We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misty Winter by the Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bangor, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Misty Winter by the Bay”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

With a breath of summer fun in the indoor pool! We had a wonderful stay at this hotel during the kid's February vacation. The hotel is very clean and the accomodations comfortable. It's real handy to downtown Belfast and neighboring Searsport. And, though there is a lot more going on in the area in the warmer months, we found plenty to do with the year round shops and restaurants.
The pool was the highlight of our stay. It is very pretty! And the wall of glass overlooking the bay is stunning.
We felt warmly welcomed by Kathy at the front desk and she helped to make our stay memorable.
Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freddapick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Thank you for writing. We enjoy seeing the children during the February vacation . It adds a different energy to the hotel in the winter. I'm glad that you all enjoyed the facilities and the cleanliness. Thank you too for your comments about Cathy. She is a genuine person, concerned that our guests enjoy their stay here. I'll pass your comments on.
Thanks again,

Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    153
    48
    13
    10
See reviews for
113
174
28
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

The coast of Maine doesn't have many chain hotels and the ones they have are usually older. This Comfort Inn surprised me from its phenomenal view of the ocean, balcony overlooking the view, completely updated furnishings, online access in the lobby and one of the most helpful desk staffs I've ever had the pleasure of working with. I ended up in the lobby til 4 a.m. working on a business proposal and the front desk plied me with hot chocolate. But the greatest surprise was the restaurant on the first floor. I mean, c'mon, a nice restaurant at a Comfort Inn? If I were a local, this is where I would hang out. An upscale bar, outdoor patio and the freshest tastiest meal I've had in a long time. It was Valentine's Day and the specials were awesome. The service was superb and the fireplace made it homey, too. Don't leave until you try the homemade eggplant parmesan and you'll want to lick your plate if the cheesecake-stuffed strawberries with chocolate sauce is on the menu....yes, at a Comfort Inn!

Room Tip: No need to worry -- all rooms seem to face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yoriyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Thank you for writing to share your experience at the Comfort Inn Ocean's Edge and also the compliments on Ocean's Edge Restaurant. I am pleased that you enjoyed the room, the food, the view and our staff. We enjoy what we do. I'm pleased that a seasoned traveler like you commented on it.
We hope to see you again on your future visits to the Belfast area.
Sincerely,

Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooks, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Our stay at the hotel was great, I was greeted by an employee who remembered me from my last stay and knew exactly where i liked to be in the hotel. I have to recommend the restaurant for the great dinner that we had, I recommend the Angus Burger. The hotel staff are always nice and go out of their way to make the stay better if they can. The breakfast has something for everyone, the waffles are especially good, and you can not beat the view of the bay. Thanks for a great evening. See you soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at Comfort Inn and Ocean's Edge Restaurant. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your dinners in the restaurant. I hope that you will be back soon. We'll be cooking the Angus burgers as well as plenty of other delicious entrees.

Sincerely,

Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2012

i had agreat relaxing time the staff was wonderful to me i was alone and felt safe and right at home

Room Tip: all rooms have a great veiw of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Thank you for revewing your recent stay at the Comfort Inn Ocean's Edge. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our staff and that you found our facilities clean and comfortable. I hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again.

Sincerely,

Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slidell, LA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We spent Christmas week (12/24 - 1/1/12) in the Belfast area and had many choices for lodging - a Boutique Hotel downtown, several "mom & pop" motels and a few B & B options. We could not have made a better "Choice" - (pardon the pun)!! Our 3rd floor mini suite was clean, functional & very comfortable. The staff is friendly, attentive and very professional. Barry, the GM is a real pro and his touch is reflected from top to bottom. We ate at the restaurant every night and never had a bad meal. Highly recommended. A GREAT VALUE!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinot61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Thank you for writing. I am glad that you chose us over the many other offerings in the Belfast area. Further, and more importantly, I am glad that you were pleased with your choice. Thank you too for your nice coment about the restaurant and even me. The restaurant is still an undiscovered treasure. I am fortunate to have dedicated staff members who make me look good. It is a pleasure to work with many of them.
I hope that you will visit us again, leaving the warmth of the gulf to visit up here in Maine.

Sincerely,

Barry Asalone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belfast
0.6 km away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
0.6 km away
Seascape Motel and Cottages
1.1 km away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#3 of 8 in Belfast
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 km away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
220 reviews
35.6 km away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
1.7 km away
Yankee Clipper Motel
Yankee Clipper Motel
#2 of 8 in Belfast
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge

Property: Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
Address: 159 Searsport Ave, Route 1, Belfast, ME 04915-7100 (Formerly Comfort Inn Ocean's Edge)
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Belfast
#3 Family Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room has an ocean view, and includes all the amenities you would expect plus a refrigerator and microwave in every room. 2nd and 3rd floor rooms have a balcony, while 1st floor rooms have immediate pool access and a rear door that opens on to our ten acres leading to the water. The property features an indoor heated mineral pool, hot tub and sauna, game room, guest laundry facilities. Free hot breakfast and free WIFI are included. We are connected to Ocean's Edge Restaurant for fresh seafood, steaks and pasta served in a comfortable, casual atmosphere. Join us on the patio in summer for alfresco dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ocean`s Edge Hotel Belfast
Comfort Inn Belfast
Belfast Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing