 149 for saturday 129 for sunday. Breakfast was sparse two muffins and fruit yougurt.....can't remember much more......no offense to the staff, as they did a great job, but probably wouldn't stay again unless on upper floor (we request lower floor our problem not theirs)......just a bit too noisy for us. again the staff were very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: easy walk into town from this location
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rick9cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katja H, Owner at The Towne Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your detailed review. We’re glad you were pleased with your interactions with us and our staff, and considered our rates to be fair. But we’re sorry about the noise issues you had. We almost never have anyone complain about street noise if they stay in rooms towards the back of the property, so maybe that Saturday was unusual, or perhaps you’re referring to noise you heard when sitting outside your room? As for the staircase, that too is unusual, since generally only the guests of three or four upstairs rooms use this staircase; the other guests use the front staircase. When other guests become too noisy, you can always call the front desk and we will talk to them. We’re glad to hear you had a quieter night on Sunday!
In general, the fourteen rooms in the Motel structure all face the parking lot, flowers, trees, and adjacent property, and therefore do not get direct street noise - unless you sit outside the room or leave the window open at night. Of course, these issues also depend on what you are used to and on your hearing...
We’re also sorry that our breakfast was a bit too sparse for you. We always serve at least two types of homebaked items, and I don’t remember a day when we served only muffins (nor would we restrict your portion to two muffins only). Muffins are often one of the options, usually paired with anything from homebaked bread, granola, coffee cake or breakfast bars,to baked oatmeal or quiche. In addition, we usually serve a large bowl of yogurt with fruit, and sometimes offer hard boiled eggs or granola bars. Our website explains this continental breakfast in some detail, and guests are always welcome to make special requests based on dietary needs or preferences. Our breakfast areas are limited in size, but we have some new ideas and will add another serving area next season, probably for cereal options and/ or toast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

Happy to have found this hotel on Trip Advisor for our trip through Maine. Hotel owner was very gracious and allowed us to check in early as my husband had a conference call before 3:00. Everything was immaculate and very comfortable. Chairs on the porch as well as in the yard behind the motel. A continental breakfast is served in the owner's quarters and most of the items were homemade and everything was delicious. Only a few blocks from downtown and the owner's suggestions for dinner were great! Definitely a great stay!

Room Tip: Rooms towards the rear will be quieter as they are further from the street.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pineislandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katja H, Owner at The Towne Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your five star review! And for appreciating your (slightly) early check in! We get a lot of requests for early check-ins, most of them not ahead of time but from guests arriving early - often three or four hours before check in time, which begins at 3 pm. Most are just checking whether their room is ready, but others are unpleasantly surprised to hear they would have to come back later because we are still in the middle of housekeeping. So, it is always a pleasure when someone appreciates an early check in as the exception rather than the norm.
We were also happy to hear you enjoyed your clean room, the outdoor seating options, and our homemade breakfast items! We love to bake, even more so when guests enjoy the results. And we’re glad you had a nice dinner in one of Camden’s many good restaurants! We hope to see you again sometime, if your travels bring you back into town. Thank you for taking the time to review us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

Three days ago I left Camden after spending several days as a guest while visiting with family. My brother and his son have been guests twice. Centrally located to the village and harbor, my room was immaculate and well tended to. I had a wonderful night's sleep each night. The owners are lovely and provide a delightful continental breakfast each morning. I'll return in December for Christmas cheer!

Room Tip: I prefer the second floor toward the end.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SusanMcGrawKeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

We have stayed here several times and like convenience (and the price). The rooms are clean (and the mattresses are the best ever!). Is it swanky? No, but we're only here to sleep and it's perfect for sleeping!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret-emily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews