We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great views.”

Boathouse Bistro Tapas Lounge & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Romantic, View
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 25 September 2018

We have visited the Boathouse twice. Sitting on the deck offers a nice view of Boothbay Harbor and surrounding area. We have found the food to be very good. The menu is large and diverse. Our group of ten had no complaints about any of the dishes. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Travel_on_109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2018

We were recommended by one of the “locals,” which is always a plus, & it didn’t disappoint. If you’re game, head up the stairs to one of the upper decks to sit outside for an amazing view. The menu has a wonderful selection of seafood, as well as meats & pastas. My husband, who is an exceptional cook on his own, said the seafood risotto was one of the best he’s ever had. I had duck, which is a favorite of mine. The service was excellent & this is a perfect place for lunch or dinner.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Peanutsyark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed dinner on the outside deck, great views of the harbor/lights at night. We started with the thai mussels which were amazing. I had the ny strip steak which is served on a 600 degree stone, huge delicious very tender steak which was served with broccoli and potato wedges. My husband enjoyed the haddock gyro which was also a huge portion with lots of fish and came with waffle fries. The service was very attentive and helpful with describing the dishes.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Tiffany333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

This is a place where you can enjoy good food and reasonable drinks-do stay away from the house special concoctions though because I found them to be watered down substitutes for real deal. the food is prepared and delivered with some care although in the summer when it is crowded make sure you get what you ordered. The menu has good variety but it changes too often for my mind and after a few months when returning it is possible that what induced you to return is no longer available. Once again one must climb many steps to get to the top and /or the second floor. Nonetheless, the establishment offers good food at reasonable prices. I would say that when dithering as to where to go picking this place will not let you down. One nice aspect to this place is that it stays open most of the year which is nice for the full time residents.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank catherine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Wonderful menu with extensive gluten free options clearly marked. Vegetarian and vegan options also available. The Caesar salad was really good with super fresh whole hearts of romaine. I really liked the seafood risotto with plenty of lobster, scallops and shrimp. My wife really enjoyed the lamb chop tapas selection. Many other options to choose from. A gluten free flourless chocolate torte is also available for dessert. Very friendly service to boot.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ehg2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boathouse Bistro Tapas Lounge & Restaurant also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Boathouse Bistro Tapas Lounge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing