We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Venue and Accommodating Staff!!”
Review of Coastal Prime

Coastal Prime
Price range: US$9 - US$49
Description: Coastal Prime is Boothbay Harbor's newest restaurant offering locally sourced fresh seafood daily prepared with the finest of ingredients. Coastal Prime's restaurant and bar is the picture-perfect blend of sea and sun from all vantage points, with our indoor and outdoor dining spaces offering the best views in the harbor. Join us for skillfully composed meals that are aimed to please.
Restaurant details
Description: Coastal Prime is Boothbay Harbor's newest restaurant offering locally sourced fresh seafood daily prepared with the finest of ingredients. Coastal Prime's restaurant and bar is the picture-perfect blend of sea and sun from all vantage points, with our indoor and outdoor dining spaces offering the best views in the harbor. Join us for skillfully composed meals that are aimed to please.
Reviewed 24 May 2018

Perfect venue and location for our private event for 50 people. Landon and all his staff we SO friendly and accommodating!! The food and drinks were wonderful. We will definitely be hosting something there again.
Sitting on the deck at night is a must!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ahervochon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerBHOGR, General Manager at Coastal Prime, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

It's wonderful to hear that your special event went off so well! We have worked hard to put into place a staff that works well not only together but demonstrates that for the guests as well. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing thus far! I'll look forward to seeing you folks out on our deck again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2017

We cannot say enough about Coastal Prime and the staff that helped deliver an amazing reception to our guests, all of whom had flown in from Chicago and Houston! After a popular Boothbay reception venue backed out on us last minute since our party wasn't large enough (20 people; we get it. It's business) Coastal Prime came to the rescue. When we first contacted them we were about 60 days from our wedding, they were scheduled to open the week before our wedding (if everything went as scheduled), and all communication would have to be over the phone, email, text, since we lived 2000 miles away. It was a leap of faith to say the least. Our faith was rewarded 10 fold! Our first point of contact was Amy Redfern. She was great! So reassuring and and never made us feel like this was a stretch. A few weeks later Karen Landry was hired as the events coordinator at Coastal Prime. She is amazing! Karen was so hands on. She gave us complete peace of mind and worked with us on a fantastic menu, and location configuration. We chose to be on the beautiful deck on June 10th. Since early June in Maine can be dodgy weather-wise Karen had an excellent indoor contingency should we need it. The weather cooperated, though it was chilly that evening. No worries. Karen arranged for heaters and blankets for every guest. The food was absolutely delicious! Everyone had "food envy" of the other guests plates. There was a lot of sharing of entrees. I had the double cut pork chop and it was outstanding! We were blown away with the truly personal service, the understated elegance, and delicious food. We consider this our inaugural experience with Coastal Prime and The Boothbay Harbor Oceanside Resort as we plan on making the 2000 mile journey each year to celebrate our anniversaries. It is that special!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David and Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerBHOGR, Manager at Coastal Prime, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

It was such an honor to have your event here, eckersm! Thank you for all of your kind words about our staff, location, food and your overall experience. That you would travel 2000 miles each year to celebrate with us again is tremendous. We can't wait to see you again in 2018!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

My husband and I were in Boothbay Harbor the first week of October for our 10th anniversary and we couldn't have picked a better celebratory dinner spot than Coastal Prime. We ate outside at sunset and the view was unreal. Our server was Mike and he was absolutely top-notch. Very attentive without being overbearing and he had great menu suggestions. It got a little chilly when the sun went down so he started one of the heaters for us and that only enhanced the already fantastic atmosphere. Someone I assume was the manager brought a blanket also which was another great touch. The dinner was out of this world. I had a filet mignon with garlic mashed potatoes. It was cooked to perfection, so tender and juicy without a bit of fat. The potatoes were to die for, creamy and smooth. My husband had the filet mignon also and he loved his as well. His side was lobster mac and cheese and he devoured every bite. We shared a chocolate dessert that was the perfect ending to a perfect meal. This was our favorite dining place of our entire trip. Beautiful location, delicious food, great staff. We could not recommend it more!

Thank Mommy7412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerBHOGR, Manager at Coastal Prime, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

We are thrilled that your experience was top notch. It is always an honor for us to have someone here for a special occasion. Our staff works hard to ensure that everyone is happy with their experience here. We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

What a pleasant surprise to stumble onto after a long day’s journey into Maine’s darkling night.

We are from the West Coast and having just arrived in Boothbay Harbor we found that our appetites were still 3 hours behind on pacific coast time. That coupled with the fact most of the restaurants in town seemed to shut down around 8:30 or thereabouts left us in a bit of a quandary when we decided to step out for dinner around 9pm.

Uhhh good luck with that... Luckily we crossed the bridge from town lured in by the flaming gas heaters we could see across the bay to Coastal Prime.

Turns out Coastal Prime is a veritable oasis of fine attentive service coupled with excellent food and craft cocktails that stays open for people who stay up past 9PM!

We enjoyed the service, food and ambience so much we visited 3 Times during our 4 day stay. I would definitely recommend a visit to Coastal Prime if you are staying in Boothbay.

Thank steelsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerBHOGR, Manager at Coastal Prime, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. We are proud to be open a little later in the evenings to satiate the appetites of diners who enjoy food past 8:30pm. We work hard to make every experience special--we are thrilled that you enjoyed everything so much, you chose to come back several times. We hope you will come see us again next season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

This is by far, one of the very best restaurant experiences I’ve ever had!!!! We sat directly on Boothbay Harbor. There were moveable heaters that they moved by our and brought blankets if you wanted one. The ambience was so romantic! The service was impeccable. I highly recommend.

Thank Southerngirl0754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerBHOGR, Manager at Coastal Prime, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us. Please come see us again next season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coastal Prime also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Coastal Prime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing