We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Lindenwood Inn(Southwest Harbor)
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$256/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Claremont Hotel(Southwest Harbor)
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kimball Terrace Inn(Northeast Harbor)
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Asticou Inn(Northeast Harbor)
US$312
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Seas Motel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$206
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$405
US$348
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wonder View Inn(Bar Harbor)
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
11
2
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
2
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2015

We stayed here from August 15 - 22. The property has several cottages on site. Each has a different layout. The neighbouring cottages (and neighbouring houses) can be seen from each rental but privacy wasn't an issue due site location, distance and trees. We rented Boathouse Cottage which is at the end of a lane. It is a single storey cottage with two bedrooms. The kitchen was well equipped. We had everything we needed. The love seat and recliner provided comfortable seating in the living room. The dining table can seat 5. The bathroom has a tub/shower in addition to the stacked washer/dryer. There was a good quanity of towels. The gas barbeque worked well. Everything in the cottage was in good repair and it was nicely decorated. As mentioned in other reviews, renters are expected to make beds (with extra sheets) before leaving and have used linens in the wash. The floors are expected to be vacuumed and dishes cleaned/put away. Dish soap, paper towels and toilet paper are provided but you are expected to replenish it if it runs outs. Other reviewers have mentioned a resident cat. We had two that came to visit but one (seen in a website photo) made regular visits to our porch. It was pleasant and would have entered the cottage if we had let it (which we didn't). It wasn't a nuisance and sometimes sat outside the storm door looking in. This was our first visit to the Bar Harbor area (Mount Desert Isle) and Acadia National Park. The cottage property was approximately 35 minutes from Bar Harbor, the Park Loop Road and Carriage Road entrance at Eagle Lake. Travel times are much less for Acadia NP trails (i.e. Beech Mountain, Acadia Mountain) on the quiet side. Popular Echo Lake Beach (also Acadia NP) is close by. The communities of Bernard and Bass Harbor are within a few minutes of the cottage. Thurston's Lobster pound is located in Bernard. We purchased live lobsters from CH and Rich Company in Bass Harbor (near Seafood Ketch restaurant). The communities of Southwest Harbor and Northeast Harbor offer some tourist oriented shopping. We grocery shopped at the Westside Market just outside of Southwest Harbor. It took approximately 10 minutes to get there. Although we didn't use the Island Explorer Shuttle, the local stop isn't far away (parking for your car is provided). Information about the area is located in the dining room table drawer. Overall, we had a really good stay. The accommodations were clean, comfortable and affordable. It was close enough to the action of Bar Harbour and Acadia National Park but afforded the peace and quiet that we wanted.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happywanderer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2015

I have stayed at TIDEAWAY several times and have enjoyed every trip. I love sitting on the glassed in porch to read while the tide goes in and out and the sun shines in.. So peaceful, serene and life slows down! Just what is needed to get away from my hectic life in Massachusetts.
The house is beautiful and very comfortable. I look forward to returning in the fall!!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

Checked in at Tideaway last night. Pictures and literature on the boathouse way cottage site advertise ample water views. Unfortunately, they neglect to mention that at this location, the cove is filled with silt. Hence the name Tide-away? To add insult to injury, the road, on which the house is immediately located, is under construction. The back up beep on the dump truck made a lovely 7 am vacation alarm clock, notable even on the rooms located away from the road on the "water." Too bad for us, since we paid in full prior to arrival. Now we know why all of the properties along this side of the road are for sale.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank hardworkingmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa H, Owner at Boathouse Way Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2015

Wow, eight years of rentals and my first negative review: yes the tide does go away it also is high tide twice a day. The long views down the harbor stay the same no matter the tides. Many happy returning tenants even with the unplanned road construction. The early moring noise was not the road construction but the boats in the harbor. Yes we do have tides and boat noises in Maine. Only charged for the one night you stayed, gave you until 4 to check out instead of usual nine a.m. check out.. The fact that you offered to stay for a couple more days but did not want the full week seems surprising with you being so unhappy. I have owned the house for a long time and the road construction has nothing to do with it being for sale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Driftwood Cottage- great space, private, comfortable bed, amazing kitchen! Eveything we needed - towels (both beach and bath!), pots and pans, a soft cooler, ice packs, coffee pot. We also had daily visits from the owners' orange cat, Oliver, which my husband especially loved :). We took advantage of the laundry machines and grill outside, and the covered porch for our morning coffee. On the quiet side of the island, close to Bass Harbor and Southwest Harbor, 40 minute drive to Bar Harbor. We preferred this side of the island, close to Echo Lake swimming area and some great hikes - Acadia Mountain/ Man'O'War Brook. Visit the "Quietside Chamber of Commerce" for a hiking map of this side of the island.

Shower is very small stall shower. There is clean up required - you have to change the bed sheets, vacuum all floors, ensure all dishes are clean and put away, and start a load of laundry with all dirty sheets/ towels before you leave. Wasn't a big deal for us but something to be aware of. Great stay and great value!

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We just returned from a two week stay at Boathouse Way Cottages. We've stayed here every year for 10+ years and absolutely love it (see our previous review for details). The cottages are cozy, super clean, beautifully maintained and perfectly outfitted for our family of four. In fact, we found ourselves eating breakfast and dinner at the cottage more frequently than we ever have before because our boys (ages 10 and 12) wanted to spend more time there. Together, we find Whalesback Cottage to be the perfect place to settle in and leverage as our base for two weeks of hiking, biking and kayaking Acadia. We can't wait to get there every year and are so sad when we leave. If you're looking for a wonderful, relaxing way to enjoy MDI you'll love Boathouse Way Cottages.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Mykingsdomaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews