We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveller rating
149
56
16
21
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
149
56
16
21
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews next morning homemade granola sunday river bacon huge bathroom front porch eggs fabulous stay wonderful breakfast bethel maine main street off season bethel area pat skiing foyer house
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 262 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

I have stayed at this inn many times over the years, and have never had a bad experience. The owner makes you feel like a VIP. The rooms are lovely, and the beds are very comfortable with lots of pillows, and soft sheets. The highlight of stying there, though, is the delicious, homemade breakfast in the morning that is included with the room. No bagels and hard-boiled eggs here...more like frenchtoast from scratch with real maple syrup, bacon, OJ, and good coffee. I highly recommend this Inn.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

We arrived in a party of 10 from the UK and we're shown to our room, which was a good sized room, but a little disappointing was the fact that the air conn was fixed with one screw/nail and had paper stuffed around the gap. The owner, Pat was very helpful and attentive and explained about breakfasts which were all homemade. We really enjoyed the waffles, bacon, breads and salads. It was a shame to be let down but it's generally cleanliness as the bedroom was not dusted and on one occasion the bed not properly made. Thank you Pat and I hope things improve.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Toni551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon S, Inn keeper at Grand Victorian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

The new owners are making big changes, starting with the name. The Victoria is now Grand Victorian Inn. Please see reviews starting September 2018. Thankyou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Very disappointed in the condition of the property. Has the potential to be a beautiful inn. A lot of work needs to be done to the building...paint, floors, carpet, wall paper, etc. The air conditioner in our room was not completely trimmed out. Not enough electrical outlets to meet the needs of today's technology. The window shade in the room was lopsided and could not be adjusted plus there was no shade on the bathroom widow which faces the parking lot. The bed was uncomfortable and the linens were average. Breakfast was included with our room and it too was average.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoffmann9116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Owner at Grand Victorian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

I am sorry you were disappointed in your room. Room #2 does have an outlet that doesn't work and we have to run an extension cord. I would like to offer you a free room if you come this way again in a different room.
The prior person broke the shade and one is on order. Most people love our breakfast which always include a special entree of the day which is Egg Stratta, Blueberry Cream cheese french toast, banana Jamaica Royal French toast etc... There are always homemade breads, our homemade granola, yogurt, fresh fruit as standard. Most customers complain we have too much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Had a great night stay here and a marvellous breakfast. Pat is a most endearing host. So much so we invited to come and visit us in Australia in return she offered a free night. How good is that. Lovely people run this Inn and the breakfasts, too good.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank glenjulia1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

I really liked the high ceiling in rooms 6 and 7, showing the stained rafters. So spacious considering not the most floor space of all the hotels we've stayed at.
Enjoyed adorable features, like the winding staircase to the balcony, slept comfortably , delicious breakfast in the morning for free. Room prices were competitive, staff very pleasant and helpful, if I find myself in Bethel again you'll find me booking another room there.
Gary and Lisa.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Explore290571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Owner at Grand Victorian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do put a lot of effort and time into our breakfast and I am so glad you noticed. Please come again and visit us.
Pat Thurston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews