We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Exceptional Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2017

This is probably the most beautiful resort we have ever found in Maine. Although they offer many different room types, we stayed in one of the amazing cottages just steps from the oceanfront. We had our own private porch to sit and enjoy the waterfront in total peace and traquility. We ate in Bogies restaurant and the food was excellent although a little pricey. Don't miss this one!

Room Tip: We recommend the cottages -- Sunset C is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 943 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017

This is a difficult review to write because a review is a reflection of what your expectations are versus what you experience. I will admit, we did not do our homework and, therefore, for all the beauty and uniqueness this property offers, it was not for us.

If you are looking for a Maine Inn that offers quintessential Maine qualities of a bygone era that embraces family, camp-lodging that is good for kids (and your dog)...SPI is perfect. The grounds are stunning. The views of outer Boothbay Harbor are breathtaking. The entire experience from room to main lodge, to breakfast buffet, are precisely on point - but not what we were looking for, especially for the price point.

The rooms are like small cabins (but some quite large, multi-bedroom), functional, but dated, darkish decor, bathrooms like you'd experience in a seasonal rental - nothing fancy at all. But that said, you're in an environment that favors the camp-like experience. S'mores on an open fire pit. Shuffleboard. A sail on an old style small sloop. Pools that are a favorite of kids. Kayaks. Bicycles. Truly, if you are looking for that camp-like-50s experience SPI is Heaven.

If, on the other hand, you are looking for a romantic setting, few kids, elegant rooms, bathrooms with rain showers and granite, a high-end (especially given the price point) experience...this place is not for you. Just do your research and be sure your desires match what this property is all about.

So...we were looking for a romantic oceanside setting, polished rooms and amenities, great food, casual but upscale setting, and an ambiance that was "understated elegance". What we encountered: stunning setting, lovely landscaping, great views. But also rooms that were straight out of the 50s. Dark decor (brown everywhere - rugs, walls, furniture), squishy bed, plastic shower curtains in standard tubs, and deck rockers that would make Rosevelt happy.

Kids were everywhere, as were family dogs - which is just fine for this setting. Our $400+ per night room was on the 1st floor of a 2-story building where we heard the pitter-patter of small feet running above us from morning until night. (Note: we were not able to secure a single story room, but they do exist, at a higher price point). The occasional barking dog. Breakfast felt like we were dinning at the camp dinning room - both in setting and quality.

That said, the 88 restaurant was elegant and the food, service, and decor was way above average. The "casual" dining restaurant was okay (same location as the breakfast), and about the same average quality of food.

I'll say again, the grounds were beautiful.

So although I'll only rate the property as "average", it would be "excellent" if you were looking for this particular environment. If you are looking for elegant (and at $400+ per night for just a bedroom room you should be), this will be a huge disappointment, which it was for us.

Obviously, we won't return as it really missed the mark for the romantic, quiet, high-end getaway on Boothbay Harbor that we were expecting. If you have kids, and you want that "high-end" camp-like setting, SPI will be perfect in every respect.

Staff was pleasant yet functional. The main building was comfortable and roomy, with coffee makers and fresh muffins set out every morning by 7:00am.

SPI is a camp-like environment with some wonderful authentic characteristics...just be sure it's what you are really looking for before you plunk down $400+ per night.

Last footnote: we booked late, hence, availability was limited. Our first floor room was a "forest" view. Our view consisted of lovely gardens outside our deck, and lots of roof of the buildings in front of us. Of everything, and at $400+ per night, this was hugely disappointing; hence the "value" ranking of 1.

Room Tip: DO NOT select a 1st floor room when a 2nd floor exists, it's all wood structure and you'll h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank daveHou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPCCapital, Owner at Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Spruce Point Inn Resort. I'm disappointed your stay was just average and that we missed your expectation on ambiance and decor. Your reservation notes indicate you were recommended by friends to stay with us?

Recognized as Maine’s Classic Oceanside Resort, Spruce Point Inn is what most guest’s picture when they think of an oceanside resort in Maine. As a Conde Nast Top 25 Northeast Resort, Downeast Magazine Best of Maine Hotel/Resort, and the #1 Resort in Mid-coast Maine on Trip Advisor, the historic inn has attracted travelers from all over the world for more than 100 years. With 57 acres on stunning waterfront, Spruce Point Inn is the perfect setting for creating “oceanside memories made in Maine.”

For future guests, the accommodation this guest stayed in is a first floor Bluebird Lodge guest room found on our website under Accommodations - The Lodges. At the bottom of The Lodges page is the Woodlandview Category which includes the first floor Bluebird guest rooms. Click View Images, and images 5 – 10 are of this specific room type décor and an image also shows the kitchenette, as well as, the guest bath. These eight first floor guest rooms were recently refreshed with new furnishings and plush-top bedding but I understand that our choice of stained wood might not appeal to everyone.

The Lodge accommodations (Woodlandview, Partial Oceanview, Oceanview, and Oceanfront) on the resort campus were recently built in five phases between 1996 and 2006. The Bluebird Lodge in which this guest stayed was constructed in 2006.

We built The Lodges at Spruce Point Inn to modernize the experience of the original Lodges which dated back to the 1940’s and 50’s. At 600 to 700 square feet, the Lodge rooms are well-suited for an extended stay with plenty of space to spread out. A living room or sitting area and an over-sized guest bath make these perfect for couples and small families. All of the Lodge accommodations have a gas fireplace and a private covered porch with Adirondack or rocking chairs. Most have deep double soaking tubs and separate walk-in showers.

Our most recent refresh of all the accommodations and amenities at the resort was completed in 2014.

We are honored so many wonderful families and couples choose to return to SPI each summer. 60% of our guests in July and August are couples.

Thank you for visiting and sharing your experience. I am sorry for having missed your expectations. If I can be of any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Angelo Di Giulian, Co-owner and Innkeeper
adigiulian@sprucepointinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

This resort had it all! First off, the people that work here are friendly and helpful and we never ran into a problem with our servers. We were easily able to get to our room - only to find that it was huge! The accessible shower and deck were fantastic and just what we asked for. The kids had a great time exploring the area given the many places they could choose to spend their time in. They kayaked out to the lighthouse (a must do when in Boothbay Harbor), visited both the heated freshwater and saltwater pools and enjoyed the hot tub with a view of the harbor. The resort also offered free muffins and coffee from 6-8 am which were perfect for a light breakfast. We also were able to take an hour long boat tour which toured the bay and even showed us a lobster! Luckily we had a car and were able to drive into town to visit the many restaurants and cafes they had to offer. Overall it was a fantastic trip and I could not recommend Spruce Point Inn more! From the residents of room Evergreen 2 we thank everyone at the resort for making our stay here comfortable and fun.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcd2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

We have traveled to Boothbay Harbour to visit friends for the past 5 years or so, staying 4 nights/5 days on each occasion. We have twins age 13. We historically stayed at Rocktide Inn which in the past had always been perfect for our needs, i.e, ok pool, breakfast buffet included and close to town. This year we learned it had been sold and after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and considering the price change and other changes, we decided to splurge a little and stay at the Spruce Point Inn. The stay was pricier for sure but worth every penny! The rooms were large, had terrific views, the food at the Bogie Restaurant (the more relaxed and family friendly of the eating options) was very good. The entire staff were helpful and pleasant. Our two teenagers had so many options to keep them busy...from kayaking to paddle boarding, swimming, badminton and smores every evening. There was complimentary coffee/tea and muffins each morning and fruit and cheeses in the afternoons. The grounds were meticulously maintained and everything was super easy to get to. We even brought our dog with us and they had doggie bags at several locations with trash and recycling bins in abundance. The Evergreen rooms were so conveniently located with comfy porch and chairs which were great in the morning and for evening sunsets and they were very spacious. After such a great experience, I am not sure that anyone in our family will want to stay anywhere else in the future. Definitely returning in 2018! I will say that we had several meals off property which did make it more affordable.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Lawrence O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our one year anniversary and it was AMAZING!!! I've never been to Maine and it was everything I imagined and more. When we checked into our room, we found a chilled bottle of champagne and card wishing us a happy anniversary. :) The room was really quaint and we had a balcony overlooking the ocean. I loved the jacuzzi overlooking the harbor and the masseuse at the spa was THE BEST! We definitely want to make the Spruce Point Inn a tradition.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
2.2 km away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
474 reviews
3.6 km away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
549 reviews
2.3 km away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
376 reviews
18.1 km away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
2.2 km away
Boothbay Harbor Oceanside Golf Resort
Boothbay Harbor Oceanside Golf R...
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa

Address: 88 Grandview Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2247
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#1 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: €167 - €385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MAINE'S CLASSIC OCEANSIDE RESORT A Condé Nast 'Top 20 Northeast Resort' and Downeast Magazine 'Best Hotel/Resort in Maine', Spruce Point Inn is exactly what most guests picture when they think of an oceanside resort in Maine. For more than 125 years, the Inn has attracted travelers from across the United States and provided a refreshing backdrop for families and friends to create 'treasured oceanside memories made in Maine'. On a private 100 acre peninsula on the ocean overlooking the entrance to Boothbay Harbor and Burnt Island Lighthouse, the Spruce Point Inn is an ideal venue for memorable reunions, seaside weddings, romantic getaways and business retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Point Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Spruce Point Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing