We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop by for a quick BBQ fix”

Olde Kennebec Wood Cookery
Ranked #26 of 53 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: US$2 - US$15
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: We are Olde Kennebec Wood Cookery, a Barbecue joint and Catering service, serving the best in Real, Slow, Food. Stop by for lunch or pick up dinner. We are located atop Witch Spring Hill, by Coffin's Garage. Remember us for your next catering event, whether it's lunch for the office, a fundraiser or your wedding! Call us today to find out what's for lunch or to begin planning your event.
Reviewed 20 August 2015

We wanted some bbq, but didn't feel like taking the time to wait to be seated, etc. at Beal St., so we decided to pop over to OKWC - We both got the brisket plate; it fit the bill. The portions aren't generous, but it was very tasty. It would be nice if they were open more days of the week in the summer. They don't serve beer, but if you decide to eat at one of the picnic benches, you can BYOB.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ABroad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2015

Had the brisket and beans as well as took a whole smoked chicken home. It was the best brisket Ive ever had. Tender as could be with an amazing taste. Said to be slow cooked for 13-16 hours...worth it. The beans were a special recipe that seemed like a rip off for the price to portion, but then we actually ate them we realized the price was worth it. The chicken later fed 3 of us easily and was also worth it. Highly recommended to anyone in the area!

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Diggs207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2014

I purchased a rack of ribs. Had to order in advance because apparently they are so popular. The rack I received was tiny, only enough for one person. The price: $25! Yow! Got home and served very small portions and the flavor was just OK, certainly not twenty-five dollars worth of taste.

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wayneotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We're glad to see Olde Kennebec back after missing them for a year or so. Their brisket is the only thing we have ever ordered. Though their other menu items are tempting, their brisket is THAT good!
Our one comment about the new Olde Kennebec is that by comparison, the new brisket needs to be trimmed of some of the fat after cooking, as the former pitmaster Mark uzed to do. Otherwise the flavor is excellent and the brisket meltingly tender.

Date of visit: August 2014
1  Thank ThreeRosettes70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Love this place. The pulled pork is great and the baked beans are fresh and different. I highly recommend getting a smoked chicken. It's a bargain and so delicious.

1  Thank toryandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olde Kennebec Wood Cookery also viewed

 
Bath, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Olde Kennebec Wood Cookery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing