We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (760)
Filter reviews
760 results
Traveller rating
331
276
91
30
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
276
91
30
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blueberry sauce fresh waffles breakfast room bar harbor electric fireplace main building new owners new brunswick make your own waffles bangor area fridge and microwave chain hotels room key free breakfast great place to stay nice breakfast waffle maker
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 760 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2018 via mobile

Second time staying was as good as I remembered. New owners are amazing !! Not just a place to stay but a destination if your planning to do Maine. Very accommodating and has a lot to offer all you have to do is ask .

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeanne H, Owner at Maine Woods Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you we are humbled to read your review. We strive for excellence not perfection...thank you for becomming a part of our Vacationland Inns traveling family. See you again on your next stay. Blessings during the holiday season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

one price when making the reservation then upon check-in an upcharge of $10, for electricity, water and gratuities. Sunday breakfast, no eggs or yogurt as advertised, no fruit or half and half , juice machine broken the entire weekend. The room smelled of bleach the entire weekend. And this wasn"t the first time that I have stayed at this location but it will be the last!

Room tip: first floor room but not all are the same
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeanne H, Owner at Maine Woods Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Dear Valued Guest(s);

We would love to talk to you directly. We purchased the hotel two years ago and there are some places online that will continue to promote items we never have or not longer offer. Unfortunately the only folks that suffer are the guest and the hotel owners. The world wide web (www) is huge and it seems almost impossible to keep up with its fast pace. PLEASE ACCEPT OUR APOLOGIES. We would be glad to offer you a return stay and reduce your rate by what you paid for this stay. Unfortunately, equipment fails once in a while (like our vehicles) leaving us stranded when we least expect it. We have our juice machine cleaned daily and our vendor is here every other week maintaining the equipment. It was only the OJ, The apple and cranberry and water was working.

Again please accept our apologies. We appreciate honest feedback.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

This is the third time I have stayed at the Vacationland Inn. I have found it to be a clean, comfortable overnight stopping place. It is conveniently located on my route from the Lake George area to New Brunswick. The staff are very friendly. I would give the hotel a solid 3+ star rating.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Ogrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeanne H, Owner at Maine Woods Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

We appreciate our traveling Canadian Guest! We hope you have your loyalty card so when you book direct we keep giving back to you again and again to show our appreciation for your loyalty to Vacationland Inns. We will spread the word of your kind comments to all our staff.
Safe travels See you again soon
Leeanne
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

Disregard the previous poor comments made on this site!. We stayed there Sept 21 in a nice clean, large room with good facilities. Breakfast was excellent with lots of variety. Staff was very accommodating. We was on our way back to Ontario from Digby, NS. Would highly recommend!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shammist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeanne H, Owner at Maine Woods Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Thank you! We appreciate your kind words. Running a Hotel and trying to meet all our guests individual needs can be challenging. We do strive for excellence not perfection. We appreciate all feedback because everyone's opinion matters and we will do all we can to have our guests have a terrific experience while they are traveling

We hope your trip was amazing and look forward to seeing you again and again.

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Managing Parnter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

The room had a constant bad smell. There was no siutcase/luggage wrack. (When requested one at the front desk I was told they have none and I should place my luggage on the floor.) Room decor pretty ran down.
Breakfast bellow basic level - no eggs, yoghurt, butter, fruits. Bad coffee. Service with an attitude.
At check-out I was denied a receipt since it was a prepaid stay through Hotels.com. The front desk person even allowed herself to get annoyed with my request.
The overall experience had ruined our mini vacation.

Room tip: Avoid this hotel.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lorantv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeanne H, Owner at Maine Woods Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Dear Valued Guest:

When people decide to book through third party booking engines such as the one you booked through, there is never a guarentee on exactly what rooms you get. Sometimes we get the booking via email after you arrive; especially same day bookings. There is always a risk when you chose third party booking engines verses booking direct. Other times they overbook a hotel. There are many variables that can happen when the hotel is not contacted prior to arrival to be sure we meet your needs.

I personally came to your aid after you began to raise your voice in our lobby towards our staff. Our staff was upset and simply following the booking agency policy. "When guest pay booking agency your receipts come from the booking engine" Not the hotel. We did provide you with the receipt and I thought we met your needs. It disappoints me that you did not tell us upon check in or check out about the room situation. We would of remedied immediately and had an opportunity to correct any issues. When we are not told we cannot assist. Please accept our apologies for your experience. We do all we can to assist all our guests in all situations.

Again, we hope that you will use the rewards points provided to you and book direct for your next stay so we can meet your needs.
Thank you.

Best Regards,
Leeanne
Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews