We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$132
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Blu Kochi(Ernakulam)
US$104
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$46
US$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aiswarya Hotel(Ernakulam)(Great Value!)
US$30
US$23
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
US$60
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airport Mansion(Ernakulam)
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$12
Booking.com
View Deal
Alife Ayurvedam(Ernakulam)
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
13
28
20
10
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
28
20
10
11
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Stayed with friends, not spend much time in rooms. Check in process not much delay . focus more on the cleanliness f the bathroom. Service needs to be improved. rooms are good. very good break fast spred.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ansari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

This Hotel being on MG Road is a MIddle class Budget hotel with old and worn out facilities. Staff was helpful, though slow with the check in. Rooms are old, but spacious, only if you consider suits, but terribly worn down.
If you are looking for free WiFi, it's not good. works for less time and the signal does not reach out to rooms, sometimes even in the lobby. There is no such thing call "complimentary free WiFi" when you consider to stay here. It is chargeable. Password for every room is different and you need to explicitely ask for the same. They don't give it to you at the reception, neither mention the same within the room.
About food, Morning Buffet Breakfast are not so good. The Food Taste is okay considering local flavors should be very good.. You need to order any different dish of egg, except for boiled egg, which would be the part of the buffet display.
About facilities, Bathroom are antique and old. does not provide the aura of cleanliness. Hot water for taking bath is very very mild. You don't feel it is hot water. Drinking water, They do not provide water bottles and you need to purchase a bottle against payment of Rs. 37 (Rates may increase as time passes) for water bottles, popularly Golden Valley is what they give. Room service is fine, but they can't help much if the infrastructure is old and not well maintained.

Just before I close this review, There is a sense of the hotel staff's total lack of interest to solve a problems, bigger problems, like shabby bathrooms and No free WiFi , but everyone expects to have some form of humbleness from the employees of the hotel when addressing a problem.

Room Tip: Take it seriously, Rooms in other hotels are seriously better... Choose this, when alll other options are closed for you, "Last Resort"!
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maddy7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Hotel rooms are not good (delux AC rooms), hotel staff response after 7 pm and before 9 am in morning is very poor, do not give water bottle have to purchase a bottle against payment of Rs. 37 for local made water bottle named as Golden Valley, WiFi you will get irritated and stop using yourself, do not provide Iron box facility in room you have to pay Rs. 30 per shirt for Ironing. Front desk manager good in words but poor in services.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABHINANDAN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

This Hotel on the MG Road is a MIddle class Budget hotel with very good facilities.....Morning Buffet Breakfast and the rooms are also very good....... The Food Taste with the local flavors is very good..... The rooms are best for a couple stay......

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pradeep P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Checked in here after a 24 hour Boat trip in the backwaters of Kerala. Staff was helpful, though slow with the check in, and from here, it went downhill fast. Rooms were spacious, but terribly worn down (see attached pictures from the bathroom), power stopped working in the the entire floor, internet were charged by the hour (though it did not work) and they forgot to book our taxi the next morning.

When asking about the internet, which was crucial for planning/booking our onward journey, they said that it was chargeable and that we could buy a password in the reception (even though it said on our booking that this was included). The manager said we could have two hours complimentary free WiFi which did not work in our rooms. We went down to the lobby to try it there, but still no luck. After a fair bit of arguing, they got us some passwords that worked, but even though we managed to connect to the WiFi, the internet was not working. We asked them once more to fix it, but they never managed.
As we could not wait any longer with our bookings, we went out looking for an internet cafe, and luckily found a small hotel on the other side of the road, who lent us their WiFi for free (we thanked them by having dinner in their restaurant, which was really good and cheap).

When coming back to "The Manor", the internet was still not working, but at least they should manage to book us a taxi the next morning at 6 am sharp.

When going down to check out early next morning about 5:50 (after a sleepless night with lots of noise and arguing from the hallway), we found the night manager sleeping on the couch in the Lobby. and of course no taxi was booked. He got on the phone, and the taxi arrived about a quarter past six, so we made our flight with time to spare. Of course, they did not apologize for either the missing taxi, or the faulty network. We actually felt they were blaming us for it.


Just to end with a disclaimer: Of the 40+ hotels I have reviewed on TripAdvisor in Europe and Asia, this is the first I give a "Terrible" rating. This is mostly because of the staff's total lack of interest to solve a problem. I have had bigger problems than shabby bathrooms, missing WiFi and a forgotten taxi before, but I expect to have some form of humbleness from the employees of the hotel when addressing a problem.

When going through the reviews on TA for this hotel, I see one reply from management (6 months after the original complaint 30/12-2012) where they say that they have "Shuffled the Top officials and deployed experienced professionals in all areas", and staff have received training. I think it's about time to reshuffle and revisit this training program.

Room Tip: Rooms in other hotels are probably better...
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cerios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews