We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always a pleasent stay and relaxing”
Review of Tugboat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tugboat Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Always have a good relaxing time with nice rooms at the main inn. The front desk is always helpfull and nice to deal with. I do 5 times a year and always a great time with neat and clean rooms ..The staff is frendly and always helpfull

Room Tip: i like the main inn larger comfortable room
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHNw46054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSS59, Front Office Manager at Tugboat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

We appreciate you as well. Thank you for writing a review of the Tugboat Inn. See you soon. Travel Safely and Often

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
There are newer reviews for Tugboat Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 401 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2011

Fabulous place to stay. We had a room overlooking the harbor. Watched some pretty amazing boats pass through the harbor. Great time and perfect weather.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bek67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSS59, Front Office Manager at Tugboat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

Thank you for enjoying the Tugboat Inn. We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay in the past, the present and we hope to see you in the future. Take Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

A room right on the pier over the water was pretty cool. It was quiet at night and waking up to that view, looking out at the entrance to the harbor was very nice and refreshing. The room itself was very small, barely wide enough for two queen beds and deep enough for only a couple feet between the foot of the bed and the furniture on the wall. We had to move things around to find a place to set up a portable crib. It's nice to sit outside in front of the room, but it's not private. All and all, the room was very much like you'd find on a boat!

I agree with other reviewers in that the beds are not very comfortable and they could use to replace the matresses. The room was clean and bathroom was fine. Shower had lots of power. The continental breakfast was pretty limited and seating was restricted to the windowless area. Breakfast attendant was more interested in setting up the restaurant for the day than maintaining the breakfast and then she had the tip jar front and center, which did not seem warranted.

We were able to leave our car and walk a couple blocks into the center of town. Parking was included in the rate. You are really paying for the location and the view.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zorkon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Stayed at Tugboat Aug. 18-21. I had read the negative reviews after booking a aaa package deal, so I was apprehensive about our stay. I came prepared with lysol for the so called moldy smells, a mattress pad for the old and thin mattress and our own pillows. I am very glad to say none of the above were at all necessary. We travel quite often and this hotel was very satisfactory on all counts. Our room was spacious and clean and no moldy, musty smell. The continental breakfast was no better or worst than others we have encountered in other hotels/motels. I actually thought it was quite good. Two employees that stood out were Barbara in the lounge area and Belinda in the breakfast room. Very pleasant and accomodating employees. We were on the first floor and our view was great. The parked cars only obscured the view a tiny bit. We ate two dinners in the dining room and were very happy. I have to wonder if people just look for things to complain about. Thank you Tugboat Inn for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KathyDonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We travel from Boston, up to Boothbay Harbor a few times a year, and usually stay at the Tugboat. Its nothing oppulent, but we always have a clean and comfortable stay. This last visit, August 2011, we had room 136, which is at the very end on the upper floor, with the best view of the entire Harbor. Sitting on the deck, with a glass of wine, just watching the boat traffic in this great little "busy" harbor town, is so relaxing. Room 136 is a small corner room with queen bed, and large walk in shower only, no tub. But that works for us. The included continental breakfast is simple, just good hot coffee, juices, granola and other cereals, muffins and such. If you want to eat a big blueberry pancake or egg omlett breakfast, just walk 50 yards up the road to the Ebb Tide, or Blue Moon restaurants, both have really good "full" breakfasts. There are some other really nice hotels / motels in Boothbay Harbor, some are certainly nicer (and some more expensive) but the Tugboat has a great location for intown walking, and its just a good value in my oppinion. The dinner in the Tugboat restaurant is a good value as well. Always has good Maine lobster, seafood dishes and steaks, priced well.
We''ll be back, the Tugboat Inn is OK with me.

Room Tip: ask for upper level, room 136 is small with perfect end deck location overlooking entire Harbor.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ben795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSS59U, Manager at Tugboat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2011

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. The end rooms are the best! Small room, large view as we like to say. We are glad that you enjoyed the Tugboat Restaurant as well. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
0.2 km away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
507 reviews
1.4 km away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
540 reviews
0.4 km away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#9 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
379 reviews
2.8 km away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
370 reviews
0.6 km away
Brown's Wharf Inn
Brown's Wharf Inn
#3 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tugboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tugboat Inn

Address: 80 Commercial St, PO Box 267, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1770
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: €109 - €191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tugboat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown waterfront location directly on the harbor. Modern comfortable guestrooms with balconies, air conditioning, cable tv with free movie channel, telephone with voice mail, hair dryer, Keurig coffee maker, refrigerator and personal amenities. Rates include continental breakfast, free parking and free local phone calls. Complimentary computer with DSL in hotel lobby. Complimentary wi-fi in most locations. Full service restaurant, seasonal cocktail lounge with patio deck, and marina with slip and mooring rentals all on site. Waterfront hot tub available for guests. Music at the piano bar in season. Special vacation packages available. Open mid April to late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Tugboat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugboat Hotel Boothbay Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing