We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (576)
Filter reviews
576 results
Traveller rating
255
199
80
32
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
199
80
32
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location parking attendant breakfast buffet cabbage island hotel restaurant outer harbor tour boats middle of town bit dated watch the boats staff was very friendly and helpful whale watching a great place to stay lobster beautiful view of the harbor private deck booth bay
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 576 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2018

We were thoroughly unimpressed with this hotel.

Our room was disguting -- holes in the wall, modly stains on ceiling tiles, stains on EVERY SINGLE TOWEL, noise from outside (it was so bad that on the second night we asked to move rooms because it sounded like we were in a nightclub due to noise from the bar across the pier), no phone in the room to call to ask for extra towels, no iron or safe in the room, and a bed that left my back in extreme pain (and I never get back pain). When we asked to move rooms, the clerk knew exactly what we were talking about with the noise and quickly had another room for us. This was great, but would have been nice to get that room in the first place if it was available.

On the plus side, the staff was very friendly and the location can't be beat. The lobby and restaurant looked nice, and the free breakfast appeared to be more than adequate (we didn't eat there).

Room tip: Rooms on the side of the pier facing Kaler's Restaurant are much quieter
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank bc2487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamseyL8, General Manager at Fisherman's Wharf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Hi BC,

I'm so sorry you didn't enjoy the first room you were assigned, but glad that you enjoyed our staff location and the second room! We are always working to improve and appreciate your feedback on the first room you were in. The issues you pointed out have been remedied.

We have irons and safes on request all you need to do is ask!

We have 16 different room types and each one is priced based on location view and size. Please ask about the room types if you join us again so we can make sure to have you assigned to the room type you like best.

We have significant upgrades planned starting in 3 weeks when we close and would look forward to an opportunity to impress you the next time you join us.

We hope the rest of your stay in Boothbay Harbor was enjoyable as well as the rest of your trip in Maine!

Kind regards,
Ramsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

The house keeping were Nice and they did a great job. The view was good over the harbour South West. The rest was - to say it mild- not good. Worn out. Bad smell. Smelled rotten. Old and not kept in good shape. Sorry to see Such a good location being wasted by This worn out hotel
The Price was quite High and all to High compared to the (lack of) quality. The breakfeast was following the standard of the hotel - not good. But I forgot to mention one good thing. They had a Jura espresso machine. Thanks. That was my breakfeast. Free parking. Nice too. I have tried to be positive

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank JorgenG2900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamseyL8, General Manager at Fisherman's Wharf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Jorgen,
Thank you for your kind words about our housekeeping, espresso machine, views and parking. It's great to hear about the positive aspects of your stay with us. I do wish we had the opportunity to speak prior to your departure so we could have made things right. I was not alerted to any issues until reading your review here. I have alerted our housekeeping and maintenance crews to investigate a musty smell.
We are a 70 year old hotel with a lot of history and work hard everyday to maintain. If you have any specific feedback on areas we can improve I'd appreciate additional follow up and can be reached at Info@fishermanswharfinn.com.
We hope you enjoyed visiting Boothbay Harbor and that you enjoy the rest of your Maine vacation!
Kind regards,
Ramsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

We were greeted by the valets, who were very accommodating and friendly. The reception desk person was down to earth and all was ready for our room. The entire inn was clean and inviting. We will definitely book at this Inn again when we are in Boothbay Harbor.

Room tip: We liked the side looking out on the entire harbor, but all rooms have a water view.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank _vmurray62east
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

Loved our room on the second floor of this Inn. Beautiful, clean and loved the balcony. Specially when we had visitors in the form of seagull pretty much all times of the day. Service is top notch. The front desk is a little hidden - specially when trying to check in and it's your first time. Parking took a little bit getting used to. Great location - close to pretty much everything.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank Yasmin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

This is an older hotel with basic but adequate furnishings. We had a balcony room with a harbor view which was rather fun and entertaining. We were there after Labor day and before foiage season - therefore, between air conditioning and heating requirements. This made for a room without air circulation and we had to keep the window and door open all the time. This was disconcerting because the security (i.e., locks) was very outdated. On the other hand, the room was very clean and there were actually shelves in the bathroom for personal grooming articles, etc. The front desk staff was great, especially Ashley, who helped me with my initial reservation. The location was great for all harbor tours, whale watching, fishing, etc. We could not get into the hotel restaurant although it was a Wednesday and the place was less than half full. On the bright side, the best restaurant in town, Ports of Italy, is right across the street and it is very, very good. Also, the hotel does have free WiFi for guests which is not in the TripAdvisor description. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

Room tip: Rooms with balconies and harbor views are entertaining.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews